Your Name In Vain
Six Counts of Skin Deep Beauty


5.0
classic

Review

by Ryan Williford USER (48 Reviews)
March 2nd, 2006 | 23 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


Greenville, North Carolina used to be a quiet college town, for what's it worth. Now every weekend you have local bands playing gigs. The Eastern part of North Carolina has given birth to Jagged Magnum, Katharsis, and Black Sky Radius. Your Name In Vain had gotten a big following around here, and there's no reason why not. Singing with passion, Screaming with vengeance, and rocking out is what this 5-piece of ECU students does for a living.

Alex Jones - Vox
Jason Thompson - Guitar/Vox
Josh Williams - Guitar
JP Prieto - Drums
Shane Crump - Bass/Vox

~~~~

The vocals are the highlight of this EP. You have three vocalist, and three different styles of vocals. On one hand you have the singing voice that rules over the album most of the time. You have the screaming vocals which are usually sung with the singing during the duel vocals parts. Last, is the vocals you don�t hear that much, the metalish growl. It has a small role in Welcome to The Academy and possible a few other songs. Like I said before, this band has duel vocals in their singing. They do them quite well, and it is usually clean and screaming; however, sometimes it is clean over clean. Most bands now a day usually don�t have great lyrics along with great music. Your Name In Vain does, and it is a nice break from all of the main stream bands, but that might soon chance, more on that later on.

Vocal standout: "Kiss Me Kill me"
Songwriting: "Roses"

Most bands now a days that aren't metal don't focus too much on guitars. This is also the case here, but they have everything else to make up for the lack of good guitars parts and even guitar parts. There isn't mush to say about the guitars except that when they are the focus over the drums and vocals they are at their best.

Guitar and Bass Standout: "All I Want to Know" and "Running Read"

Ever notice how bands always try to have complicated drum beats to try to stay up with Rap in the beats? Well someone needed to figure out that you just can't compete with the beats, maybe they can try to out rap 50 cent, which wouldn't be hard. The band that has figured it out is Your name in Vain. They have simple yet great drumming, and they don�t try to over do it.

Drum Standout: "Hence These Tears" and "Welcome To the Academy"

~~~~

Song Spotlight: "Roses"

The songs builds up with a good intro with drums and a guitar. The duel vocals are clean and screaming. This song has done something most artists can not do. Tell a story while keep with the instruments. This is about a boy committing suicide and all that. This song is the only downloadable one I"ve seen in the past few days so it has me thinking this is the next single.

~~~~

1. Welcome To The Academy - 5/5
2. All I Want To Know - 5/5
3. Kiss Me, Kill Me - 5/5
4. Running Red - 4.5/5
5. Roses - 5/5
6. Hence These Tears (Hinc Illae Lacrimae) - 4.5/5
7. Dragons Are Real (acoustic) [Hidden] - 5/5

Overall - 4.86/5

~~~~

Conclusion

Tragic Hero Records, that's what I thought. No one has heard of it. It is a record company based out of North Carolina and has local acts ranging from a metal act, Scapegoat, to a screamo outfit, Alesana, to a Christian screamo band, akissfromjersey. They played on Warped Tour 06 along with some of their labelmates.



Recent reviews by this author
Onward To Olympas This World Is Not My HomeGreeley Estates No Rain, No Rainbow
brokeNCYDE I'm Not a Fan, but the Kids Like It!Decyfer Down Crash
The Sleeping What It TakesArise And Ruin Night Storms Hailfire
user ratings (10)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
encmetalhead
March 2nd 2006


744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is me second review with this format, tell me what you think of it.

Music_Is_My_Life
March 2nd 2006


100 Comments


Its an interesting style and the way you write it seems to get the point across very clearly. I dunno. I like it. Its better than everyone sticking to the same old formats all the time. However, from this review I don't really get much of a sense of the band's sound other than the vocals beyond saying that the guitars aren't that high in the mix on most songs and that the drums aren't that elaborate most of the time.

encmetalhead
March 3rd 2006


744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If i change it i'll let u know by a comment here but it wil be after school ;) still tired

carolinaheels387
March 3rd 2006


34 Comments


Good review; I liked the different style. I'm still kind of fuzzy on who/what this sounds like. I'll probably check it out, but what other bands would you lump them with?

encmetalhead
March 3rd 2006


744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Carolinaheels think of Punk mixed with alt. rock i cant really say any bands since i dont listen to much punk so sorry if i didnt really help

encmetalhead
March 26th 2006


744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This band is tryign to get on warped tour by erine ball(?) battle of the bands

encmetalhead
April 25th 2006


744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

bump to get more people to learn of this band

NEDM
May 10th 2006


1113 Comments


bump to get more people to learn of this band

/ lols at bad grammar.
Get a new format.

Bron-Yr-Aur
May 24th 2006


4405 Comments


I actually found this review unhelpful.

encmetalhead
May 24th 2006


744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this format rocks and it is helpful

Bron-Yr-Aur
May 24th 2006


4405 Comments


Yeah... Coming from the reviewer, that's very convincing.

encmetalhead
May 24th 2006


744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a review can be helpful in many different ways and this review is helpful u just got to read it closer

Zesty Mordant
May 24th 2006


1196 Comments


the problem with the format though, is that you are not reviewing the album as a whole, like it should be. Instead, you are just fragmenting the album into "parts" like "Drum standout" and "vocal standout".
Thus, it becomes convienent that you do not say ANYTHING critical about the album, because your format simply will not allow it. Though I haven't heard the band itself, given what you have described it doesn't sound like anything particularly ground-breaking or original that would warrant a perfect rating. It may certainly be a great album, but not a classic.
Also, the review simply does not read well. Once again, the format chops it all up in a fairly aggitating manner. The review does not simply "flow."
The descriptions of the songs are fairly well done though, so keep it up with that.

Bron-Yr-Aur
May 24th 2006


4405 Comments



a review can be helpful in many different ways and this review is helpful u just got to read it closer


Despite how you apparently think of yourself, you are not deep, nor philosophical. This was not a helpful review. And no matter how much you insist it is, it will remain a poor attempt at something new. You failed. However, as Zesty stated, the song descriptions were pretty decent.
This Message Edited On 05.24.06

Storm In A Teacup
June 8th 2006


13154 Comments


You're getting slowly better, sort of. But the review still is far from being very helpful.
I think I've heard some of this band. I'm not sure if I'm thinking of the right band, but if I am they suck.

encmetalhead
June 18th 2006


744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

they won the contest with some fo their labelmates and probably some other bands for the first local visit

www.purevolume.com/yournameinvain

encmetalhead
August 1st 2006


744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

bump so daily upload peeps can have a peak

shortnsweet0653
August 28th 2006


1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

ok so I'm a HUGE YNIV fan..and this review doesn't even begin to describe them. You don't accentuate the way they sound, their style, their vocals, their instruments..anything. The statement you made about the "lack of good guitar parts" should not be in a review..that is your personal opinion and therefore does not belong in a reading that is going to give someone else an idea of the band's sound. You should work more on your format of the review and stay away from your own personal opinions.

and by the way..it's not "akissfromnewjersey", it's "akissforjersey". Just thought I'd inform youthank you!

encmetalhead
October 15th 2006


744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

who cares how the name is? they didnt inpress me on the first listen so i didnt really care and i'm probably going to rewrite this review today ;)

progressionbackwards
November 3rd 2006


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The song called roses that you describe is the song by funeral for a friend, not the one by your name in vain.. However, I love your name in vain, but I can't by records cause I live in the Netherlands and I'll have to buy them on the internet or something.. But that's so expensive.. Oh btw this article is pretty good, except the part about roses;)This Message Edited On 11.03.06



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy