Hanging Garden
At Every Door


3.5
great

Review

by Magnus Altkula STAFF
February 2nd, 2013 | 44 replies | 6,119 views


Release Date: 01/25/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: At Every Door is a trademark Finnish death/doom metal record

Hanging Garden isn’t a band that likes to sound the same from record to record. Their debut album, titled Inherit The Eden, was a solid slab of accessible doom metal that exhibited great musicianship and melodicism. On their follow-up, TEOTWAWKI, the band flirted with post-metal to mixed results. The change in vocals (from a deep growl to a post-metal-like raspy shout) was generally poorly received, though it was clear Hanging Garden still have their songwriting chops. Now, on their third studio album, titled At Every Door, the band has opted to accentuate the role of gothic melodies that were seen (in smaller capacity) on Inherit The Eden, while still holding on to their doom roots. The end result is an album that one would most absolutely expect from a Finnish death/doom metal band: a familiar-sounding, slow-to-mid-tempo blend of deep growls and somber melodies that can be enjoyable to both veterans and newcomers to the genre.

Basing the comparison purely on At Every Door, without taking the band’s earlier records into consideration, there isn’t much Hanging Garden give us to differentiate the album from the output of fellow Finnish bands like Black Sun Aeon, Dark The Suns, Routasielu, Swallow The Sun etc. That, though, doesn’t necessarily mean it isn’t a worthy album. Like mentioned above, and in my review for Black Sun Aeon’s latest, Finnish death/doom groups have this seasoned, inviting atmosphere to their records which pulls listeners in and forces them to check out further albums from these groups that all sound very similar to each other. I wouldn’t be surprised if they have a massive lure stone for melody-loving metalheads hidden somewhere in Finland, because it’s almost ridiculous how bands like Hanging Garden always manage to sound appealing. If you’re looking for something unique from At Every Door, it’s best to stop reading now, because it’s melody-driven doom metal that has been done a thousand times before, but if somber melodies and wintery atmospheres are your forte, then look no further.

Musically and compositionally the album is yet another success for the band. The backing, low-tuned walls of sound (when they are in use) help emphasize the sorrowful melodies while giving added depth to the overall compositions. Hanging Garden are at their best when the backing wall of sound is penetrated by multiple various melodies that also fit together well, best exhibited in the album’s opener "Ten Thousand Cranes". Instrumentally softer breaks/tracks ("At Every Door") add diversity to the record and when it comes to the ever-present melodic guitar lines, they carry with them a constant melancholic aura, but do so in a way that they can also be called beautiful. Hanging Garden’s style of doom metal is not akin to utterly forceful and dark doom acts (think: Evoken, Loss, Esoteric), but it still carries with it the basic aesthetics of the genre of doom metal and is sure to express gloom and despondency, just not by the way of death-dark atmospheres, but through melancholic melodies and passages. At Every Door might not be much more than another death/doom album that has the instantly recognizable Finnish trademark sound to it, but damn me if that isn’t one memorable sound.

As long as the listener knows Hanging Garden are a death/doom metal band from Finland, he should already envision what he’s getting with At Every Door. „Lush melancholic melodies“ are the keywords that apply to this record and even though it doesn’t exactly surprise us with anything, after the last tribal drum beats of "To End All Ages" have ran its course, a sense of contentment (with the record) can be felt. Hanging Garden aren’t necessarily playing it safe by releasing an album that doesn’t set them apart from the pack; they are just playing to their strengths, as in its niche the album is a very enjoyable piece of music.



Recent reviews by this author
MiXE1 Starlit SkinDoom:VS Earthless
Nocturnal Breed Napalm NightsThyrien Hymns of the Mortals - Songs from the North
Iskald Nedom Og NordPsyclon Nine [Order of the Shadow: Act I]
user ratings (14)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 2nd 2013



6986 Comments


Good read, i liked the debut

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 2nd 2013



8321 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

I'm sure you'd like this one as well then. It has more in common with the debut than it has with their sophomore album.

Willie
Moderator
February 2nd 2013



15897 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

I liked their second album. I'm a little bummed to hear that they've dropped that sound.

Digging: Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse - 20th Year Anniversary

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 2nd 2013



6986 Comments


Ill check it. How you been?

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 2nd 2013



8321 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

@Willie
Well, I'm pretty sure you could get behind this sound as well. It's similar to some groups (like Katatonia and Black Sun Aeon) that you really like.

@Ipod
Been pretty good man. Currently enjoying my two-and-a-half week break from uni. I am using the time to catch up with my old buds, hang around with my gf and for general resting. After my last exam I felt like my brain was about to explode haha. But yea, been great even actually. I've been so happy-go-lucky this year that it's actually a bit hard for me to enjoy these somber records to the fullest haha. How about you?

Dreamflight
February 2nd 2013



1760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Meh album, good review.

Songs lack passion imo.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 2nd 2013



6986 Comments


Sounds like uni was hell, alternatively you could be an apprentice chef which is hell.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 2nd 2013



8321 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Uni really isn't that bad, just exhausting. I don't complain at all though. Living with my long-time gf and enjoying an independent lifestyle - things could hardly be better. But still man, c'mon c'mon, fill me in, what's good down under?

Eclecticist
February 2nd 2013



3863 Comments


I found this album to be really boring but good review so pos.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 2nd 2013



8321 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Well, like I said, the album has a distinct, established sound that some other bands have also exhibited during the years. I guess it is safe to say that you've just had enough of it =).

Eclecticist
February 2nd 2013



3863 Comments


It's just too similar to all other doom metal that attempts to be melodic. Some bands like Mar De
Grises do it well but I just didn't feel as though this band did. Yea they have a distinct way of
playing that separates them from their peers but not enough so that the departure bears significance.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 2nd 2013



8321 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

I like it because it's a well-composed album in general. Definitely nothing unique, but if you're into the melodic side of doom, and don't mind the feeling of "wait, I think I've heard something like this before", then all's okay.

bloc
February 2nd 2013



34730 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Boring.

Digging: Messiah - Choir of Horrors

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 2nd 2013



8321 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

You're boring ;)

Eclecticist
February 2nd 2013



3863 Comments


When I read your comment I initially read "a well-composed wait". I lmfao'd

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 2nd 2013



8321 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

I'd listen to/experience a well-composed wait. I mean, if it's well-composed, it can't be bad!

Eclecticist
February 2nd 2013



3863 Comments


Band: Patience; Song: A Well Composed Wait; Genre: Drone


zzzzzzzzZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzZZZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Eclecticist
February 2nd 2013



3863 Comments


*vocal drop*

"Okay guys so I know it has been like 15 minutes into the song but keep in mind that the whole track is 75 minutes and I know what you are thinking and no you cannot skip to the end because we have strategically placed it somewhere marginal. Now plz enjoy these pleasant duck noises"

MichaelSnoxall
February 2nd 2013



12163 Comments


Good to see this get a review.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 3rd 2013



5974 Comments


Good review, pos.

Are these guys any close to Draconian?

Digging: Lisa Gerrard - Twilight Kingdom



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy