Ludicra
Fex Urbis Lex Orbis


3.0
good

Review

by fish CONTRIBUTOR (44 Reviews)
February 1st, 2013 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist


These days, black metal is usually associated more with harsh, textured atmospheres and progressive song structures than its non-Scandinavian thrash metal beginnings. Now commonly infusing flavours from music such as post metal, folk metal and even shoegaze, the likes of Alcest and Agalloch are the current go-to poster boys for music media when reporting on the genre in its contemporary form and represent a recent general trend in black metal. Heavier bands, often with influences from death metal, sit alongside, as well as bands taking influences from a wide variety of other genres. Black metal indeed appears to be an ever-spreading and evolving genre and its recognisably cold underlying foundation certainly provides a suitable canvas to tempt other influences and musical ideas to feed in and steer the music. However, Ludicra’s brand of black metal comes across as relatively simple, yet with enough to differentiate itself and provide interesting music in a genre where lazy writing is often too easy to fall back onto.

Catchy thrash metal riffs and uncommon female screams match the intense density of the guitar lead textures, but moments of melody, both vocally (such as on “Dead City”) and in the form of wandering guitar solos, give the music an extra edge. Underlying variations in harmony too provide a subtle yet tense atmosphere. But despite these various elements collectively acting together, Fex Urbis Lex Orbis does not come off as bloated, with each part distinguished and clear and utilising direct effectiveness over the need for convolution, and not often overstaying its welcome. Despite the odd moment of monotony, especially during the long, sluggish segments of “Collapse”, Ludicra’s penultimate album provides a broad range of elements to both interest regular fans of black metal whilst remaining accessible enough to appeal to outsiders of the genre. An overabundance of certain elements and windingly long structures often put off prospective listeners of many black metal bands but Ludicra manage to strike a balance between this uncharacteristic accessibility and experimentation with an enjoyable range of musical ideas.



Recent reviews by this author
Azealia Banks Broke With Expensive TasteJMSN †Pllajë†
Say Lou Lou Better In The DarkSky Ferreira Night Time, My Time
M.I.A. MatangiThe Weeknd Kiss Land
user ratings (21)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
related reviews

The Tenant

Comments:Add a Comment 
fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 1st 2013


22033 Comments


Submission for the review game thingy

Pretty hard to force writing, especially about a genre I'm not completely familiar with, so I'm sorry noctus and tyr if I somehow insult you ):

Digging: Azealia Banks - Broke With Expensive Taste

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
February 1st 2013


8935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

rating seems a bit low but the review's okay i guess, at least, the second half

the other half of it is dedicated to a redundant description of black metal (and imo, inaccurate) that adds nothing and you don't really have much to say

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 1st 2013


22033 Comments


i have nothing to say you're correct about that

and my ratings always seem low to people



halloway
February 1st 2013


684 Comments


Yes, a Ludicra review! Nice.

GiaNXGX
February 1st 2013


4867 Comments


The first paragraph is pointless and doesn't adds anything to the review other than being a display of
over-pretentious, judgmental, and misinformed takes on black metal in general. As for the second one,
I think it is a nice write-up but you could have delved much deeper on what makes this Ludicra album
'good/3.'

What about the lyrics (an interesting concept), production, or vocals? Saying there's a female singer
doesn't necessarily cuts it; gimmick or sincere, excellent or average? How's the contrast between the
sludge & bm? Hmmm. Anyway, this is well written but I won't pos, lacks insight.

fromtheinside
February 1st 2013


19029 Comments


you had me until the second paragraph and i saw something about a female

ehhhhh...

Digging: Ibex Throne - Ibex Throne

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 1st 2013


22033 Comments


this is my worst review, definitely

To be expected though

GiaNXGX
February 1st 2013


4867 Comments


Delete it, give the album another spin, and try again. Nobody is rushing with the review game.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 1st 2013


22033 Comments


I don't think I'm gonna get any more out of this

Ovrot
February 1st 2013


10551 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

best band

Digging: Funeral Sex - Anal War

zaruyache
February 2nd 2013


7217 Comments


you had me until the second paragraph and i saw something about a female

ehhhhh...



Misogynist.

Digging: Sleepytime Gorilla Museum - In Glorious Times

Wizard
February 2nd 2013


19606 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i have nothing to say you're correct about that

There isn't much to say about genre itself when comparing this to it, it's all been said before. This was boring and not as good as the Tenant by a long stretch.

and my ratings always seem low to people

Fuck what any dink face says about your rating, do what you feel is right to you.

Delete it, give the album another spin, and try again. Nobody is rushing with the review game.

When you listen to this, you will think the same thing.

Digging: Earth - Primitive and Deadly

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
February 2nd 2013


8935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fuck what any dink face says about your rating, do what you feel is right to you.


gee thanks, i only meant his review read higher than the rating he gave it, i don't give a damn what he rated it

Wizard
February 2nd 2013


19606 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ahhh I misunderstood you Dark, you know I actually respect you because your ratings reflect how "you" actually feel about an album and not about what the majority thinks : ). I meant my last comment towards anyone that gives a hard time towards a review because of rating.

Need to relisten to this.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
February 2nd 2013


8935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sure, no problem, sorry about being defensive :]

yeah i really like this, there's a lot of energy in it

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 2nd 2013


22033 Comments


Rating comes across as low cos I generally don't like writing reviews which are divided between
positive and negative points, so I stuck largely to the former (cos overall the review is positive)
and didn't rest too much on the negative, of which there isn't much to say anyway apart from "some
bits are boring and monotonous".

ConcubinaryCode
March 13th 2013


2168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Oh shit I didn't even see that you reviewed this. Only a 3 though? aww

Hawks
March 13th 2013


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wish these guys were still together.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy