Alexander Spit
A Breathtaking Trip to That Otherside


4.0
excellent

Review

by PorkchopExpress USER (37 Reviews)
January 31st, 2013 | 24 replies | 2,577 views


Release Date: 01/29/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "Trip" being the most important word in the album title.

Alexander Spit is quite the curiosity. The fact that he grew up in California, spent the last few years living in LA and putting out self-released mixtapes--then went on to sign with NYC label Deacon to release his first official album--works as the first signifier of how hard it is to put a box around his particular sound. There are certain hallmarks of both coasts in his sound, and it's all wrapped in a hazy, drugged-out sheen. These elements combine to create an album with its own unique sound, and one which consistently works.

Opening track "Black Magic On Blue Magic" provides a foundation for the entire album, with distorted horns overlaying a glitchy beat and bass-line, with lyrics like "I'm so zen when I'm blown. My dream is oh so American and my rise to it is so Rome" and "I watch your eyes roll to the back of your skull so that powder must be pure" painting the debauched world in which this album (and Spit) lives. However, follow-up track "Ride" shifts gears quite a bit, opening with what sounds like an old Disney song, which Spit then morphs into a distorted, RZA-like soul-sounding sample that pushes the song forward, ending with his declaration that he writes "classics, not hits". It's a bold, confident statement, but Spit backs it up by showing the confidence of a veteran throughout the album.

Spit's flow itself is unique, with an overlaying effect that makes his vocals syrupy, which he then juxtaposes with rapid-fire delivery that's somewhat jarring at points, but always in a good way. However, where the album really manages to stand out is on the production, which Spit handled on every track. As I stated earlier, drugs play a huge role in the album, and his borderline psychedelic production enhances this greatly. A great example of this is on the title track, (which, appropriately enough, has a video that is a straight homage to Fear And Loathing In Las Vegas) which paints a vivid story of an acid trip, and is backed by a dark, menacing beat that borders on disorienting. "Getaway Car" is full of warped backing vocals and these almost hidden bleeps and bloops, which sound excellent on a good set of headphones. And album closer, "Death by 27", sounds as though it were recorded underwater.

If I had any complaints or criticisms to level at the album, it would be the fact that--aside from "NRML Ave"--the interludes are mainly pointless. The next thing, which isn't really as much a complaint as it is an observation, is that when he brings in guests he tends to get outshined. However, when the guests include E-40, Exquire, and Action Bronson (on the absolutely phenomenal "Artesia"), it's not really something you can fault Spit for. And with the potential he shows on this debut, he may well show up his guests the next time. Oh, and possibly write that "classic" he was talking about.



Recent reviews by this author
Da Mafia 6ix 6ix CommandmentsSurfer Blood Pythons
Onyx All We Got Iz UsMikal Cronin MCII
TiRon & Ayomari A Sucker For PumpsRoc Marciano Reloaded
user ratings (6)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
PorkchopExpress
January 31st 2013



387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can see this being a 4.5 for me eventually. "Ride" is just bullshit good. You can stream the album right here, at least for now:

http://www.djbooth.net/index/albums/review/alexander-spit-a-breathtaking-trip-to-that-otherside

EaglesBecomeVultures
February 19th 2013



5206 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice review
will check

Digging: FKA twigs - LP1

EaglesBecomeVultures
February 20th 2013



5206 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dude a breathtaking trip song and video are pretty sick

i listened to a couple more on youtube but i don't think they were from this record because it was all soul sample shit. is all of the production grimey like the single?

PorkchopExpress
February 20th 2013



387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, for the most part the production is along the lines of that song. Some sound a little cleaner than others. I love that video too. Glad you're checking it out though. You can actually stream the entire album at that link in my 1st comment.

EaglesBecomeVultures
February 21st 2013



5206 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

mushrooms got me seeing unicorns and leprechauns
this leprechaun just passed the weed
this unicorn tryna suck me up

PorkchopExpress
February 21st 2013



387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ha! I love that. Exquire's whole verse is awesome.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
March 9th 2013



4950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i like this overall, but not sure how much. i'm probably at a 3 or 3.5.



PorkchopExpress
March 9th 2013



387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's definitely not going to go up for me like I had said in my earlier comment, but I don't really see it going down either. I listened to it for the first time in a few weeks yesterday and liked it just as much.

FourthReich
April 15th 2013



17293 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

great scott is so good. awesome beats agreed, his voice is ok on some tracks.

PorkchopExpress
April 16th 2013



387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I don't dislike his voice, but I think that's part of the reason guest-spots are so welcome. Hearing E-40 and Mr. M.E. and Action Bronson spit over his beats really highlight his talent as a producer.

FourthReich
June 18th 2013



17293 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

...and i spit

PorkchopExpress
June 18th 2013



387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dude, he just had a Daytrotter session. I haven't heard it yet since I don't have a membership anymore, but I want to see how it is.

FourthReich
July 10th 2013



17293 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

moving higher and higher up my hip-hop aoty list...

FourthReich
July 30th 2013



17293 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

young spit im broke AS FUCK

EaglesBecomeVultures
October 16th 2013



5206 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

rip sp

FourthReich
November 8th 2013



17293 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

both of his new tracks are fvcking fire X 10. has a new album dropping the 12th will be aoty

EaglesBecomeVultures
November 8th 2013



5206 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

that one you sent me was insane, dude has the potential to create something extraordinary

FourthReich
November 8th 2013



17293 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hell yea bro, im so psyched for this guy holy shit

FourthReich
November 12th 2013



17293 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

agreed-http://dillinger.alexanderspit.com/album/dillinger

PorkchopExpress
November 14th 2013



387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah "Dillinger" is awesome



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy