Wartorn
Iconic Nightmare


3.9
excellent

Review

by Sobhi Youssef EMERITUS
January 28th, 2013 | 35 replies | 4,242 views


Release Date: 01/22/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An expertly crafted, rhythmically faithful protest of tyranny - bringing to bear the true hallmarks of their forebears

Heavily influenced by late 80s D-Beat, Wartorn brandish their roots with pride - yet manage to innovate in a recently reinvigorated crust revival movement. Their Southern Lord debut not only hits hard on all the right crust buttons, but injects a much needed crossover appeal that's worked well to separate them from their contemporaries. In this scenario, Iconic Nightmare proceeds furiously through its genre-typical 25 minute run time, while still providing an oasis of respite within the confines of tracks like "Six Feet Under" where slower death metal grooves prep the listener for a seriously thrash-induced D-Beat breakdown (if that is considered "respite"). The record is much better for this stark contrast of plodding atmospherics to uptempo destruction, never losing sight of the ultimate impending chaos.

Technically, the shouted vocals are well executed, yet punctuated by somewhat lacking low-end growls at times (notably on the title track, but forgiven due to a well-paced air raid siren!). Their dual-guitar attack of course allows for additional melodic variation and some nice shredding, while also enhancing the density of the riffing. Albeit minor, the only gripe here lies in a near-stereotypical propensity for diminished-to-minor transitions that occurs nearly constantly, but for the sake of minimalism and theme this is easily reconcilable. Iconic Nightmare is an expertly crafted, rhythmically faithful protest of tyranny - bringing to bear the true hallmarks of their forebears. Southern Lord's recent investment in crust will no doubt pay off with its burgeoning popularity; hopefully signees like Wartorn receive their due credit.



Recent reviews by this author
Nacho Picasso and Avatar Darko VampsterdamGorguts Colored Sands
Run the Jewels Run the JewelsThe-Dream IV Play
James Blake OvergrownTyler the Creator Wolf
user ratings (4)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
InfamousGrouse
January 28th 2013



3196 Comments


3.9 excellent

Digging: Jackson C. Frank - Jackson C. Frank

kingsoby1
Emeritus
January 28th 2013



4940 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

hey thats what i thought too

InfamousGrouse
January 28th 2013



3196 Comments


haha, in all seriousness though, the recommended section has piqued my interest

kingsoby1
Emeritus
January 28th 2013



4940 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

yeah you'll dig if you're into those records, but this has a bit more DM influence in it.

hesperus
January 28th 2013



184 Comments


Am I the only one getting annoyed by the incremental ratings? All the things I like about this site are the ways in which it ISN'T Pitchfork.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
January 28th 2013



4940 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

wtf who cares it's just a number

hesperus
January 28th 2013



184 Comments


Idk, it's just weird that a reviewer would need that many options. Like, is there really a substantial difference between a 3.9 and a 4?

InfamousGrouse
January 28th 2013



3196 Comments


oh, I thought the 3.9 was some kind of db error

well I'm behind the times

kingsoby1
Emeritus
January 28th 2013



4940 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

well the difference obviously isn't substantial, but it still exists. a lot of our reviews end up between 3.5 and 4, so this helps differentiate a bit. hopefully we are done talking about this now that it's been done on a few reviews... topic is starting to bore me.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2013



10003 Comments


*sigh*

GOOD REVIEW SOBHI, MAY HAVE TO CHECK THIS ONE OUT

Digging: Deniro Farrar - Rebirth

demigod!
January 28th 2013



43888 Comments


nice review, gonna check this for sure

Digging: Black Flag - My War

InfamousGrouse
January 28th 2013



3196 Comments


from ashes rise rule so i'm looking forward to giving it a spin

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2013



49791 Comments


I can dig it
So many albums end up in that gray area that is between 3.5 and 4

Digging: Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) - You Will Eventually Be Forgotten

ILJ
January 28th 2013



6617 Comments


I think in the lower ratings it's less significant but when you get up in the 4s those small .1s can be quite significant.

At least for me.

Digging: Mastodon - Once More 'Round the Sun

ILJ
January 28th 2013



6617 Comments


Nice dig treb

HenchmanOfSanta
January 28th 2013



1852 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sounds awesome, will check out.

HSThomas
January 29th 2013



668 Comments


Hey you're not supposed to be reviewing this stuff, you're staff go back to reviewing indie and hip-hop.

Kidding good review and all though but it does read at points like you're making a mountain out of a mole hill about what is essentially a standard release for the genre nothing more.

Also gotta admit it's strange seeing you review this stuff. I thought you guys hated this stuff (except Kyle and Adam Thomas) because it wasn't musically complex enough or some such retarded reason.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
January 29th 2013



4940 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

it's not very complex, but it's pretty great for what it is. i dont think these guys are capable of dropping a classic record (like most of this genre), but i still love crust and its various crossover subgenres. lately, i pretty much only listen to hiphop and hardcore. im not really good at writing about anything but hiphop/ r&b, just trying to get out of my comfort zone.

also, i'd like to think i had one of the more eclectic year end lists of the staff

TheNexus100
January 29th 2013



2499 Comments


how do you rate shit 3.9 or 2.7 or whatever wtf R U A GOD

HSThomas
January 29th 2013



668 Comments


Well at least now Sobhi you can boast that your ratings are almost as eclectic as your end of year lists ;)



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy