Polyenso
One Big Particular Loop



Release Date: 01/22/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: One Big Particular Loop is a great record from a band that, once again, sounds as though they are just getting started.

It's no wonder that this band decided to change their name. Honestly. We’ve all heard of bands going through musical evolution and making crazy transitions before, but this is quite interesting. Oceana went straight from releasing an experimental post-hardcore album to putting out a half-assed indie jammer, and now they’ve returned as Polyenso with One Big Particular Loop, a truly inspired collection of indie rock tunes (regardless of how apparent their source of inspiration is). It really just seems that with each release the band put out following their debut, Polyenso have been exploring new musical ideas and influences, with One Big Particular Loop just being the next destination on the map.

On One Big Particular Loop, far less emphasis is put on the aggressive nature of the instruments, and a little more is being placed into areas such as atmosphere and consistency. The band removes the idea of any major guitar distortions, allowing every instrument to blend together in a completely new fashion. The production here is just what the album needs, but nothing all that out of the ordinary in comparison to Polyenso’s other works with the exception of the rather forgettable debut The Tide, which could more easily than not be viewed as rather disappointing. It’s unfortunate that the band really missed a good opportunity to make some remarkable standout tracks that would have really grabbed a listener’s attention. Still, every track here still bears a sense of diversity that separates them from one another, allowing the album to retain a consistent level of enjoyment throughout.

Keep in mind, however, that being an inspired band can have potential downsides, some of which are present on One Big Particular Loop. For example, one can only have so much inspiration in their music before it begins to replace originality. Of course, it's fairly obvious that the band has begun admire alt-rock legends Radiohead to a point where it's almost impossible to go unnoticed on One Big Particular Loop. Brennan Taulbee’s vocals are extremely reminiscent of Yorke’s distinct vibrato and falsetto. And let's face it, Polyenso isn’t exactly the first post-hardcore band that tried shaking things up a bit. One of today’s most well-known examples is Thrice, an influential post-hardcore band whose journey into experimentation began with the release of their 2005 “classic”, Vheissu, and continued throughout the remainder of their career. Now, whether or not Polyenso were really just following a trend set by the bigger post-hardcore acts is up for the listener to decide, but one thing is for certain, and that is that the group could potentially be at risk of failing miserably. They’ve basically dug themselves into a hole that, if they can’t make a home of it, they won’t be able to climb out of. Not easily, anyway.

But when it all comes down to it, is it really such a bad thing if the music ends up sounding as great as it does? Let’s forget about the future for a minute and look at what we were given, and what we were given is really just a bundle of legitimately fun tracks that nobody in 2008 would have, or even could have, suspected Oceana had the ability to produce. And while there might not be any true stand out tracks here (with the exception of “Pocket Soul”, a track that could easily be considered single material), One Big Particular Loop never loses focus. Polyenso are obviously determined here, keeping true to their new sound every step of the way and never missing a beat. To keep things simple, I’ll just say that if you are into this type of music, you will enjoy it on some level from start to finish, no doubt about it.

So, I guess I should rephrase my original statement: we have indeed seen bands make drastic changes to their sound in the past; it’s a rare occasion such as this, however, that we see signs of maturity pop up so abruptly. Maybe one day Polyenso will find themselves settling into a sweet spot with their music, a spot where they can sit down and really define their signature sound (and what a day that will be). For now though, we have One Big Particular Loop, which is a great record from a genre that, more often than not, only gets the attention it deserves from the bigger names.



Recent reviews by this author
Hammock Stranded Under Endless SkyCold Mailman Heavy Hearts
Spider Island Dark NovaPestilence Doctrine
Hammock Departure Songs
user ratings (195)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Daniel Roe (4)
"Did you hear what I made you do, and what you're doing to me?"...


Comments:Add a Comment 
CK
January 27th 2013


4930 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is a high 3.5 for me, so it might just make my year end list if I decide to make one.

I see I have a neg already, so give me some constructive criticism if you see any errors or awkward phrasing or something that just doesn't make sense. That means you, mystery neg ;)

Digging: Death - Human

dixoncocks
January 27th 2013


2602 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"it's fairly obvious that the band is blatantly sucking Radiohead's dick on One Big Particular Loop." This pretty much discredited the review for me and the whole second paragraph seems pointless. I just feel like your review lacks substance or any real information about the album. I was also shocked there wasn't a mention of how great the production is on this album.

CK
January 27th 2013


4930 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I have been considering changing that line, so I probably will end up doing that.

Concerning production, it didn't really shock me all that much. There production has never really been an issue since the debut, and whatever true standout production that's found on here is really just vital for the direction they are heading. It just doesn't change my thoughts on the album all that much.

Thanks for the feedback!

EDIT: I'm adding a paragraph about the music now, I was having a writers block initially and wasn't able to overcome it until now. Hold your neg-cannons people!

bloc
January 27th 2013


34925 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

From what I remember, there was an issue of monotony in all the songs. It was pretty difficult figuring out one song from another.

With more listens, the issue could get worse or improve I guess.

CasinoColumbus
January 27th 2013


340 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

From what I remember, there was an issue of monotony in all the songs. It was pretty difficult figuring out one song from another.
Haven't heard this yet, but this is exactly what I'm afraid of from what I've heard so far. Still pretty stoked to listen to this. Also think the name change was a good move, 'cause Oceana is just a lame name.

dixoncocks
January 27th 2013


2602 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I just really appreciate the amount of time that went into making this album.

CK
January 27th 2013


4930 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Edited the review. Hopefully it's better now

North0House2
January 27th 2013


5876 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I personally think this album is incredible. Won't neg or pos. I can see the Radiohead comparisons. Man, the guy's voice sounds so close to Thom Yorke's at times. I don't care though, because this is such a soulful little album. Always Ending in You is a beautiful song, to boot.

Digging: Ef - Ceremonies

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
January 27th 2013


19926 Comments


Review looks good to me, pos'd

Digging: Transit - Joyride

CK
January 27th 2013


4930 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Atari! It wasn't all that good at first because I was in a mood to upload it quick and ended up doing so without a whole lot of proof reading. Sat down and looked at it after and am feeling fairly confident with it now.

dixoncocks
January 27th 2013


2602 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yea man this looks alot better

Gyromania
January 27th 2013


15941 Comments


i don't know how much i like this. i feel like i would enjoy a lot of songs more if they were instrumentals. anyway, good review

Digging: Lantlos - .neon

TheCollectiveFacade
January 28th 2013


659 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think this album deserves more than a 3.5 for not only the simple fact of the patience and effort
that went into the making of this album--but the progression the band has made in their musicianship
and character. This is leaps above Oceana's 'The Tide' and its epitomizing generic metalcore.

Digging: Lights - Little Machines

iGuter
January 28th 2013


352 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I feel you might be under appreciating the sympathy for this album.

Digging: Pharmakon - Bestial Burden

Gyromania
January 28th 2013


15941 Comments


this is definitely a very solid record, but it doesn't grab me immediately. i feel like the best moments are fleeting, or sometimes sullied by the vocals. the vocals are great, don't get me wrong, but i don't think it matches the music all the time.

CasinoColumbus
January 29th 2013


340 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So I listened to it yesterday, and it's really good. Listening to Doom)) for the first time in bed, in complete darkness was strange though. That creaking door had me thinking someone entered my room for a second, until I realised the album was still playing.

I didn't have problems with the songs being monotonous bloc, but I can imagine if someone feels that way when not paying a lot of attention to the music. Not saying that you didn't.

The review looks better now by the way so have a pos.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
January 29th 2013


4950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2 | Sound Off

this is pretty awesome

foxblood
January 29th 2013


6797 Comments


i'm really sceptical that this can be deserving of a 4.2 average. i'll get to this eventually but all the songs they previewed before the release were pretty dull

kingsoby1
Emeritus
January 29th 2013


4950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2 | Sound Off

it's only a 4.2 b/c staff votes count for 10

foxblood
January 29th 2013


6797 Comments


ah that makes sense, has that always been the case or was that added with the ability to score in .1 increments?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy