Future Islands
In Evening Air


5.0
classic

Review

by Super Grover USER (32 Reviews)
January 27th, 2013 | 32 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist


“It’s sugary,” one of my friends said upon her first listen to “Vireo’s Eye”. “Overproduced crap.”

I was a little taken aback, to be frank, because not only had I never really been moved by music to “overproduced crap” levels of hate, but because if overproduced crap did exist in the world of music, it was certainly not “Vireo’s Eye.” The synths, yeah, they were kind of helter-skelter and overpowering at first, but they snapped into place with that rigid bass line after a few listens and it was all tied up in one huge, sweet, messy bundle by Samuel Herring’s vocals.

Personally I was a bit quicker of a sell; all I needed was that first line: “A loose and hazy time when you were not my clementine.” What’s a better representation of love lost than that? That’s most of the album, honestly. It’s Herring absolutely pouring his guts out (if it’s possible to replicate that exact sound over musical recording, he does it) over a melange of swirling synths and hitting that sweet spot where that noise becomes sorrow and sorrow becomes catharsis and we do it all over again on the next track.

In Evening Air pulls no punches, bouncing from infidelity to broken dreams all held together by viciously pulsating bass and synth lines, Herring’s howling and a few metaphors of oceans and waves and kings and queens and things that I admittedly have yet to really wrap my mind around but make damn poetic couplets.

I assume the fact that In Evening Air strikes a near-perfect chord with me probably means I sympathize with Herring’s various distresses more than I should. But his claim at the end of “Tin Man”-- a desperately repeated “I am the Tin Man"-- still leads me to a bit of confusion. Is that supposed to mean he doesn’t have a heart? I’m a bit troubled myself, but I’ve still got one, so I suppose that’s something.



Recent reviews by this author
Friendzone DXThe Twilight Singers Blackberry Belle
The National Trouble Will Find MeAlice in Chains The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here
The Airborne Toxic Event Such Hot BloodMeat Puppets Rat Farm
user ratings (106)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Kiran EMERITUS (4)
New wave for tough guys with soft hearts....

related reviews

On the Water

Comments:Add a Comment 
Romulus
January 27th 2013


8447 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

wanted to give it a 4.8 : (

Sleaper
January 27th 2013


3438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nice quick review man.

i like on the water more, but this ones still awesome.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 27th 2013


24098 Comments


didnt like the new one but pos cause romulus is sweet i heard yeah i heard he was sweet agreed lets post ok hmm yes quite lets

Digging: Mitski - bury me at makeout creek

Ponton
Emeritus
January 27th 2013


5820 Comments


thank god

Digging: Gates - Bloom and Breathe

scissorlocked
January 27th 2013


3511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

will check

nice shortie

Digging: Low Roar - Low Roar

Romulus
January 27th 2013


8447 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

thank you sirs

aids listen to it again and again and again

jared you were my inspiration for this


GiaNXGX
January 27th 2013


4867 Comments


hey! I had this album's artwork as my default wallpaper for quite some time, really fascinating cover. Great review Romulus, might've to listen to this then.

SeaAnemone
January 27th 2013


20970 Comments


good on you for giving this band a 5 review
I'd put it on the other album, but this rules too

Digging: Viet Cong - Viet Cong

Romulus
January 27th 2013


8447 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

hey sea i'm surprised at the 3 but you said "rules" so i'm satisfied

Nikkolae
January 27th 2013


4870 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"wanted to give it a 4.8 : ("

nah man, this is pure gold, dont sweat if you havent quite clicked with it, it took me a couple months to do so, but when it did... oh boy.

Digging: Modern Witch - Unknown Domain

wabbit
January 27th 2013


7035 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

call on me

Romulus
January 27th 2013


8447 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

nah man i was joking on the 4.8 with all the hoopla over the rating changes

i'll be there always

WeepingBanana
January 28th 2013


10217 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

ugh yes this needed a 5 review. best album ever

SeaAnemone
August 8th 2013


20970 Comments


finally coming around to see what you mean about this
this may very well be a 5 and be better than On The Water

wabbit
August 8th 2013


7035 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I listened to this on mdma and HOLY SHIT so many feelings!

wabbit
August 8th 2013


7035 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I have no idea why he calls himself the tin man




cause he's clearly the opposite!

SeaAnemone
August 8th 2013


20970 Comments


yeah this hits the emotions hard
ugh so good
what's your favorite track?
think mine might be "Long Flight"

WeepingBanana
August 8th 2013


10217 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Vireo's Eye is up there. it's really hard to choose a track that's not EVERY FUCKING TRACK

SeaAnemone
August 8th 2013


20970 Comments


good pts being made all round
cool new avvy weeping

wabbit
August 8th 2013


7035 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

swept inside or inch of dust,



this has better vocals and it's like leveling in it's emotional power but on the water is probably a more interesting listen?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy