Mallory Knox
Signals


4.5
superb

Review

by NorwichScene USER (9 Reviews)
January 24th, 2013 | 43 replies | 7,939 views


Release Date: 01/23/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: One of the best British debut albums ever

'Signals' is Mallory Knox's debut album and is so accomplished that it sounds like it has been made by a band that is recording their third or fourth album.

The first few tracks on ‘Signals’ could all be singles played on the radio. The album has vocal harmonies, huge hooks, along with both infectious and anthemic songs throughout. The sound really is huge; I can only compare it to when I first heard and loved Young Guns debut ‘All our kings are Dead’ only its better.

The first song "Beggars" starts the album off with aplomb, from the first few spine tingling seconds to the kick drum BOOM straight in and rocking out. It keeps up the pace next with "Lighthouse". This song has a massive uplifting chorus and is one of the best rock songs I’ve heard in a while, right up there with the likes of We are the Ocean’s ‘Young Heart’ and Deaf Havana’s ‘Little White Lies’. You should watch the video’s for all 3 songs, you won’t be disappointed.

“Death Rattle” has riffs galore; this song is guaranteed to be a live favourite for fans to sing along to. Mickey uses a gruff style vocal on this song, which gives a nice contrast to the rest of the album.

‘1949’ shows off the bands softer side. Lead vocalist Mikey Chapman shows he is a great lyricist in the making, making catchy, passionate and believable songs.

Although the second half of the album isn’t as good as the first, it is still a great listen throughout. Songs such as ‘Wake Up’, Misdemeanour’ and "Bury Your Head" still have the anthemic theme and good choruses, yet seem a bit lacklustre to the songs around them. The slower pace continues to the album title song "Signals" before album closer “Creeper” finishes the album in style.

‘Signals’ is without doubt a solid debut album. It blends right into the current British rock sound putting them alongside the likes of Deaf Havana, We are the Ocean, Young Guns, Lower Than Atlantis, and other new bands such as Don Broco and Canterbury.

Mallory Knox name is taken from the movie ‘Natural Born Killers’, with this album similar bands will need to raise their game to survive.



Recent reviews by this author
Lonely the Brave The Day's WarFlood of Red Throw
Silverstein This Is How the Wind ShiftsHeart In Hand Almost There
The Amity Affliction Chasing GhostsSilverstein Short Songs
user ratings (49)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
intotheshit
January 24th 2013


3639 Comments


Are you 12 years old, or just mentally handicapped?

NorwichScene
January 24th 2013


1428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Hey shit, still trying to be funny I see.

You heard this album? It's quality!!

Digging: Lonely the Brave - The Day's War

intotheshit
January 24th 2013


3639 Comments


I wasn't trying to be funny. I'm asking an honest question. Are you 12 or retarded?

NorwichScene
January 24th 2013


1428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Neither, I'm an adult

NorwichScene
January 24th 2013


1428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Your not funny and a bully. Not fuck off back into your hole

intotheshit
January 24th 2013


3639 Comments


I'm not being funny. I'm being dead fucking serious.

NorwichScene
January 24th 2013


1428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Least I bother writing reviews and make useful suggestions on what similar bands people may like. What contribution do you make except being a troll?

intotheshit
January 24th 2013


3639 Comments


Just because I'm telling you that your review sucks doesn't mean I'm a troll.

intotheshit
January 24th 2013


3639 Comments


And this is hardly a contribution.

Ponton
Emeritus
January 24th 2013


5793 Comments


albums pretty good but their ep was a good deal better



NorwichScene
January 24th 2013


1428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Not many people have heard of them, so yes it is a contribution

intotheshit
January 24th 2013


3639 Comments


Bands that haven't been heard of don't have multiple music videos out.

OverSlyZed
January 24th 2013


126 Comments


We are the ocean is crap

NorwichScene
January 24th 2013


1428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

They have a couple of good songs, runaway and young heart etc

schoonda
January 24th 2013


104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

intotheshit, whether your being serious or not, bit harsh mate, considering the amount of reviews he's done. i'll give a pos mate.

Digging: Lonely the Brave - The Day's War

NorwichScene
January 24th 2013


1428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Cheers dude. I know I'm shit at reviews, just trying to get this band noticed

schoonda
January 24th 2013


104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

no worries mate, you're doing a lot better than me, i'm too scared to write a review, and yeah dude these guys deserve to be noticed, they are incredible.

NorwichScene
January 25th 2013


1428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Got new Funeral for a Friend and Biffy Clyro albums. I won't be reviewing them though too scared now

NorwichScene
January 25th 2013


1428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Edited my review a bit so it flows better. I did write it in my lunch hour yesterday so was typing pretty quick, my bad!

joshyblind
January 29th 2013


2 Comments


fuck the haters mate, cheers for this



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy