Me and Him Call It Us
The (C:) Drive Of Love Stories


4.0
excellent

Review

by Dancin' Man USER (40 Reviews)
February 28th, 2006 | 14 replies


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist


Me and HIm Call It Us are good at their game. One thing I like in particular is the lack of constant blast beats. Not that I don't enjoy the occasional 210 bpm blast, but I certainly don't enjoy my entire 45 second song to be blasted. This means that one can actually tell the difference between each song, a nice touch that some grind bands forget about.

However, the thing that makes this album so great is not the lack of blast beats but instead the fact that this is a true album, rahter than a random compilation of songs. I'm not saying that I think endless hours of thought went into assembling the songs in a perfect order, but I do believe that they did a fine job. The reason I like the way it is put together is the opposite methods of music presented in the album. Imagine a song by some progressive metal band. It has the heavy sections, it has the light sections, and though they have a different style or modd, they are still never too far removed from each other. On this album, the intermissions are dramatically different from the songs.

One might think it ironic that the intermissions are so considerably longer than the "feature" songs on the album but I don't. I feel like each feature is such a blast of power that one needs recovery time in a sense and that recovery time is longer than the actual event. I guess I will equate it to a broken bone. It happens fast and hard and the recovery time is long.

I feel somewhat uncomfortable calling this straight grind because it's not (actually, i would've called it grindcore but I won't comment on my opinion of the difference between grind and grindcore here). Maybe I'd call it experimental or progressive grind, but lately, it seems like all the good grind bands are doing something different. Needless to say that isn't a bad thing but the genre is in a way falling apart because so few of the bands actually sound the same, they just happen to have one overriding style that comes back and links them. For example, A Rotten Set Of Bagpipes Can Make A Fantastic Miniskirt If Sewn Properly has a section that verges on doom. A number of the songs feature nearly beatdownable breakdowns were it not for the fact that they are so short. I like this band and what they do. They aren't perfect but they are good and they have some really cool ideas.



Recent reviews by this author
Verse AggressionTool 10,000 Days
Found Dead Hanging Dulling Occam's RazorJob for a Cowboy Doom
Ephel Duath The Painter's PaletteRobinson Robinson EP
user ratings (26)
Chart.
3.7
great
related reviews

Loss

Comments:Add a Comment 
Jawaharal
February 28th 2006


1832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really nice review man. I want this.

Dancin' Man
February 28th 2006


719 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Soulseek man. I'm still Fast Fingers there. I'm actually waiting for this band to come around here though so I can buy this. I like buying straight from the band better than from distros. They make a lot more money that way.

Jawaharal
March 1st 2006


1832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ALRIGHT! Just got this off of soulseek, took a while to find. Now I just need to listen to it, and I'll post my opinion :thumb:

Jawaharal
March 6th 2006


1832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So, this album is pretty bitchin'

cbmartinez
March 6th 2006


2525 Comments


I remember I found out about these guys about a year ago while browsing Stickfigure's site for IWASMOFFY mp3s. I downloaded "Peter Jennings..." and my life was never the same. Now everyone is jocking them.

Great review.

Shikyo
March 30th 2006


71 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes, finally a Me And Him Call It Us review. They're probably the grind band that I'm the most interested in at the moment.

...why is Aerosmith on on the "Members also liked..." section? haha

Dancin' Man
April 2nd 2006


719 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dudes, I got a myspace message from Aaron the drummer. He read the review and dug it. Ace in the hole.

Pinball Map
April 9th 2006


39 Comments


That's cool!

Subvert_bassist
April 15th 2007


13 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I found out about MAHCIU a year or two ago when my band at the time played with them. Since then, we've met up with them every time they've come through; well, we met up with Aaron and Blake every time, because MAHCIU have been through 12 lineup changes now. In fact, they're looking for a bassist and guitarist right now. Not only are they great guys (they brought us vegan donuts all the way from Portland), but they play amazing music. just don't ask them to play Innocent Bystanders; they hate that song.

iamrockzorz
May 7th 2007


1029 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A lot of people seem to like this so much more than Loss, but i love Loss just as much if not more than this. Then again, the version i have of this has horrible quality.

Mirror.Circuit
September 20th 2007


223 Comments


I love MAHCIU.
I wish they hadn't broken up.

JJmcJizzle
October 17th 2011


100 Comments


I love MAHCIU.
I wish they hadn't broken up.

[2]

Love the intermissions with their ambience which really work well in between the heavy songs.



Pharoh
October 17th 2011


3325 Comments


Innocent Bystanders Watched In Horror As Peter Jennings Drew His Murder Weapon is their best song lol

JJmcJizzle
October 18th 2011


100 Comments


I agree with andcas.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy