Mutiny Within
Synchronicity


3.0
good

Review

by Tom Bonner USER (1 Reviews)
January 16th, 2013 | 9 replies


Release Date: 01/12/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Mutiny Within has constructed a solid sophomore offering, but doesn't correct the mistakes of their self-titled debut.

At midnight on January 12th, 2013, I sat awake in my bed, constantly refreshing my page, eager to download Mutiny Within's new album. I discovered the band's self-titled debut well after their split with Roadrunner Records and still hold it in high regards; it's a great example of what melodic metal can be (think DragonForce, but serious instead of hokey). So when the boys from Edison, New Jersey announced they were coming back together to release a second album on their own, expectations were high.

Synchronicity delivers on all of the same aspects that made Mutiny Within (2010) a killer album. The same attack on the guitars is prevalent, as is the use of keys. The band has a knack for writing monstrous hooks, building a sense of epicness in the chorus of each song, enforced furthermore by the vocals of English singer Chris Clancy.

But it’s this knack that ultimately makes Synchronicity stumble. Instead of listening to a band progress with their musical skills the album treads over covered ground, resting on the laurels already established on their self-titled debut. Nearly every song follows some variation of the following: an uplifting intro followed by verses of thrashy guitars, double bass fills, and raunchy screams, a chorus that builds on the musicality of the intro with prominent keys and a soaring vocal hook, some sort of bridge followed by a skillful but unmemorable guitar solo, and an outro. If this weren’t enough to raise an eyebrow, the songs of Synchronicity suffer the banality of ranging between 3 and 4 minutes, and confine themselves to a 4/4 time signature.

As a result, the individual tracks blend together after multiple listens, the same problem I had with Mutiny Within (2010).

With this in mind, it’s important to mention that the twelve tracks that make up Synchronicity weren’t entirely written specifically for this release. Most, if not all of these songs were leftovers from their debut. This is neither a good nor a bad thing. It’s a practice common among bands, and who can blame them? Mutiny Within have had a tough past few years after being released from their Roadrunner contract. Along with the departure of Chris Clancy (who has since returned) and keyboardist Drew Stavola (who has not) and the indefinite hiatus that followed, it’s a miracle they’ve released more material to the metal community. And fans are definitely thankful to be getting another earful.

Synchronicity is a solid album, but it only falters in showcasing the band’s lack of progression. But since these are old songs, one can only ponder what effect a future third album of newly written material could induce.

Recommended Tracks:
In My Veins
Never
Become
Life to Dust
Signs


user ratings (53)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (4)
From the depths of extinction comes a release with depth, flair without forgetting just what it take...

gordodustin (3.5)
A solid follow up to their debut, but 'Synchronicity' is a little on the predictable side....


Comments:Add a Comment 
NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
January 16th 2013


7122 Comments


Reviews decent lacks a little depth though. You manage to describe the self titled more than this release.

CaptainDooRight
January 16th 2013


30239 Comments


pos

rating is closer to my thoughts

KjSwantko
January 16th 2013


9446 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah this is a low 3.5 for me too. Ideally I'd like to rate it about a 3.3

CK
January 16th 2013


4946 Comments


Sweet first review Mr. Boner

seedofnothing
January 17th 2013


3425 Comments


album stinks

KjSwantko
January 17th 2013


9446 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Holy shit, look it's Seedofnothing!

seedofnothing
January 17th 2013


3425 Comments


sup KJ jam some evergrey


KjSwantko
January 17th 2013


9446 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Already know the whole discog like the back of my dick; been on a Paradise Lost spree as of late.

seedofnothing
January 17th 2013


3425 Comments


ha cool



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy