Primus
Tales from the Punchbowl


4.5
superb

Review

by Tucker Best USER (6 Reviews)
January 16th, 2013 | 22 replies


Release Date: 1995 | Tracklist


Released in 1995 'Tales From The Punchbowl' is Primus delving deeper into the world of prog. For sure they had dabbled before with the weird and wonderful 'Pork Soda' but with dramatic inconsistencies. That is not to say that 'Pork Soda' wasn't a good album, but rather 'Tales From The Punchbowl' is a more polished record from a band that have honed their sound, resulting in Primus being in their prime.

As usual Les Claypool remains the driving force of the beast, but Larry 'Ler' LaLonde's guitar work really is nothing less than phenomenal here. It's his creativity that stands out for me and how well he compliments Les's bass lines. If someone came to me with some of the bass riffs on this album and asked me to write something for them I would've told them to *** off, but Ler just bats out lick after lick after lick.

If you've heard of Primus then you must've heard 'Wynona's Big Brown Beaver'. The lead single absolutely smashes it, it has it all, it's inventive, it carries a superb bass line, the guitar is intricate and the drums are as rock solid as Big Dave that works the door at your local nightclub. This is one of the rare moments on the album that they're bringing the funk metal a la 'Sailing The Seas Of Cheese' and 'Frizzle Fry'. It is refreshing to note, however, that this part of Primus isn't overly present here.

The rest of the album proves to be a delight. 'Professor Nutbutter's House Of Treats' is the owner of one of the finest tapping basslines I've ever heard and is a must for any fan of the instrument. 'Mrs Blaileen' sort of twins WBBB with it's funky rhythm section and disciplined guitar work and some serious lyrics from Les dealing with bullying at school until the point of exploding. Very rare indeed for primus. Southbound Pachyderm is a live favourite of the band and is where the album excels in proggyness painting various different moods which is different to Primus's usual powerhousing-their-way-through-a-song method and it is successful. This isn't only where the band step out of their comfort zone 'Over The Electric Grapevine', 'Glass Sandwich' and 'Del Davis Tree Farm' also show the band reaching out from under their rock and discovering more of the world. All of which contain very interesting movements to say the least.

This has become my favourite Primus record due to my grown love for Progressive Rock in my maturing. If you have been put off by Primus due to the metal side of their sound I emplore you to at least give this record a chance, you won't regret it.



Recent reviews by this author
The Smiths Meat Is MurderHank Crawford Tico Rico
Menahan Street Band Make the Road by WalkingHerbie Hancock Mr Hands
McLusky My Pain and Sadness is More Sad...
user ratings (446)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
ButteryBiscuitBass
January 16th 2013


10345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Kind of short and I'm not a great reviewer, but I love this album.

ButteryBiscuitBass
January 16th 2013


10345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

And I spelt implore wrong.

tempest--
January 16th 2013


14629 Comments


Good album, haven't listened to it in ages!

To be honest didn't find this review too interesting, but it's not 'bad' so no pos or neg.

MrElmo
January 16th 2013


1955 Comments


primus's ugliest art cover by a longshot

MrElmo
January 16th 2013


1955 Comments


na, at least frizzle fry and pork soda look like their made with real materials, this cover just looks like something made on
the internet in
4 minutes imo, antipop is also pretty ugly

ButteryBiscuitBass
January 16th 2013


10345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, anti-pop sucks.

MrElmo
January 16th 2013


1955 Comments


So i've heard, but never gave it a try, heard it was like nu-meta primus

ButteryBiscuitBass
January 16th 2013


10345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It is. A few good tunes on there - dirty drowning man in good.

omnipanzer
January 16th 2013


21660 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Of their first 4 LPs this is definitely my least favorite but it's definitely still good enough to want to have in your collection if you're a fan. There isn't anything wrong with your review but it just is lacking for content imo. Still it's not poorly written and I'd say pretty good for number 3. Have a POS sir.

ButteryBiscuitBass
January 16th 2013


10345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cheers Omni.

DrGonzo1937
January 16th 2013


6852 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not this high a score, but it is a great album! My fave is prob Pork Soda though.

Digging: Marilyn Manson - The Pale Emperor

ButteryBiscuitBass
January 16th 2013


10345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Pork Soda is a good record. Used too be obsessed with Primus man, seen 'em live three times and they were fucking awesome.

DrGonzo1937
January 16th 2013


6852 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'd go to one of their shows just for the limited run, gig only posters they make, those things are awesome.

ButteryBiscuitBass
January 16th 2013


10345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Didn't even notice them! Saw them at Brixton twice and the Royal Albert Hall. UK style.

CK
January 16th 2013


4952 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wynona's Big Brown Beaver rules. I do recall this being rather subpar in comparison to other Primus material though

Chortles
January 16th 2013


18100 Comments


can't believe i haven't listened to this band yet

Digging: Cocteau Twins - Treasure

DrGonzo1937
January 16th 2013


6852 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^

Never?!

DrGonzo1937
January 16th 2013


6852 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5


Didn't even notice them! Saw them at Brixton twice and the Royal Albert Hall. UK style.

Awh, mate, look them up. They look fantastic. Damn. They are some fine venues. Bet they were awesome.

Chortles
January 16th 2013


18100 Comments


i've heard a few songs and they sound right in my wheelhouse but i never checked an album

ButteryBiscuitBass
January 16th 2013


10345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Start with Frizzle Fry.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy