Gozu
The Fury Of A Patient Man


4.0
excellent

Review

by Greg Fisher STAFF
January 13th, 2013 | 74 replies


Release Date: 04/23/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Gozu pack a punch with their sophomore album delivering heavy rock that crushes with blistering riffs as much as shimmers with haunting melodies.

Gozu have already gained proper recognition for their debut Locust Season released three years ago. Bostonian quartet's expertly performed brand of stoner rock juxtaposed corpulent riffs with soulful melodies, manifesting its unflagging energy in stellar songwriting rather than unfocused jamming. Eagerly anticipated, The Fury Of A Patient Man follows suit and in the process lives up to its title derived from John Dryden's quote. Even though the foursome doesn't really ditch their inclination to tackle adventurous dynamics, the LP feels more accessible than their coveted first full-length packing an equally powerful punch.

The group's sound still revolves around Barry Spillberg's vibrant drumming and Doug Sherman's rollicking riffs which largely settle on permeating groove, but also make for various tempo changes. Aside from densely layered, monolithic onslaughts, there are moments on the album when his playing seems more restrained. “Charles Bronson Pinchot” may recall High On Fire in its relentless trash metal brutality, yet its second half drifts into contemplative atmospherics that have much more in common with post-metal. On the other hand, “Disco Related Injury” benefits from a sudden shift midway through trading bluesy guitar leads for ultra-thick sections with aplomb. The track also brims with soul-echoing vocals of Marc Gaffney, which range from ferocious to wrenchingly emotional. Gaff's penchant for melody has been evident previously, yet his contribution on the new album is often riddled with personal undertones and vulnerability which clearly distinguishes Gozu from their peers.

In comparison with the outfit's debut, the highlights on The Fury Of A Patient Man happen to be even more apparent. “Irish Dart Fight” is an absolute delight and the band's most representative track whose transition from a playful build-up to a blissful, wailing guitar-driven chorus is nothing short of perfect. “Salty Thump” stands out with its joyous, sleaze rock arrangement, being the most hook-laden track on the disc. In contrast, ominous “Ghost Wipe” is an exemplary exercise in releasing tension due to Gaff's infectiously unstable vocals giving way to Sherman's monstrous guitar leads and yet another unforgettable chorus. Although Gozu are at their best when they indulge themselves in short tunes based on massive hooks, they don't totally steer clear of experimentation. Lifted from their self-titled EP, “Traci Lords” contrasts their catchy style with distressing drone that also propels the record's expansive, instrumental closer.

The Fury Of A Patient Man raises the bar incredibly high for every notable stoner rock band that's planning to release an album this year. Its undeniable allure chiefly lies in the foursome's approach to songcraft that superbly balances blistering riffs with haunting melodies. Therefore, these songs are deemed to be embraced not only by ardent heavy rock fans, but also more mainstream listeners. Gozu are still in the course of perfecting and adding new elements to their style though. If they manage to make their presentation even more consistent next time, then their following record may be their magnum opus.




Recent reviews by this author
Wildbirds & Peacedrums RhythmDope Body Lifer
Sparky HumanimationLo-Pan Colossus
Kimbra The Golden EchoDog Fashion Disco Sweet Nothings
user ratings (36)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
greg84
Staff Reviewer
January 13th 2013


7433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The album is streaming over at this location:

http://smallstone.bandcamp.com/album/the-fury-of-a-patient-man

Digging: Wildbirds & Peacedrums - Rhythm

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
January 13th 2013


3493 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First track is amazing so far. Will listen to the rest.

Good review as always, have a pos. If you'd like more specific feedback just say so and I'll try to give you some.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
January 13th 2013


7433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks a bunch man.

Alternative summary: The power of the riff compels you.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
January 13th 2013


3493 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album on the whole is excellent.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
January 13th 2013


3483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The album is great. I like Signed, Epstein's Mom, Irish Dart Fight, Salty Thumb and Ghost Wipe most so far. The vocals are definitely a highlight, at various times they remind me of Josh Homme's voice. Great review, pos.

Digging: Brant Bjork - Black Flower Power

greg84
Staff Reviewer
January 13th 2013


7433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'd also add Disco Related Injury to your favorite tracks. Lol at goofy song titles... and thanks.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
January 13th 2013


7433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No... only stoner rock. You got me.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
January 13th 2013


4453 Comments


This is a really great review, Greg. I dont know this band so I'll have to check them out.

I'm always looking for good stoner bands.

WeepingBanana
January 13th 2013


10206 Comments


i'll keep this on my radar greg, you've yet to steer me wrong

Jethro42
January 13th 2013


12550 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've only heard couple of songs off of this album, and I liked it. Will listen to the rest. Locust Season is a helluva great album. Great review, Greg.

NightmareCinema16
January 13th 2013


2016 Comments


Returning the favor for all the good you gave me about The Light. Your review was great. Have a deserved POS.

Calc
January 13th 2013


12305 Comments


yay for punch out!!! references!!! good review btw

Digging: Mr. Oizo - The Church

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
January 14th 2013


3483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

How come they're releasing the record online for months before the physical one ? I'm assuming they're using the money made on these to press the CDs and Vinyls ?

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2013


21662 Comments


Great review as always greg, pos

Digging: Soen - Tellurian

greg84
Staff Reviewer
January 14th 2013


7433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys. I made some small edits.

@insomniac15:
I know that they've been using this strategy for a long time now. So, I guess it works for them just fine. You may be right about the reason. Though I hope some money from digital purchase goes directly to a band in question.


JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2013


21453 Comments


Great review man, pos'd.

Definitely gonna check this out.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
January 14th 2013


3483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well Small Stone is an independent label as far as I know. I guess they receive maybe half of the money ? Or at least more than the 10 % or so, big label bands usually get off the sales.

CaptainDooRight
January 14th 2013


30252 Comments


heard a couple tracks this morning and i dug the riffs, they truly were fun

pos'd

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2013


16114 Comments


stream sounding good, nice review pos

Digging: H.P. Lovecraft - H.P. Lovecraft II

greg84
Staff Reviewer
January 14th 2013


7433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad you're liking this guys. This definitely needs more exposure.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy