Half Moon Run
Dark Eyes


4.0
excellent

Review

by chambered99 USER (2 Reviews)
January 13th, 2013 | 38 replies | 3,378 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist


1 of 1 thought this review was well written

The needle in your skin won't bring you closer to God / I watch as your head turns full circle. As a recovering and relapsing drug addict, Dark Eyes begins as a reminder of all those war stories. Through beautifully woven acoustics and quite the memorable hook, "Full Circle" begins Half Moon Run's excellent (albeit non-overwhelming, though they do sound very layered for only a 3piece) debut slyly avoids mostly all modern indie pitfalls. By incorporating heartfelt folk melodies and quick little bursts of jammin', as well as vocal harmonies to die for, Dark Eyes manages to sound original and catchy. The marriage of spaced out indie rock/pop and folk sensibilities isn't anything new (Fleet Foxes do this kind of stuff, but not as atmospheric) yet Half Moon Run make it work with a sense of confidence in their hooks, everything delivered deliberately and with power. "Call Me In The Afternoon" wouldn't sound out of place on another fantastic Canadian album of 2012, Pop Friend's Earth To Friend, what with its sunny beauty being pummeled by emotion.

Ultimately the 2nd half of Dark Eyes is weak compared to the memorable, pungent 1st. The album is sawed in half by the soulful masterpiece in the middle: "Need It" is beautiful, its melodies soaring in the most subtlest way, its verses dripping in mood. "Drug You" also highlights the back-end, its constant pulsing sounding like the album is about out of gas and out of its mind. From there on Dark Eyes doesn't really surprise anymore, and the album comes to a screeching halt. There's some amazing music here though - a passionate voice, a deeply moody ride left in the dust of 2012.


user ratings (47)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Aziz STAFF (3.8)
Dark Eyes as a whole is an invigorating offering, with just the right balance of catchiness and atmo...


Comments:Add a Comment 
chambered99
January 13th 2013



780 Comments


this album is pretty cool man

Digging: Baton Rouge - Totem

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 13th 2013



5968 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

damn, was just putting the finishing touches on my review of this, lol

InbredJed
January 13th 2013



5601 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've heard these guys are great live, looking forward to seeing them. The album got a little repetitive so hoping for good things from the live show.

chambered99
January 14th 2013



780 Comments


man 1st half of this album rules

chambered99
January 14th 2013



780 Comments


BUT I REALLY WANNA MAKE HER MIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIINEEEEEEEEEEE



no more losing the waaaaaaaaarrrr.... KAAAREEENNNNN



if you breathe in, i'll breathe in, slowly let goooooooooooooooooo




man so many good parts on here

chambered99
January 15th 2013



780 Comments


i think a good amount of sputnik should hear this, there's some essential listening here

EaglesBecomeVultures
January 15th 2013



5180 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

^agreed

This needed a review good job mayne

Digging: Shabazz Palaces - Lese Majesty

EaglesBecomeVultures
January 15th 2013



5180 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Video for Call Me is freakin tripppppy

chambered99
January 15th 2013



780 Comments


drug you is so good



STILL A HEAD FULL OF HATEEEE STILL A HEAD FULL OF PRIIIIDEEEE

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 15th 2013



5968 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

chambered maybe it's time you bumped your rating a bit ;)

chambered99
January 15th 2013



780 Comments


can't get over how much i dislike the 2nd half sans drug you lol

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2013



5968 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

ya but it's good my nigga

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2013



5968 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

potsy i know you're about that upper echelon music hit me with some tyrannosaurus recs

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2013



5968 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

trying to dip into electronic stuff. all i've heard really is burial and this dude nicolas jaar. Also have Amon Tobin, The Avalanches, and Speedy J, but haven't listened to them yet. I'm pretty much a blank slate so mold me into whatever I guess

Also been listening to this band, some radiohead, and elliott smith lately too so yeah that too i spose

chambered99
January 16th 2013



780 Comments


yeah this is like the epitome of sowingseason




this is too not gay for sowing!

EaglesBecomeVultures
January 16th 2013



5180 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

yeah this is like the epitome of sowingseason/every other hipster on the fucking sites favorite kind of music ever

Yup this will blow up eventually
Lowered to 4 cause of second half, still really good`

chambered99
January 16th 2013



780 Comments


yessss

chambered99
January 16th 2013



780 Comments


but man drug you is so gr8

EaglesBecomeVultures
January 16th 2013



5180 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Drug You is easily my favorite. All my top 40 radio friends love Call Me In The Afternoon. So catchy. These guys have a pretty universal appeal. How have we all been sleeping since March?

chambered99
January 16th 2013



780 Comments


if you need it, then i need it
but only we'll know



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy