Tetsu Inoue
Ambiant Otaku


5.0
classic

Review

by Key USER (2 Reviews)
January 12th, 2013 | 138 replies


Release Date: 1994 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An extremely atmospheric and hypnotic affair that should appeal to any fan of ambient or electronic music.

Ambient music is arguably the most ideal form of background music. Calmly floating in the background, it is rarely obtrusive and highly atmospheric. That isn’t to say that an ambient album cannot be engaging or cannot be enjoyed with one’s full attention. For when done right, this style of music can absorb and transport any listener who is willing. One such album is Ambiant Otaku by Japanese electronic producer Tetsu Inoue. Released on Pete Namlook’s (who sadly passed away a couple of months prior to the writing of this review) fairly prolific FAX label in 1994, Ambiant Otaku is one of the most important releases on said label and perhaps the ambient genre at large.

While that may be a slightly bold claim to make, Inoue does his best to convince the listener it is the case throughout the 72 minute runtime of this album. The songs all surpass the 10 minute mark with ease and are largely beat-less despite this being an electronic album. The songs are seemingly crafted to put the listener in a trance, and there is plenty of repetition to aid this goal without the music ever becoming tedious. Ethereal synths swirl in and out of the listener’s grasp while they are lulled into a daze by the soothing nature of this album.

No track better embodies this description than the opener and perhaps the best track, ‘Karmic Light’. Opening with a gliding drone, the song envelops the listener with its tranquility before a pulsating and astral-sounding synth line gradually creeps its way out of obscurity and into the forefront. This line loops and loops until it becomes mesmeric. It all comes to near silence around halfway through with only what sounds like a breeze to keep the listener from breaking from their trance. This is but the administration of Inoue’s aural soporific, and it is throughout the rest of the album’s duration in which its effects are felt.

While the rest of the album retains its ethereal qualities, it diversifies in its sound. The songs are all quite different stylistically. ‘Low of Vibration’, a lullaby of sorts, has a quiet ringing sound and swells of bass that permeate it. ‘Holy Dance’, another stand out track is as the name hints at, an almost ritualistic song. Beginning with some heavily reverb-drowned chanting, it soon develops into the most involved track on this album. It also contains the most pronounced use of percussion found here (though it is still very minimal) as well, which adds to the tribal feel of the song.

In short, Ambiant Otaku is an extremely atmospheric album that should appeal to any fan of ambient or electronic music. While not an easy listen at 72 minutes, it will definitely satisfy those looking for music to get lost to.


user ratings (19)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 12th 2013


31611 Comments


Aaaaaand finally it gets reviewed

Digging: Theo Parrish - American Intelligence

foxblood
January 12th 2013


6797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

will listen because keyblade
good first review brotha

Keyblade
January 12th 2013


15378 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

finally got around to doing this. one of my favorite albums ever, and felt it needed a review. first review so any suggestions are welcome...though i doubt i'll be writing any more.

Digging: Fen - Carrion Skies

Keyblade
January 12th 2013


15378 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

oh shi that was quick, thanks fox.

dev i can't believe you didn't rev this dude

foxblood
January 12th 2013


6797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

excited to hear this. btw i just posted a review too you should read it dude:]

Keyblade
January 12th 2013


15378 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

aight reading now

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 12th 2013


21578 Comments


Nice review bro, pos'd.

Might check this out.

Digging: Foxes in Fiction - Ontario Gothic

Keyblade
January 12th 2013


15378 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

thanks man. you'd definitely dig this.

Havey
January 12th 2013


9801 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

love seeing unreviewed albums get reviewed, you should keep writing bro, this site could always use more writers covering untouched ground

Digging: Billie Holiday - Lady Day: The Best of Billie Holiday

Keyblade
January 12th 2013


15378 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

thanks man. i'll try to write a couple of more before my holiday is over.

CaptainDooRight
January 12th 2013


30333 Comments


best first review ever!

fantastic job, def gotta check this hard

sop

ThePac
January 12th 2013


219 Comments


great review, such an underrated little album...bought a few of inoue's over Xmas but still need to get this at some point

mindleviticus
January 12th 2013


8330 Comments


one of the best albums ever agreed a/a/a/a/a/a/a/a/a/a/a/a/a/a/a/a/a/a/a/a/a/a/a/a/a/a/

awesome review bro!

Keyblade
January 12th 2013


15378 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

thanks nigs

cap'n check this hard bro you'd dig fo sho

JustJoe
January 12th 2013


1399 Comments


Just /awesome/

*pos*

Review is quality. To the point, while giving me a good idea of the scope of sound on the album. Sounds intriguing. I would tell you that I'll check it out, but I digest music at a snail's pace, so, will listen to before I die.

GiaNXGX
January 12th 2013


4867 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

in the name of aleister crowley & thelemaic ritualsss!" a review for tetsu inoue am i high or something, i don't know really but i
do know i pressed the pos'd botton. :3

Keyblade
January 12th 2013


15378 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

oh wow thanks Joe. just awesome . that's all I ever wanted to accomplish with reviewing this...to get more people to hear it.

gian, thanks dude...but I'm not a fan of how you just lowered the average rating :@

JustJoe
January 13th 2013


1399 Comments


No probs, Key. It's just good to see a first review that's been well thought out. I've seen a good deal of the opposite.

Keyblade
January 13th 2013


15378 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

thanks dude. this was tough to write at first as i didn't know how to go about writing a review. sat on my ass for like an hour coming up with nothing lol.

mindleviticus
January 13th 2013


8330 Comments


pretty much what every review is like for me man ahaha



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy