Brave Bird
Maybe You, No One Else Worth It


4.0
excellent

Review

by Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (90 Reviews)
January 9th, 2013 | 61 replies


Release Date: 01/08/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It shows, you don't, care

What's cool about Brave Bird is they like to mess around, get jiggy with it, and get down to brass tacks. They like to play some twinkles, but they also like to get all indie on you sometimes and even break out the occasional post-rock section. On Maybe You, No One Else Worth It, Brave Bird prove that while having complete sentences for album titles may not be one of the band's strongest points, a penchant for diversity in songwriting certainly is.

A lot of emo these days seems to be either depressing all the time, or fun jam time stuff the whole way through. Brave Bird are pretty rad because of their ability to interweave these two styles, creating a much more cohesive sound in the process. Brave Bird have some really great and catchy twinkly math riffs like in "The Worst Things Happen To Me" and "Tired Enough," but the band is at their best when they take their time and flesh out their songs. Songs like "Thick Skin" and the title track have great build up song structures that take their time and then hit you hard with massive feels. The slow start to "Thick Skin" helps develop an atmosphere that explodes when the instruments start to come in fuller and is followed by an emotional chant of "It shows you don't care," which shows how much the band cares about paying off the tension that they just built up. Brave Bird's vocalist's style also helps diversify the band's sound. He sings in two distinct modes, his lower register which sounds a lot like Jesse Lacey from Brand New, and his upper register when he starts yelling that sounds a bit like Snowing style vocals. The singer's dual vocal attack perfectly fits the band's every changing shifts between slower softer parts and intense faster paced parts. Brave Bird do a seamless job of integrating both styles without the record feeling disjointed; the result of this cohesion is a well crafted and fun record that never loses focus.

Maybe You, No One Else Worth It features four out of five of the songs from the band's debut EP re-recorded style, which could easily be the album's downfall, but instead plays in its favor because they're just really good and have a lot of staying power. At first I felt cheated that the album only has six new songs, but then I remember that those other four songs ***ing rule and sound even better re-recorded. On the new and the old tracks ofMaybe You, No One Else Worth It Brave Bird do a fine job of building on and refining the sound of the band's debut EP, which is all one can ask for in a follow up album.



Recent reviews by this author
Tiny Moving Parts Pleasant LivingPrawn Kingfisher
Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) You Will Eventually Be ForgottenKyary Pamyu Pamyu Pikapika Fantajin
Brave Bird T-Minus Grand GestureOld Gray/Tiny Moving Parts Split
user ratings (117)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 9th 2013


50510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This was supposed to come out yesterday physically, but it got delayed so

http://www.altpress.com/features/entry/album_premiere_brave_bird_maybe_you_no_one_else_worth_it

Toondude10
January 9th 2013


4113 Comments


"At first I felt cheated that the album only has six new songs, but then I remember that those other four songs ***ing rule and sound even better re-recorded."

-You don't really need to say that


"A lot of emo these days seems to be either depressing all the time, or fun jam time stuff the whole way through."

-I'd put that somwhere on the first paragraph rather than on the second paragraph


And I found a couple of grammatical errors, but otherwise nice review.

Digging: Hey Rosetta! - Second Sight

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
January 9th 2013


19916 Comments


good review still gotta check these guys out

Digging: Dornenreich - Freiheit

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 9th 2013


50510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank you sire

ShitsofRain
January 9th 2013


5911 Comments


yeah man, was waiting for this review after i saw your comment on that news. i'm glad you did ;)

Digging: Round One to Round Five - 1993-99 Main Street Records

EaglesBecomeVultures
January 9th 2013


5253 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Is it just me or is there way too much emo coming out lately? The revival of the scene is saturating it.

Digging: Iceage - Plowing Into the Field of Love

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 9th 2013


50510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't mind, I'm lovin it

EaglesBecomeVultures
January 9th 2013


5253 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Treb did you ever check out Modern Baseball?

EaglesBecomeVultures
January 9th 2013


5253 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"The Worst Thing..." was good, will probably save this a while for when I'm really in the mood for some twinkles

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 9th 2013


50510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I have never heard of such band but I will check

minty901
January 9th 2013


2067 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great review. i love the EP. then the album comes out and im so happy that the EP songs are on it. then i realise that, actually, the new songs are even better for the most part. thick skin and the title track are amazing. love the closer. other than scared enough, all of the best songs are the new ones for me. and when the EP was so good already... man. this is close to a 4.5 and might move up soon for me.

tommygun
January 9th 2013


24988 Comments


cool review but yeah proofreading would help

coding error of album title in last paragraph

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 9th 2013


50510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ah damn thanks for the catch
I promise to proofread better from now on

LowStandards
January 9th 2013


154 Comments


Aw shit, I definitely have to check this out.

elephantREVOLUTION
January 10th 2013


2761 Comments


this sounds good

minty901
January 10th 2013


2067 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this > pinkerton

dimsim3478
January 10th 2013


5169 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Definitely one of the best records of the new wave of emo.

Also, Treb, check out Modern Baseball.

Digging: Kittyhawk - Hello, Again

treeqt.
January 10th 2013


9704 Comments


ann arbor is going strong

EaglesBecomeVultures
January 10th 2013


5253 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

dimsim you rule! someone needs to review that record.

pmmets07
January 10th 2013


5899 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the rerecorded tired enough is so good fahck



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy