Paradox
Tales of the Weird


3.5
great

Review

by Drew Tyler USER (68 Reviews)
January 9th, 2013 | 11 replies | 1,608 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A power/thrash metal band with much to offer, despite a few rough spots

5 of 5 thought this review was well written

Paradox, a veteran metal band hailing from Germany, fuses both thrash and power metal together, taking both the fist pumping energy and brutal aggression from the genres and putting it all into one cohesive album. There are several things to like about Paradox, whether it is the bands knack for creative and melodic guitar work, the technical drum patterns, or the band’s charismatic attitude itself. Riffs and solos are executed with exemplary talent and precision, and the album manages to strike a fine balance between melody and overall heaviness. Still, the album wilts in a couple places, namely the vocals. While certainly adequate, they may sound rather bland and average. Still they manage to hold your attention and aren't necessarily dreadful. The band also fails to expand on the their past efforts, with Paradox seemingly finding their comfort zone with their thrash/power metal style. The band basically clings to their roots here, playing their old brand of power thrash with little variation from it, so don't expect a whole lot of variety here. Still, this stands as one of the finer examples of genre-bending metal, as Paradox is effective in delivering high-intensity metal. This bands shares a lot in common with acts such as Firewind, Rage, and Iced Earth. Fans of either genre will find lots to be exited about here, and this may be a keeper.



Recent reviews by this author
Savatage Fight for the RockWitherscape The Inheritance
Blindead AbsenceArtillery Legions
Overkill I Hear BlackWhiplash Power and Pain
user ratings (12)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
related reviews

Heresy

Product of Imagination
recommended by reviewer
Firewind Few Against Many
Rage 21

Comments:Add a Comment 
ThrashTillDeath94
January 9th 2013



590 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Here's the first track off of the album

Tales of the Weird
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wWWsmGLrbUk

I'm trying a smaller review format, sticking to key points only, so let me know what you thought of
this.



TheNotrap
January 9th 2013



7954 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

What a coincidence, I'm jamming Paradox's Riot Squad right now.
Solid release in my opinion. Always loved Charly Steinhauer's songwriting.

Short but nice review man. I agree when you say "the album manages to strike a fine balance between melody and overall heaviness."

Have a pos.


Digging: Gazpacho - Demon

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
January 9th 2013



5895 Comments


From what I'm listening in the YouTube link provided - nearly the whole album is on YT - the rating is precise.

Good review, pos.

Digging: Electric Citizen - Sateen

ThrashTillDeath94
January 9th 2013



590 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah the album is pretty solid, I appreciate your responses.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
January 9th 2013



5895 Comments


I like this one much much better

The Downward Spiral - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZsbCvYBhELE

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
January 9th 2013



4372 Comments


Yeah this does sound pretty cool. The review is rather small and could use some more detail, i.e. song descriptions, but overall very informative and well-written. POS'd.

FrozenVain
January 9th 2013



2363 Comments


Wow, that's a short review. Was actually kinda planning on reviewing this, but pretty much solely for the reasons that they got Obscura's main guitarist.

Good review nonetheless.

ThrashTillDeath94
January 9th 2013



590 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think that i will stick to relatively smaller reviews than the 4-5 paragraphs i usually do, but i will be sure to include more detail in the future. Thanks for the responses.

CaptainDooRight
January 9th 2013



28296 Comments


Review is too 'unexplained' for my liking so I won't pos or neg

but good to see this reviewed nontheless.

Digging: IQ - The Road of Bones

bloc
January 9th 2013



34649 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Great band for sure, but I found this pretty disappointing. Maybe I'll check again it another time.

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

DrHouseSchuldiner
April 24th 2013



5643 Comments


Love these guys alot but this album has to be their weakest so far for me : (



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy