Skrillex
Leaving


1.5
very poor

Review

by fish CONTRIBUTOR (43 Reviews)
January 3rd, 2013 | 617 replies


Release Date: 01/02/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Leaving EP shows once and for all that Skrillex is no more remarkable than the existing plethora of wannabe producers

In some ways you can’t help but feel sorry for Sonny Moore. His career reminds me of that scene in The Simpsons where Sideshow Bob respectively steps on each one of the rakes collectively surrounding him, sending them splattering into his face. It seems that no matter what Sonny Moore does it only leads him to step further into the united mass of *** laid before him. Crowned at the top of the “brostep” mountain under the alias Skrillex has left him at the centre of ridicule and derision by many, perhaps unfairly, considering the whole dubstep v brostep v electro confusion was never really his fault anyway and he’s at least one of the more competent producers in relation to his scene as a whole. It may also be unfair to judge him based off of such a thrown together side-EP as Leaving considering he seems to be making some attempt at experimenting (his lack of which was always one of his most criticised traits). Consisting of only three songs, one of which is just a medley of his past big singles, even Sonny Moore himself admits they were put together “last minute”, before immediately being chucked up onto the internet for consumption. But if anything, if you truly hadn’t cottoned on by now, this EP reveals Skrillex for what he truly is.

“The Reason” is trapped between wanting to expand into new sonic territories and Skrillex’s old habits; the flashy electro wubs are still present but in restricting itself, the beat just plods along with nowhere else to go and the song feels purposeless. Maybe the focus is meant to be on the cut up vocal sample, but it’s stale, short and boring. As is the one on “Leaving” which, honestly, doesn’t sound that much different. The song as a whole will surely be seen as a poor Burial imitation, riddled with every cliché to have come from those trying to emulate the producer’s iconic sound. There are tepid synthesisers in the background trying to create a sinister vibe, an uninteresting attempt at a garage beat, a pitch shifted vocal sample trying to express some notion of sadness or longing and moody urban-themed artwork to accompany it all, which looks like someone took a quick picture of a nearby road and then fiddled with the contrast on photoshop. It all lays out just how amateurish Skrillex’s production actually is. Forgetting that he’s been rehashing the same ideas for the best part of 5 EPs now, when he does try to branch out into something ‘deeper’ he ends up a poor imitator fumbling together the basic parts. In his own territory Skrillex was king, but by attempting something which requires more time and talent (which he’s seemingly unwillingly, or unable, to give) than laser-infused party bangers he’s been exposed as nothing more than an unremarkable producer who exhausted his own simple ideas a long time ago.



Recent reviews by this author
JMSN †Pllajë†Say Lou Lou Better In The Dark
Sky Ferreira Night Time, My TimeM.I.A. Matangi
The Weeknd Kiss LandNK Nothing To Be Gained Here
user ratings (212)
Chart.
1.6
very poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 3rd 2013


21945 Comments


Unnecessary review?

yeah why not

bloc
January 3rd 2013


34848 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Was pretty surprised to see another release from this guy. Even more when I saw the album art...

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 3rd 2013


21945 Comments


I'm not even sure if this is meant to be on the same level as his other EPs or if it's just a stopgap-demo of sorts before he goes back to his normal sound

YoYoMancuso
January 3rd 2013


11080 Comments


Nice reference to Cape Feare

RickySpanish
January 3rd 2013


173 Comments


Can anyone tell me a dub step song that doesn't suck, I still can't figure out the hype.

RosaParks
January 3rd 2013


14908 Comments


shut up please

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 3rd 2013


21945 Comments


Can anyone tell me a dub step song that doesn't suck, I still can't figure out the hype.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dcm-cmmEnCY
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zWUWsS1J2TE
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L_ijVnXIWBk

those are 3 of my favourite

breakingthefragile
January 3rd 2013


2956 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

When was this released? And does anyone know of a stream where I can hear it?

Digging: Cathedrals - Cathedrals EP

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 3rd 2013


21945 Comments


it was released yesterday I think and it's on youtube
http://www.youtube.com/user/TheOfficialSkrillex

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
January 3rd 2013


3449 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Yeah the art doesn't actually have that damn logo taking up the entire thing for once

Will listen to this later

Tyrael
January 3rd 2013


20876 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Whats with the negs? Butthurt Skrillex fans?

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 3rd 2013


21945 Comments


happens with negative skrillex reviews

http://sputnikmusic.com/review/47167/Skrillex-Bangarang/

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
January 3rd 2013


28517 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

nope

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 3rd 2013


21945 Comments


not even gonna ask

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
January 3rd 2013


28517 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

lol yea cite a pizzamachine review to support your conspiracy theory of unjust negs

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 3rd 2013


21945 Comments


lol

Tyrael
January 3rd 2013


20876 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

He'll go away if you ignore him

futurezombiecop
January 3rd 2013


5 Comments


Skrillex definitely has really catchy and sweet melodies.
And i like those chopped vocals too. I enjoy those things way more than his WUBWUBs. But seriously, he released an ep with ONE new track with SIX f**kin remixes (Make It Bun Dem After Hours), and now he released new ep with only THREE tracks? (actually only TWO of 'em are new) srsly???

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
January 3rd 2013


6448 Comments


Nice writeup man!

What a hilarious way to start of a year of new releases.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
January 3rd 2013


28517 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

He'll go away if you ignore him


i don't know why you always feel the need to point this out. first of all this isn't a real place, so if he wants discussion about his review & I have a "my discussions" tab, the only way i really 'go away' is if people stop talking here.





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy