Elysian Blaze
Blood Geometry


4.0
excellent

Review

by Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (198 Reviews)
December 27th, 2012 | 47 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Australian blackened funeral doom metal that resonates along with other funeral doom records building on this one man band’s other works. Are you going to be swallowed or are you about to escape the rising water?

There will always be occult bands as well as bands that drudge along unheard of; take Noctis for example… this Australian doom band has some fine doom metal, one full-length and an EP but without publicity there sales and following will remain relatively small. Compare this to Elysian Blaze; a little more publicity and a few more records to boot, but the same pattern emerges. This one man funeral doom writer also shares a heritage from Australia but that doesn't really separate him from his peers and better acts. Now, keeping relatively unheard of might be in the design but how are people supposed to enjoy the music they don’t know about? The answer is simple – you the listener get told about it from others.

So here I am, writing, informing, and noting whatever. The point is Blood Geometry may not be the most recognisable album of 2012, but it is in fact a great listen. Overshadowed by heavyweights such as Coldworld, Ash Borer, Paysage D'Hiver, and Evoken (a couple of which released records this year and it’s to no surprise that Elysian Blaze’s Blood Geometry is over-looked) it’s easy to see that this is not going to be one of those ‘mainstream’ talked about releases. For all it’s worth many may listen to this once, and then move to some of those already mentioned bands. Blood Geometry is an album full of resonating guitar chords, eerie vocal groupings (as well as your typical black metal rasps) minimalistic drum patterns and an atmosphere combined with a slightly raw production to give ultimate effect on the drawn out passages and simplistic (usually three note) melody lines. Some may find the reverb to be over-the-top mainly because its use is prevalent throughout the album’s entity. Tracks like ‘The Temple Is Falling’ and ‘Pyramid of the Cold Son’ may present some excellently produced ideas, but they don’t really need the overbearing presence of reverb where wind instruments and smooth chanting create all the atmosphere required on these tracks.

The album itself clocks in at over two hours and takes some patience in order to suit through and whilst this could be said for most records in this genre this comes more appropriately as most other records still manage to come around the hour mark. Thankfully however Blood Geometry doesn’t feel like an overly long process. Tracks float through with more minimalistic clean tones than dark growls and highly distorted guitar chords. The production is raw enough to give the album merit without creating the ‘recorded in a tin can’ type of sound. It’s fitting that this record provides enough light sections to contrast with the dark, that’s of course when the distortion and wrung out guitars are used at all. At times the guitars, and drums become equally mute allowing for the clean minor tones to resonate with the listener. Picture an ocean on the edge of a beach and you’re all alone, let the tide take you – back and forth, in and out. The setting is tranquil, peaceful even with the crashing of waves. Close your eyes, you can feel night fall and suddenly the music takes on an eerie feel while remaining utterly peaceful. This imagery works for Elysian Blaze’s 2012 release, especially as the water begins to creep up the shore, around your ankles and above your neck line. The peace turns into haste and the need is dire to move before you suffocate under the tide.

Overall, Blood Geometry may not be the most listened to album of the genre and it certainly isn’t the best – but let the record take you, delve into your sub-conscious, tune out of the world and enjoy the multiple layers that is given to you. It may require a couple of listens to learn to appreciate the wild yet sedate shaping and a level of patience and self-control to sit through over two hours of music but Blood Geometry is an album worth taking the time to understand and honestly doesn’t have the feeling of a drawn out tedious listen. Almost every component of this record has a place (except for the matter of some over-bearing reverb) and adds positively as a whole upon the album’s completion. Whether you as a listener have heard this or not there will be something within that is sure to please. Give it a go, shut your eyes and let the tides take you.



Recent reviews by this author
Eden Circus MarulaIn Flames Siren Charms
Mastodon Once More 'Round the SunMayhem Esoteric Warfare
Architects Lost Forever // Lost TogetherKauan Pirut
user ratings (19)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
December 26th 2012


7127 Comments


Back to work. Sup sputnik? Also I'm taking on some constructice critism from theSpirit for a new writing style, tell me if it works yeah?

CaptainDooRight
December 26th 2012


30333 Comments


was wondering when someone was going to rev this, gd jb sir pos

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
December 26th 2012


7127 Comments


Thanks El Capitano.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
December 27th 2012


17228 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

love love LOVE this album

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
December 27th 2012


7127 Comments


Me too m/

Hoppip
December 27th 2012


136 Comments


Cool review, doesn't seem like my thing though. Also...two hours!?

MO
December 27th 2012


19068 Comments


ooo sounds good, nice review

GiaNXGX
December 27th 2012


4867 Comments


`Blood Of Ancients, Blood Of Hatred´ crushes.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
December 27th 2012


7127 Comments


Hes a big one.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
December 27th 2012


8940 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

look guys

reverb

The point is Blood Geometry may not be the most recognisable album of 2012, but it is in fact a great listen. Overshadowed by heavyweights such as Coldworld, Ash Borer, Paysage D'Hiver, and Evoken (a couple of which released records this year and it’s to no surprise that Elysian Blaze’s Blood Geometry is over-looked) it’s easy to see that this is not going to be one of those ‘mainstream’ talked about releases. For all it’s worth many may listen to this once, and then move to some of those already mentioned bands.


get rid of this, it's 100% pointless and irrelevant to the album. just seems like half-assed namedrops for the sake of namedrops.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
December 27th 2012


7127 Comments


That bits only pointless if thats the only part your reading.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
December 27th 2012


8940 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

the whole point is pretty pointless to begin with, no one cares that it's not that well known

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
December 27th 2012


7127 Comments


Noctus, i love you and all man, your great for recs and i value your opinion a lot but what your giving me is bias. Also what happened to that list of recs you wrre meant to shout me? I know your not here to cut ball sacks out but take a step back for me yeah?

Wizard
December 27th 2012


19641 Comments


DarkNoctus has this at a 2 so it must be good. I like the new writing style!!!

Digging: Ash Borer - Cold of Ages

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
December 27th 2012


8940 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Noctus, i love you and all man, your great for recs and i value your opinion a lot but what your giving me is bias. Also what happened to that list of recs you wrre meant to shout me? I know your not here to cut ball sacks out but take a step back for me yeah?


i'm not biased whatsoever, i just don't think people are interested about how or why something is overlooked when there isn't really a reason for that and namedropping irrelevant bands isn't helping anyone

i'm not trying to give you a hard time, regardless of whether i like this album or not i'm just being honest

also what reccs do you want? i could do that now [:

Eclecticist
December 27th 2012


3863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

His best album yet!

TheSpirit
December 27th 2012


18002 Comments


I kind of agree with Noctus. It doesn't really make all that much sense to say "hey these guys released good albums, so in turn, not as many people will talk about this". I've never listened to this band, but even mentioning them in the same breath Coldworld or Ash Borer doesn't really sit right because stylistically they are of no relation and therefore shouldn't really affect it's popularity (not that they would anyway). If the group remains in obscurity, that's the just luck of the band, nothing else really.

The production is raw enough to give the album merit without creating the ‘recorded in a tin can’ type of sound.


I don't really get what this means either. Are you saying that the only productions worth merit are ones that are raw?

The album itself clocks in at over two hours and takes some patience in order to suit through and whilst this could be said for most records in this genre this comes more appropriately as most other records still manage to come around the hour mark.


I get what you are saying, but the grammatical errors make this really hard to follow. Thought-wise for the most part I really enjoy the review, the execution is just a bit lacking.



Digging: The Speed of Sound in Seawater - Red Version

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
December 27th 2012


7127 Comments


Ill cut and polish guys.

Noctus, it was for doom atmospheric bm and similar.

GiaNXGX
December 27th 2012


4867 Comments


Noctus is too busy these dayz; get Wound Upon Wound's debut and if you're interested in something else ask me.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
December 27th 2012


8940 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

i'm a busy man :[



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy