Brant Bjork
Punk Rock Guilt


4.0
excellent

Review

by Raul Stanciu STAFF
December 26th, 2012 | 12 replies | 1,572 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Roll up a fat one, sit back and relax.

Releasing records at his own pace, Brant Bjork is a reliable artist for churning out a strong album whenever he feels like it. Since 1999's Jalamanta, the man has never come up with a disappointing release and Punk Rock Guilt is no different.

After a brief stint as Brant Bjork & The Bros. and an acoustic release mixing old and new tracks, Tres Dias, the man returns all by himself with another batch of really sweet tunes. With an analog production, he channels his 70s blues rock influences and brings out, one of his punchiest efforts to date. Punk Rock Guilt is nothing complicated, as his entire catalog takes pride in its simplicity and it's remarkable to see how strong the songs are given the fact there aren't usually more than two riffs going on per track.

The catchiest tunes are the title track and "Shocked By The Static". Each one has such a simple yet strong main riff, that the listener will be easily compelled to just sit back, relax and smoke a fat one. There's always a lead guitar complementing the rhythm with just a few notes that in the end add so much to the groove with so little. Also, the light, storytelling "Born To Rock" stretches past the 6 minute mark without any significant changes, yet the hypnotic main riff and Bjork's voice are the ones keeping the listener attentive, again showcasing how much can be done with sketchy instrumentation. Bjork created this niche in stoner rock almost all by himself and it really fits his personality like a glove. As easy as it seems it's hard for bands to recreate his ideas without often falling into a trap by adding unnecessary, derivative parts that complicate the songs with worse results.

Brant gets more expansive on the two lengthy jams "Lion One" and "Locked And Loaded", leaving room for plenty of solos and repeated rhythms, letting the listener to sit back and chill out. Over the course of a decade, he has learned when to let the guitars ring and when to keep things at a shorter length with excellent results, much like on the tight, funky "Dr. Special".

There's nothing much to say about Punk Rock Guilt, except the fact that it's a really simple, beautifully crafted album designed to be experienced with a clear mindset. The best moments come from the simplest ideas without even expecting them. So, whether you're taking the record on a drive out of town or just sitting at home, Punk Rock Guilt is a really accessible record for fans and newcomers in stoner/desert rock alike and a damn good one.



Recent reviews by this author
Causa Sui Pewt'r Sessions 3Karma To Burn Arch Stanton
Yawning Man Nomadic PursuitsSeven That Spells The Death And Resurrection Of Krautrock: IO
Tim Bowness Abandoned Dancehall DreamsWo Fat The Conjuring
user ratings (10)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2012



3366 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I always wanted to review this record and now I had the time to do it. Constructive criticism appreciated.

Punk Rock Guilt - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7zZNw2oR1Io
Shocked By The Static - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mvwJwjeiV90
Born To Rock (Official Video) - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KF9VYHMkWa4
Lion One - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tTVTF6ZB_K8
Dr. Special (live) - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-w6TMrynaX4

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2012



7361 Comments


His music has never really resonated with me, but this Fatso Jetson album you're recommending is ace.

Digging: 68 - In Humor and Sadness

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2012



3366 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think they go along pretty well. I enjoy Fatso Jetson a lot :D

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2012



7361 Comments


I saw them in concert last summer. Their new incarnation with Dino on 2nd guitar sounds massive.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2012



3366 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's really cool. I haven't managed to see them, but I'd really hope to catch them sometimes next year in Vienna or someplace they'll come to.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2012



3442 Comments


Really good review, I'd love to see you as a contrib/staff someday. Have a pos, and if you'd like more specific feedback just comment or something and I'll go through the review more seriously.

CaptainDooRight
December 26th 2012



28832 Comments


it's always hard for me to take a band seriously when they include genre names in their album titles but maybe ill give this a whirl

gd rev tho pos

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2012



3366 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man, I really appreciate it. I hope I'll make it as a contrib/staff one day haha. If you found any mistakes or anything that reads odd, you can tell me, I'll rewrite it.

Thanks Captain. I see your point, but I assure you there's nothing punk here. Bjork said it's more like the mentality of doing what you want on your own without some record company on your back telling you what to do.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2012



3442 Comments


All right, here goes then:

whenever he feels like

Should be "feels like it"

the man never came up with a disappointing release and Punk Rock Guilt makes no difference.

Somewhat poorly worded, maybe "has never come out with..." and "is no different"?

and brings out, again Brant playing all the instruments, one of his punchiest efforts to date.

You don't need the "again...instruments" part there, maybe put it in a different place or even talk about it in a separate sentence.

Punk Rock Guilt is nothing complicated, as his entire catalog takes pride in its simplicity and it's remarkable to see how strong the songs are given the fact there aren't usually more than two riffs going on per track.

This is why I love your writing. It's a very good sentence, albeit maybe slightly long, but that doesn't matter because it makes two points and then shuts up. Very good.

You don't really need the paragraph break between paragraphs three and four. Sure, I guess they're two separate parts of the album, but you might as well combine them (although that might be a bit of a long paragraph).

Being the man who created almost by himself this niche in stoner rock, fitting him like a glove, as easy as it seems it's hard for bands to recreate his ideas without often falling into that trap by adding unnecessary, derivative parts that complicate the songs with no explicit results.

1. Split this into two sentences. Something like "He's the man who...and it fits him like a glove" and "As easy as it might seem, it's surprisingly hard..."
2. "that trap" What trap? "the trap" would probably be better.
3. "Explicit results" makes no sense.

Again, this is a very solid review, these are just minor complaints about wording and stuff. Good job!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2012



3366 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks a lot. It really helped. Some of the things you pointed out seemed okay in my head when I wrote them down.

DrGunther
January 3rd 2013



184 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks for reviewing, wasn't aware of this, pos'd.

Only heard Jalamanta of his solo stuff and that was pretty good, so will check.

Yeah like Greg says, the Fatso Jetson rec is great, that's also got me interested.

Well worth checking out his Fu Manchu albums if you haven't heard them (Action is Go, King of the Road, Eatin' Dust).

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
January 4th 2013



3366 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks. Well this is more focused than Jalamanta, but it's a great record. You should check Saved By Magic or Gods And Goddesses too if you haven't already.
I like Fu Manchu (I like Eatin' Dust most so far) and Fatso Jetson too. They have some really strong records.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy