Low
Christmas


4.0
excellent

Review

by Adrian Hertzberg CONTRIBUTOR (31 Reviews)
December 25th, 2012 | 36 replies | 1,547 views


Release Date: 1999 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Ho ho ho, Merry.....line?

There’s nothing quite like the holiday season. Everybody is frantically running around in all directions, stressed and frivolously purchasing fun toys for family and friends, all supposedly in honour of Jesus Christ. What is meant to be a relaxing time of peace and love, more often than not turns into a frantic, unnerving, list of relatives to visit, errands to run, and things to organize.

The soundtrack to all this madness has traditionally been constructed from a playlist of jaunty, cheery, somehow winter-y songs. But Minnesota indie-rockers Low have an alternate, more fitting set of songs on offer with their Christmas EP. Instead of getting caught up in the fast-paced mayhem, Low offers the stressed holiday listener a moment of refuge from the madness. For years, they have been known as the figurehead of the ‘slowcore’ genre – a style that separated itself from the traditionally loud, fast, and aggressive grunge and alternative rock that was popular in the early 90s. Their music is generally slow, quiet, and based on clean electric guitar lines and a male/female vocal combination. Their approach to recording a Christmas album was quite simple, really. Low takes popular standards such as “Little Drummer Boy” and “Silent Night” and applies their distinct treatment to them. The songs are incredibly soothing and hard to not get completely immersed in, and the resulting listen is a welcome alternative to the hustle and bustle of late December. All of your favourite melodies and choruses are still present, they’re just nice and slow, inviting you to take a deep breath and relax.

The great thing about this album, however, is that it does not feel forced at all. In fact, it sounds like a completely natural piece of music. A lot of bands or artists release an album of Christmas covers without putting much thought towards creating something unique, and the record ends up sounding desperate and contrived. Listening to this EP, it seems strange that more bands have not attempted to capitalize on this approach to making holiday themed music. But then again, something about the Christmas EP (like most of their albums) gives the impression that only Low could have produced this distinct sound with such ease.

Whenever life gets too stressful or fast-paced, Low’s music always seem to have the answer. So why should the holidays be any different? If you need a moment of calm amidst the chaos this Christmas, but still want to remain festive, then Low have you covered.



Recent reviews by this author
Manchester Orchestra CopeRegina Spektor Songs
Run the Jewels Run the JewelsThe Dillinger Escape Plan One of Us Is the Killer
The National Trouble Will Find MeLaura Stevenson Wheel
user ratings (8)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Aids
Contributing Reviewer
December 25th 2012



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm pretty sure that some of these are originals but I just randomly felt compelled to write this and
pinched it out, so....yeah!

Merry Christmas Sputnik, listen to Low!

Digging: Ought - More Than Any Other Day

GiaNXGX
December 25th 2012



4867 Comments


[pos pos pos pos] Low is amazing, I can't wait to hear the new album.

Gyromania
December 25th 2012



15164 Comments


you should review more.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
December 25th 2012



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm planning to in 2013 (one of many quite cliche resolutions I will have). It's just a matter of motivation for me - it's hard to make myself write. I just scribbled this out in twenty minutes and it's not very informative, but whatever haha.

Gyromania
December 25th 2012



15164 Comments


lol i'm in the same boat right now. too often i feel like i'm forcing it, but i've also been pretty busy lately. i'll have a lot more time to write in january without school in the way.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
December 25th 2012



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah, I only write well when it comes naturally. If I ever try to force it to meet a deadline or something, it comes out feeling like, well, feeling like I have nothing to say about the album (see my review for Smoke Fairies' "Blood Speaks" for an example of this effect)

AStableReference
December 25th 2012



1844 Comments


Nice to see Low getting more attention around here.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
December 25th 2012



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think it's mainly just me, but yeah.

does no one care about my awesome Simpsons summary?

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
December 25th 2012



3330 Comments


Nice work, have a pos. I love how you can be so concise yet thorough - it's something I have to learn myself. If you'd like specific feedback and shit just say so and I'll go through more seriously.

Tyrael
December 25th 2012



20714 Comments


great work adrian

pos

slipnslide
December 25th 2012



2640 Comments


Christmas.

Brought to you by AIDS

Jash
December 25th 2012



4243 Comments


Good review man, if you get back on the reviewing train it'll probably inspire me to do the same

bungy
December 25th 2012



8843 Comments


nice one

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
December 25th 2012



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cheers everybody, eight votes (positive or negative) is more than I thought this would get.

Nice work, have a pos. I love how you can be so concise yet thorough - it's something I have to learn myself. If you'd like specific feedback and shit just say so and I'll go through more seriously.


thanks dude. I actually struggle with making my writing concise every time I try to produce something. This review had virtually no preparation and I told myself I would not ramble, so it came out short. I still get the feeling like I didn't say enough about the music, but I'm actively trying to write shorter reviews.

as for specific feedback, I mean, if there are some glaring issues that you want to point out then sure. but don't critique just for the sake of it, haha. thanks for reading anyway.

Pillow123
December 25th 2012



58 Comments


aids u finally like a good band

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
December 25th 2012



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I know right? La Dispute are so good, 5/5, glad you agree!

Pillow123
December 25th 2012



58 Comments


CAN I GET INTO HEAVEN IF I FUCK MYSELF

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
December 25th 2012



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh god I fucking hope so



wabbit
December 25th 2012



6975 Comments


Low- Christmas by Aids



you're killing it

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
December 25th 2012



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haha I was waiting for ^that comment



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy