Faith No More
The Real Thing


4.0
excellent

Review

by Rastapunk USER (28 Reviews)
December 21st, 2012 | 36 replies | 1,486 views


Release Date: 1989 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Faith No More's turning point, an excellent album made of the combination of Metal, Rock and a Funky touch.

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Faith No More started in 1981 as Faith No Man with bassist Billy Gould, drummer Mike Bordin, keyboardist Wade Worthington and vocalist Mike Morris. By the time they released The Real Thing in 1989, they had replaced vocalist Morris with Mike Patton, keyboardist Worthington with Roddy Bottum and guitarist Bowen with Jim Martin and became the band known as Faith No More. The Real Thing is said to be their career's first success, mostly because of Mike Patton's vocals.

This album is one of the most versatile metal album ever made. From aggressive metal to slow acoustic songs, Faith No More never stops rocking. The general atmosphere of the album is made by aggressive riffs, haunting keyboards and crazy vocals. Mike Patton is definitely making a difference on this album, he sings from a calm voice to an almost Death Metal growl. His aggressive side is shown on songs like “Surprise! You're Dead!” and “The Real Thing” while his calmer side is on “Edge Of The World”. Another great performance is the vocals on War Pigs. The band as whole did a very good job covering Black Sabbath but it almost feels like the song was made by Mike Patton.

The riffs on this album are both headbangers and relaxing, the best example can be heard on “Zombie Eaters” where it starts on an acoustic riff and ends up on a kind of metal version of Red Hot Chili Peppers rapping. The band as whole sounds really well, bass and drums work together to create the rhythm while the guitar, keyboards and voice give us the melody and the atmosphere. The perfect example would be the instrumental "Woodpecker from Mars" or “Epic”, the band's first selling single.Billy Gould stands out as the perfect bassist for this band, his line always fits the songs, whether it's rhythm bass on “Epic” or simple notes. The combination of drummer Mike Bordin and Billy Gould adds a lot of energy to a already very energetic album.

Although songs like “Underwater Love” and “The Morning After” are not as good as the others, they are far from fillers and all have something interesting to listen to whether it's the melody or the instruments. The Real Thing is definitely a step forward for Faith No More and probably their most important release.



Recent reviews by this author
Groundation Hebron GateKiller Be Killed Killer Be Killed
Butcher Babies GoliathHigh Tone Ekphrön
Aswad AswadBob Marley and The Wailers Survival
user ratings (1163)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
Meatplow (5)
...

Ficus (5)
...

Priestmetal (4)
...

Theleftside2 (5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Rastapunk
December 21st 2012



717 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Constructive criticism greatly appreciated

Inveigh
December 21st 2012



24800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Underwater Love and The Morning After are maybe my favorites from this

Rastapunk
December 21st 2012



717 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I prefer The Real Thing and Zombie Eaters personally

Zettel
December 21st 2012



582 Comments


One of the best CDs I own. I still listen to it and does not sound a bit old, except for Patton's childish vocals. "Underwater Love" and "The Morning After" are too personal faves. Well, I like the whole album.

Polyethylene
December 21st 2012



3054 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My least favourite Patton-led FNM album, but still rules

Digging: Casualties of Cool - Casualties of Cool

megadedhed
December 22nd 2012



93 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah, this is my favorite FnM album overall.

Rastapunk
December 22nd 2012



717 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the replies guys, any suggestion on how I can make better reviews?

Liam8VIII
December 23rd 2012



86 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review this, pos'd. Could have been a tad bit longer though. I agree with just about everything you say especially on the two tracks you pointed out as fillers. My favourite FNM album though is King For A Day, Fool For A Lifetime.

Rastapunk
December 26th 2012



717 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks, yup could have written a bit more I guess.

DrGonzo1937
December 26th 2012



5231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is brilliant. Love it! War Pigs cover is cool.

InbredJed
March 5th 2013



5612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cool review, awesome album!

I noticed one detail aside from the fact that you could have described the music a bit more. Faith No More ceased to be Faith No Man with the recruitment of Chuck Mosely. Chuck recorded the first 2 lp's and then was replaced by Patton in 1989 for the recording of TRT.

Rastapunk
March 5th 2013



717 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I got those details on wikipedia to be honest, they might be wrong... It says there that the very first lineup with Mike Morris did not record anything though.

Rastapunk
March 5th 2013



717 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the comment by the way

InbredJed
March 5th 2013



5612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

np dude, album rules. FNM is pretty much my favourite band, so I'm always happy to see a review for their stuff.

Mnstorm99
January 10th 2014



32 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Liked the review for this classic album. Some might argue this album is inferior to some of their others, but my 5/5 is based on both how great this album is and it's meaning to me.

BigHans
January 10th 2014



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

The Morning After is the best song ever

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
January 10th 2014



4891 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Decent review, could have described the album a bit better but I like reading short, concise reviews so nice work. "Surprise! You're Dead!" has always been a favorite off of here, although I do really like "Out of Nowhere" and "Woodpecker From Mars."

Digging: Integrity - Those Who Fear Tomorrow

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
January 10th 2014



4891 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

SUUUUUURPRISE
YERRRR DEAD!
HAHAHAHAHAHA
OPEN YER EYES!!!


zakalwe
January 10th 2014



6695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Best song ever

Digging: Bob Mould - Beauty & Ruin

InbredJed
January 10th 2014



5612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

IT'S NOT OVAAAYYET!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy