Blink-182
Dogs Eating Dogs


2.5
average

Review

by keyokeyo USER (1 Reviews)
December 20th, 2012 | 66 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A conservative melding of side projects that just manages to sustain anticipation for LP number seven.

It’s the height of the holiday season and blink-182 has given their independent, self-produced gift to us in the five track EP Dogs Eating Dogs. This release acts as a stepping stone between Neighborhoods and their next full-length, which is currently in the works. While it certainly has its ear-turning moments and is an enjoyable listen, the songs feel slightly held back and there is no wow-inducing content that will demand future playbacks. By the end, however, you are still left wondering what more they are capable of and if they will capitalize on the energy and independence they say leaving Interscope/DGC has given them.

Opener “When I Was Young” contains some sentimental (yet somewhat reproachful) lyrics recollecting on childhood, but is certainly nothing we haven’t already heard. The vocal melody and syncopation almost exactly mirrors that of Angels & Airwaves’ “Dry Your Eyes” – and this isn’t the only moment Dogs Eating Dogs sees the influence of members’ side projects hurdling through the speakers. Aside from Tom singing the refrain, the title track could very well camouflage itself anywhere on +44’s studio effort and go unnoticed. The broody, spacey intro to “Disaster” creates an engaging atmosphere that is immediately reminiscent of Angels and Airwaves’ latest releases, however the build up crescendos to nothing exciting, and the elementary lyrics make it a forgettable track. “Boxing Day” is an instrumentally well-constructed piece restrained by basic lyrics. (“Sad how far you ran, I’ll search this land, up through the clouds then back here”) “Pretty Little Girl” is a synth-laden track written by DeLonge for his wife. It comes off optimistic and sincere, and is the second highlight of the EP behind the title track. While the Yelawolf feature is certainly not from left field (given his appearance on Barker’s solo album), I wouldn’t have enlisted him as a closer being that his verse creates no more of a final impact than DeLonge could have on his own.

Unfortunately, the majority of the release comes off as reserved and vapid minding the band's past greatness, but the standout sections show that the trio still has the potential to create something substantial. Hoppus’ frantic vocal delivery paired with Barker’s percussive demonstration on “Dogs Eating Dogs” and DeLonge’s performance on “Pretty Little Girl” are sparks of vigor, but the release overall does not contain any home run swings. For this, we just may have to hold on a little while longer for the upcoming full length. So as you unwrap Mark, Tom, and Travis’ gift, know that it certainly isn't the comeback many hoped for, but don’t go reaching for the receipt just quite yet.


user ratings (301)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Cragorio (4)
The songs that would've completed Neighborhoods....

BenitoOfficial (4)
Sounds like Neighborhoods, but exceeds it....

tmagistrelli (2.5)
Neighborhoods Part II, not bad, just repeated....


Comments:Add a Comment 
keyokeyo
December 20th 2012


329 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

First review! Feedback is greatly appreciated. Was torn between a 2.5 and 3, but I think I went the right way.

Digging: Hiatus Kaiyote - By Fire

demigod!
December 20th 2012


45267 Comments


good review but the second paragraph could probably be split into 2, or at least shortened.

yeah i dont think im gonna bother with this, i heard that boxing day song and it was garbage


Digging: Black Sabbath - Master of Reality

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
December 20th 2012


20162 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"While it certainly has it’s ear-turning moments"

don't need the apostrophe on the its.

not bad for a first review but i disagree with the score. I may have to review this myself eventually

Digging: Johann Sebastian Bach - Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050

tmagistrelli
December 20th 2012


741 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Even though me and you had the same argument I'm gonna pos it cuz it's your first. Keep on writing!

newjunkaesthetic93
December 20th 2012


1871 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

This whole thing is just filler. It sounds like very little effort or thought went into it, they just wanted to record songs and release them without worrying about whether or not they sounded good.

lucasjcockcroft
December 20th 2012


3714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It just sounds so rushed
like these were all Neighborhoods B-sides and they just threw some extra production on them.

minty901
December 20th 2012


2084 Comments


i think people misremember old school blink. they were never amazing. they were fun, immature pop punk. not they're more mature pop punk. they haven't got worse. ok, fine, their self-titled was a diverse album tinged with progressive elements -- it was great -- but other than that their career has been nothing too spectacular. they're still on top form for me.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
December 20th 2012


3545 Comments


Good first review, have a pos. I can give more specific feedback if you'd like, but for now I'm on a mobile device so unless I know you want it I'll wait.

Digging: Nicki Minaj - The Pinkprint

keyokeyo
December 21st 2012


329 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks everybody. And aesthetic I agree this is the same quality as the filler material on their other albums.

keyokeyo
December 21st 2012


329 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

And Brostep yeah thanks no rush

conesmoke
December 21st 2012


5292 Comments


that would be such a shit name for an ep

conesmoke
December 21st 2012


5292 Comments


better, still not perfect

newjunkaesthetic93
December 21st 2012


1871 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

ep should be called, "we're not gonna ever put much effort into our music again so get over it."


Fixed that for you.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
December 21st 2012


20162 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

damnit snide not you too

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
December 21st 2012


20162 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah snides cool with me but i was just thinking the same thing lol

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
December 21st 2012


20162 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i don't hate anybody i might have to review this myself though

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
December 21st 2012


20162 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol makes me think of south park

bach
December 21st 2012


13152 Comments


Steamy ray vaughn

Digging: Mirroring - Foreign Body

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
December 21st 2012


20162 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i don't even think the production is that bad on this. Besides it's just an EP to tie us over until their next full length.

ViperAces
December 21st 2012


12504 Comments


woah i actually agree with andcas musically



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy