Forevermore
Sojourner


3.5
great

Review

by pizzamachine USER (211 Reviews)
December 19th, 2012 | 30 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A solid metalcore album with cool sounding riffs.

I could easily criticize the shit out of Forevermore for their loose song writing, over-reliance on breakdowns, and lisp-ridden lead singer, but I’ll give them a break. Despite their obvious shortcomings, Sojourner is a surprisingly fun metalcore album with more cool moments than a big budget action movie. While the band fail to escape clichés, Sojourner is a bright, exciting album that still provides plenty of brutal moments. It’s just a shame they didn't try something unique with their talents.

This album is overproduced in the best possible way, which is not only evident by the sharp guitars but the perfect sound levels. Every instrument is equally audible and crystal clear, but not in the squeaky clean gay way. Although the lead male vocalist tries to fuck things up with his toy shop voice box, there is thankfully more screaming in the album than singing. Speaking of which, the screams are pretty good; they complement the music nicely and subconsciously get you in the head banging mood.

The lead guitar is the center piece of the album and rightly so. On my first listen, I was impressed by the riffs which were simultaneously brutal and juicy. The guitar’s tone is of perfect density, sharpness, and melody, and whether or not you personally like the riffs, the tone ensures that they will always sound cool. The guitarist also seems to know a thing or two about ear-catching riffs that could never be described as boring, although once you get used to their style they may not impress as much. The djent style of lively, bouncy riffs is Forevermore’s addiction, and can anyone blame them? After all, they manage to make djent seem fresh and exciting, which is not an easy task.

Considering that the album is mainly reliant on its riffs, and the riffs rule, Sojourner does not disappoint. It’s a solid metalcore album only hindered by the band’s refusal to think outside the box. If you’re looking for an enjoyable metalcore album you have certainly found one, just don’t expect something ground breaking.



Recent reviews by this author
Jeremy Soule Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion SoundtrackRa Critical Mass
Gemini Syndrome LuxSirenia Perils of the Deep Blue
Rainbow (KR) Rainbow Syndrome Part. 2Part Myth Part Legend Almagest Codex
user ratings (46)
Chart.
3.5
great
related reviews

Moths And Rust

Comments:Add a Comment 
pizzamachine
December 19th 2012


12572 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dunno why, but I felt like reviewing something today. Sup?

FrozenVain
December 19th 2012


2483 Comments


Hello.

FrozenVain
December 19th 2012


2483 Comments


I don't like metalcore so I'll pass. Good review, pos

pizzamachine
December 19th 2012


12572 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks man.

Forevermore
December 19th 2012


131 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've been watching these guys for couple of years, hoping they get picked up by a record label. I think this album will finally make it happen.

bloc
December 19th 2012


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Damn this sounds pretty fun. I heard about it a few days ago but decided to skip over it, but some of the tracks on Youtube sound pretty cool. The screams sound great especially.

pizzamachine
December 19th 2012


12572 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Glad you like it! If you want to actually listen to it here's the stream:

http://forevermoreband.bandcamp.com/album/sojourner

bloc
December 19th 2012


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pssh, already downloaded this shit, fool!

pizzamachine
December 19th 2012


12572 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fool? You dare call your master a fool?! The insolence!

bloc
December 19th 2012


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think it was way back when you were kintups that we established you were and always will be the student? ;)

Vakarian12
December 19th 2012


3925 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

'Although the lead male vocalist tries to fuck things up with his toy shop voice box'

I lol'd

gonna bookmark this for later

Durrzo
December 19th 2012


1137 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I like this album a lot, clean vocals included.

Acanthus
December 20th 2012


9545 Comments


Review had far more paragraphs than I expected!

Digging: MO - No Mythologies To Follow

pizzamachine
December 20th 2012


12572 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Expect the unexpected!

AfterTheBreakdown
December 20th 2012


7173 Comments


might give this a shot.

Vakarian12
December 20th 2012


3925 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

well, just got through the album. only complaint is too many breakdowns. apart from that, t'was great. Better than I expected

pizzamachine
December 20th 2012


12572 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fun stuff eh?

Vakarian12
December 20th 2012


3925 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

indeed

Pebster49
December 22nd 2012


2993 Comments


Good review, checked out a song "Artifice". It was a very good track, will look further into this album soon.

4dwbiv4
December 24th 2012


4 Comments


never heard of them but the cool album cover and their band name made me listen to it. theyre pretty sick



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy