Menomena
Mines


4.5
superb

Review

by Sam Feldman's Rating USER (6 Reviews)
December 17th, 2012 | 13 replies | 667 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist


1 of 4 thought this review was well written

There's nothing conventional about Mines, an indie album for the ages that both sounds and feels like the new pinnacle for independent rock. Menomena sprawl these tracks out, dissolving them of all possibilities and routes which makes Mines exhilarating throughout, a maze inside a forest that has no beginning or end. Menomena seem more concerned with the journey than the destination, with epic, breathing tracks like "Oh Pretty Boy, You're Such A Big Boy" that feel like the definitive statement of our times. Brooding, epic, and huge, "Pretty Boy" encapsulates the overwhelming mood and dynamics of Mines, which shifts between the aforementioned crescendo-like track and tighter, more experimental numbers such as "Tithe" and "Killemall". The quirky nature of the sometimes random put-together sounds and notes at times makes Mines feel like an unnatural mess, but further delves reveal honest expression through those quirks, not gimmicks. "Lunchmeat" is a buffet of sound and instruments until the whole thing collapses into the guitar lick of the decade. Menomena have a knack for finding the big moment in their songs and "Lunchmeat" has its speaker-shake inducing peak of "sirens sang in monotone" and then the whole thing just explodes. Mines is full of these little life-affirming moments, surrounded by a haze of delight. While their new foray Moms is much, much tighter in its execution, Mines wins purely for the soul, the catharsis that comes from listening to one of the best albums of the past 5 years.



Recent reviews by this author
Acid Pauli mstCasey Veggies Customized Greatly Vol. 3
Art Imperial Cult Of LoveLovelock Burning Feeling
Japandroids Celebration Rock
user ratings (181)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Tyler Munro EMERITUS (4)
This album is almost as fun to listen to as it is to say the band's name ten times fast. Menomenamen...

Keelan H. EMERITUS (4.5)
Menomena have trimmed some of their quirkiness, but it isn’t a resignation so much as a process of...

related reviews

Moms

Friend And Foe

Comments:Add a Comment 
chambered49
December 17th 2012



1727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

hehe

alachlahol
December 17th 2012



7471 Comments


looks like we know what someones been listening to lately

chambered49
December 17th 2012



1727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

danny brown - xxx

Ponton
Emeritus
December 17th 2012



5784 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh yes

solongatlast
December 17th 2012



190 Comments


okay guess my review wasn't that short after all.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
December 17th 2012



10003 Comments


Cool review, Sam. Only thing I didn't like was you calling Menomena "independent rock." It's much more commonly known as indie, and I'm not even sure they're even the same thing.

Really though, write more! You could add a lot to this site.

Digging: Deniro Farrar - Rebirth

Gyromania
December 17th 2012



15199 Comments


um yeah, they're the same thing.

still prefer moms to this, but this is really good

Gyromania
December 17th 2012



15199 Comments


also sam c'mon, moms has plenty soul to it.

btw, there are some redundancies here:

Brooding, epic, and huge


Omaha
Staff Reviewer
December 17th 2012



10003 Comments


Well yeah, indie derived from independent. I just find the word choice strange is all

Gyromania
December 17th 2012



15199 Comments


idk, i think the context he used it in makes perfect sense. indie can be put before anything, so he's specifying the genre. i guess he could have said 'indie rock' but that's just shortform.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
December 17th 2012



10003 Comments


If indie rock and independent rock are the same thing, then why would 'independent rock' work better? 'Indie''s more well-known as a genre tag, and to me independent just sounds clunkier.

It's kind of like referring to the 'refrigerator' in your kitchen instead of just the fridge, you know? It isn't technically incorrect, just feels unnecessary is all.

Gyromania
December 17th 2012



15199 Comments


yeah i feel you. i just use 'indie' but it's not really a pet peeve of mine when people use the whole word, unless it's something ridiculous

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
December 17th 2012



10003 Comments


Yeah, I agree with you. The word's usage came across as more irksome to me than it really was.

And if anything, I liked the review to the point where I had to find something minor to think about. =]



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy