Itch
Manifesto - Part 1


1.5
very poor

Review

by fish CONTRIBUTOR (43 Reviews)
December 10th, 2012 | 54 replies | 5,561 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The issues at the heart of The King Blues’ demise continue to plague its dishonoured ex-frontman

In some ways it’s hard not to feel sorry for Jonny ‘Itch’ Fox, ex-vocalist of now defunct ska-punk band The King Blues. Facing allegations from all sides that leave his hard-fought-for reputation as a confrontational realist and voice-of-the-people in tatters, it’s only taken a few months for him to unveil his solo project and dish out the first produce for free. And it’s hard to deny his apparent dedication to the cause, because Itch’s political venom is just as evident on Manifesto Pt. 1: How To ***ing Rule At Life as ever. However, therein lays one of the fundamental problems; Itch’s lyrical content is seriously starting to feel extremely same-y and clichéd. There’s talk once more of “barricading” “roads”, the people being “ignore[d]” and the “poorest” getting ***ed over once again and unfortunately for Itch, it almost seems that no matter how sincere his message is at heart it won’t help the sense that it’s all reached a stagnation point; it’s all been rehashed and said before.

Maybe this wouldn't be such of a problem were it not for the actual music. In contrast to The King Blues’ accessible punk rock/ska sound, Itch cements a sound more akin the hip hop the band did occasionally hint at. But the problems that marred The King Blues’ final album, Long Live The Struggle, earlier this year have seeped into Itch’s own music too. It’s hard to take lyrics about taking to the streets in solidarity with the common man seriously when they’re accompanied with simplified, overproduced beats, gimmicky production and dull rapping. Musically, there seems to be little enthusiasm to create something cohesive, original or even interesting. "Bruises" is the only song containing elements of The King Blues' old ska sound and even then it's extremely tepid compared to some of the songs the band released. Instead, Manifesto Pt. 1 comes across as an exercise in self-indulgence- a vehicle for lyrical themes which are in danger of being left to fester into meaninglessness, with little more of substance.



Recent reviews by this author
JMSN †Pllajë†Say Lou Lou Better In The Dark
Sky Ferreira Night Time, My TimeM.I.A. Matangi
The Weeknd Kiss LandNK Nothing To Be Gained Here
user ratings (9)
Chart.
2.1
poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
fish.
Contributing Reviewer
December 10th 2012



21764 Comments


I created a band page and wrote a review to tell you all not to bother listening to a 14 minute piece
of music

i am a cunt

http://itchsmixes.com/
download link if you're interested

mitch91
December 10th 2012



409 Comments


Haha, I'm not sure if I'll give this a go- I really liked TKB but I know what you mean about Itch's lyrics getting grating.

I really don't like Bleach Blood either- the other band to come out of TKB. What a shame.

Digging: Frightened Rabbit - The Midnight Organ Fight

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
December 10th 2012



21764 Comments


hadn't even heard of them

InfamousGrouse
December 10th 2012



3299 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

BB is what Jamie is involved with post-TKB. They've got an EP out now or coming shortly, I'm unsure of which. Think they're retaining a bit more of the punk sound. I've had this downloaded for over a week but haven't given it any attention yet - your rating doesn't exactly encourage me though!

Digging: Gillian Welch - Revival

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
December 11th 2012



21764 Comments


if you didn't like long live the struggle i doubt you'd like this

InfamousGrouse
December 11th 2012



3299 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Yeah, most likely not. I just feel obliged to give it a go having followed TKB since about 2008.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
December 11th 2012



21764 Comments


tell me what you think

InfamousGrouse
December 11th 2012



3299 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Yeah, I generally agree with what you have said in the review: worn out lyrical themes too reminiscent of past work he's done. Really prevalent on London is Burning. I nearly laughed at Spooky Kids, it was terrible. I didn't think True was that bad until the sudden change in direction and I wanted to like Bruises but there's not enough interesting going on to permit me to.

InfamousGrouse
January 9th 2013



3299 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

So Itch is playing a surprisingly big venue for a first solo tour, that only two years ago Converge played with Kvelertak and Trap Them supporting. In fact, I saw TKB there. Considering he's only recorded four tracks I have no idea how he's intending to sell tickets. I guess it'll be him playing these tracks, reading some poetry and playing mellow TKB stuff. Sounds like a shit evening to me.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 9th 2013



21764 Comments


He's probably got some new songs written anyway

I've just had a reply on a youtube king blues video for a comment I posted 5 months ago.

No i'm pretty sure it doesn't say "disrespectful comments" at the top of the page you silly little person. If you don't like the music then fine, but don't try and force your opinion on others. At the end of the day I highly doubt you could do anything better.

I didn't even say anything about the music. I was just defending someone else's right to criticise it. Don't understand why these people get so defensive

InfamousGrouse
January 9th 2013



3299 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I suppose he is quite prolific at writing music. I actually really enjoyed TKB live, I can't see him holding anyone's attention solo because A) it's not as interesting to watch and B) the songs on this blow

I love when people pull the 'you couldn't do better yourself' argument into things. I personally couldn't play anywhere close to as well as Breaking Benjamin but that doesn't mean they don't suck.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 9th 2013



21764 Comments


I actually like the song as well. That argument really irritates me though. Especially when the song is complete shit anyway.

I think the general argument pisses me off more though. The idea that you're not allowed to criticise anything and that if you do, it's you forcing your opinion on others rather than them, the majority who then flood you with angry replies.

InfamousGrouse
January 9th 2013



3299 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Which one was it?

Fanboys defend at the end of the day. I used to get annoyed if people insulted music I liked when I was like thirteen. Then you grow up, cut your hair, take off your one dimensional glasses and accept that you were just being immature.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 9th 2013



21764 Comments


Holiday
it's not their best though

InfamousGrouse
January 9th 2013



3299 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Hahahahaha, damn, I hated that song. They played it live before it came out on Youtube/whatever and it got a really stale reaction. I remember seeing tonnes of criticism about it and laughed when I saw that it wasn't actually included on Punk and Poetry's tracklist. When 'listening to the man' precedes 'fuck the man'..

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 9th 2013



21764 Comments


it's better than most of Long Live The Struggle to be honest. Wasted Words is the lowest they've gone
to

but yeah the song is pretty bland overall and I don't get why some people so vehemently defend stuff
like it. As if these bands can do no wrong. Do they actually get offended that some people don't like
it?

InfamousGrouse
January 9th 2013



3299 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Wasted Words and This Is My Home. I can't even remember the rest of the record, those two were just stand-out terrible.

What'cha thinkin', little baaaastards... Ugh..

Yeah man, how can you hate on Itch Fox? He wears vests and snapbacks and skinny jeans and writes about the importance and relevance of punk to modern society and about the credit crunch and the BNP and how women should be treated, he can do no wrong... right?!


fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 9th 2013



21764 Comments


godamn these strict character limits

InfamousGrouse
January 9th 2013



3299 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

lol

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 9th 2013



21764 Comments


you liked a video ripping on Greenday's new album. Also a video that is anti-Mumford and Sons,
you liked that?

fuck you, bro. you are in no position to judge music or people.


these people are brilliant

add hypocrisy to that list



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy