Flogging Molly
Speed of Darkness


3.0
good

Review

by Aaron CONTRIBUTOR (110 Reviews)
December 8th, 2012 | 45 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The latest chapter in Flogging Molly's adventure has its moments, but is a change on the horizon?

Having released their breakthrough debut album Swagger well over 10 years ago, Flogging Molly have remained quite active since their inception. Their special blend of punk and folk as well as their large variety of instruments helps give them a unique sound. However there comes a time in nearly every band’s career when it’s time to make a change. Although the band did change things up a bit on their 2004 release Within a Mile of Home by taking on a more folk oriented sound, their latest effort shows us a band that seems to be doing nothing more than parodying themselves.

To be fair Flogging Molly’s latest offering Speed of Darkness isn’t a bad album, it just lacks the spark the band had on their first two releases or even their previous album Float. That’s not to say the album is without its moments however. It gets off to a great start with the energetic title track which is packed with many instruments from the fiddle to the electric guitar. Vocalist Dave King also sounds top notch in the song, which may remind the listener of some of his better work on the band’s exceptional first two albums. The problem is that as enjoyable as the song is, it suffers from the “been there, done that” formula. It sounds too similar to some of their other songs and although it’s catchy as hell and very upbeat it just lacks the originality the band used to be known for. Unfortunately, ‘Saints & Sinners’ is another standout that is held back by a feeling of redundancy.

Thankfully, not all the songs are as familiar sounding and the band does in fact throw some curve balls on Speed of Darkness. For those who are a sucker for the band’s slower songs, they’re in for a real treat with ‘The Cradle of Humankind.’ Not only is it the most beautiful song on the album, it’s one of the most impressive ballads the band has ever written. Instruments like the violin are played at the perfect pace, giving the song a somber and even poignant feeling. It doesn’t really sound like any of the other ballads the band has done which makes it a welcome surprise on the album. Another enjoyable track would be ‘A Prayer for me In Silence’ which contains King’s wife Bridget Regan on guest vocals. She’s been playing the fiddle and the tin whistle in the band ever since its formation, but with her gorgeous singing voice I can’t help but wonder why she isn’t used more often in the vocal department. She sounds fantastic alongside King and she even manages to steal the show with her lighthearted vocals making it one of the most enjoyable songs on the album.

As a whole Speed of Darkness is somewhat disappointing. Thankfully certain songs keep the album from becoming too stale, but others suggest it’s time for the band to go in a new direction for their next album. Their tale is far from over but I for one am interested to see how the next chapter unfolds. Hopefully they will be a bit more experimental next time around but Speed of Darkness is a decent enough album that has just enough good moments to justify its place in the story of Flogging Molly.



Recent reviews by this author
New Found Glory ResurrectionThe Residents Eskimo
Trvth ApproachingAgalloch The Serpent and the Sphere
The Byrds Mr. Tambourine ManSomos Temple of Plenty
user ratings (54)
Chart.
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
Christopher Geriak (3.5)
While these guys have been known for their great Irish-punk rock music, the more and more albums the...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2012


19965 Comments


boring ass friday so here's a review.

Sorry i can't link any songs cause i'm at work but for those who are interested the best songs are the cradle of humankind, speed of darkness, and a prayer for me in silence.

also any feedback to improve my writing is appreciated as always.

Digging: Grouper - Ruins

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2012


16060 Comments


seems nice rev but you mixing single and double quotes, pos

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2012


19965 Comments


My bad i'll fix that thanks mena

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2012


50697 Comments


Gotta write a review now

Digging: The Smith Street Band - Throw Me in the River

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2012


19965 Comments


haha go for it. did you finish alkaline trio's discog?

YoYoMancuso
December 7th 2012


11173 Comments


nice review man, pos'd

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2012


19965 Comments


thanks buddy

CaptainDooRight
December 7th 2012


30049 Comments


hey bro, a def chill read

you're a good writer man

pos

Digging: Fleurety - Min Tid Skal Komme

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2012


50697 Comments


got two more Alkaline Trio albums and one more Larry Arms

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2012


19965 Comments


@pestiferous, do it man i've liked you're reviews from what i've seen

@trebor, right on haha. damnesia will prolly be a bitch to review.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2012


19965 Comments


@captain,

thanks i appreciate it so are you bro

Calc
December 7th 2012


12255 Comments


" ‘The Cradle of Humankind.’ Not only is it the most beautiful songs on the album"

fix this.

also you spent a good 80% of the review talking about three songs, i can tell this is prolly because you've reviewed their whole discog and ran outta shit to say but yeah. it is of course well-written though

Cygnatti
December 7th 2012


21387 Comments


yeah that's why you don't review discogs :/

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2012


19965 Comments


@Calc, fix what? lol

Also I usually only talk about a few songs cause i don't want to write a track by track. I guess I could have added a paragraph about something else but i wrote this at work.

Calc
December 7th 2012


12255 Comments


Not only is it the most beautiful songs on the album"

don't tell me you can't see that lol

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2012


19965 Comments


ah of course i meant song haha thanks for catching that

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2012


19965 Comments


by the way, if I decide to edit the review and add something so it doesn't seem like i'm just talking about those songs what should i add? there's not much else to say about the other songs as they are more of the same so do you think I should talk about the production? lyrics? Not sure what people would rather read about lol

Calc
December 7th 2012


12255 Comments


im just sayin MOST of this review is about 3 songs. If that's what you want go for it, its written well like usual.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2012


19965 Comments


thanks man

Cygnatti
December 7th 2012


21387 Comments


I like to group certain albums together in either similar sounding-ness or in juxtaposition. Most of those aren't usually right next to each other. the easiest way to avoid a track by track is to mix up the order and simply either glaze over 2-4 songs or just ignore talking about them as a whole



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy