Alkaline Trio
Remains


4.0
excellent

Review

by Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (90 Reviews)
December 6th, 2012 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Alkaline Trio further cement their legacy as pop-punk legends with the release of their second top notch b-sides album Remains

It was a pretty incredible feat when Alkaline Trio dropped a b-sides album that was on par with their work of the time with the release of Alkaline Trio way back in 2000. It was even more impressive when they released Remains, a b-sides album that's even better than the band's releases from around that time. Remains flows even better and is less all over the place than Crimson! Alkaline Trio outdid themselves with another stellar b-sides album which stands as an essential record for any pop-punk fan.

The songs on Remains were recorded between 2000 to 2006 which gives the record some nice variety, with songs coming from different periods of the band's sound. Remains sounds like the middle ground between old school and new school Trio records, which lets any type of Trio fan enjoy the *** out of it. With so much variety there's bound to be a few duds right? Well sort of, the bigger problem is that at 19 tracks, Remains can be a chore to sit through. It's not that there are any bad tracks per say, it's just that burning through so many pop-punk songs in a row can be rather tiring. Because of the length, Remains is a record that is best enjoyed over the span of a couple sittings.

The most impressive aspect of Remains is how many classic Trio cuts it has. I'd take tracks like "Hell Yes," "Fine Without You," "Queen Of Pain," "Warbrain, "and "Old School Reasons" over pretty much any track off of Crimson. And don't even get me started on tracks like "Jaked On Green Beers," with its incredibly fast and tight drumming; and of course "Dead End Road," with its heavenly octave chords and Matt Skiba's signature morbid yet hilarious lyrics. Overall, Remains is surprisingly the band's most balanced record and has everything an Alkaline Trio fan could want: alcohol soaked depressing tunes disguised as upbeat pop-punk tunes.



Recent reviews by this author
Tiny Moving Parts Pleasant LivingPrawn Kingfisher
Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) You Will Eventually Be ForgottenKyary Pamyu Pamyu Pikapika Fantajin
Brave Bird T-Minus Grand GestureOld Gray/Tiny Moving Parts Split
user ratings (174)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Richard Craig (4)
...

Ben Greenbank (3.5)
An excellent collection of covers and b-sides from the legendary pop punk trio. Containing many memo...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2012


50510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm off to Del Taco, I expect at least 20 comments when I get back
This is a perfect Alk3 starter album btw

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2012


50510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

20 comments already, wow thanks guys

dicksucker40000
December 5th 2012


5 Comments


yeah dude no problem

Ponton
Emeritus
December 5th 2012


5803 Comments


sadie shes crazy shes crazy shes crazy shes she she she she she

Ponton
Emeritus
December 5th 2012


5803 Comments


I DONT CARE ABOUT NAVIGATION YOUTUBE LET ME LISTEN TO THE FUCKIN SONG

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2012


19916 Comments


hey i have this album.

good review man you're catching up to me.

Digging: Dornenreich - Freiheit

YoYoMancuso
December 5th 2012


11149 Comments


^ LOL


review's solid

tommygun
December 5th 2012


24988 Comments


what the fuck is going on in here

tommygun
December 5th 2012


24988 Comments


review is ok, you might wanna be a bit more thorough with your proofreading in future though

I didn't pos or neg

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2012


16056 Comments


"burning through so many pop-punk songs in a row can be rather tiring"

I'm tired after 2 of em.
solid rev tho posed

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

MalleusMaleficarum
December 5th 2012


14350 Comments


i remember listening to the song Warbrain a lot in high school

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2012


50510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I didn't have time to proofread sorry, Del Taco was calling
I've ran out of things to say about Alkaline Trio anyway to be honest


Cygnatti
December 5th 2012


21353 Comments


trebs' reviews deserve better than those bad troll accounts

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
December 5th 2012


28639 Comments


sadie g she's crazy see

Digging: Jessie Ware - Tough Love

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2012


50510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lacks what the white girls say?
I never understand that last part, I don't think anybody knows

demigod!
December 6th 2012


44715 Comments


nice review man, powering through the final ten like its your job

never cared for this band

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 6th 2012


50510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gotta finish by the end of the year

demigod!
December 6th 2012


44715 Comments


should review a modest mouse release

any modest mouse release

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 6th 2012


50510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If they release something new

NagasakiBomber
December 6th 2012


121 Comments


ONly heard one album by these guys and dont remember it well enough but i might give them another go. This was a really good review, so mad props for that. Take a pos.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy