Django Django
Django Django


4.0
excellent

Review

by derho USER (31 Reviews)
December 5th, 2012 | 20 replies | 2,656 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Straight out of nowhere! The greatest thing!

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

And lo from the hills of old England descended a band of heroes. They sang with all the youthful jubilation of a boys choir, and they were called Django x 2. With rabid precision they tapped their keys and plucked their strings, and lo the desert was replenished.

Okay, overkill? Maybe. At the very least they’ve given music nuts something clear to look forward to. I mean can you believe this is a debut? Sure, the band’s been around since 2009, and their art school credentials tempt the eager fanboy to slap an art-pop label on them, implying some underlying musical intellectualism that could inform such seemingly instantaneous success. But art school does not beget art-pop, and this album is still a feat.

It’s clear where the material came from, but unlike the chunky been-there stews being dished out left and right by today’s floundering bands, “Django Django” is a unique brew all of its own; the fruits of a painstaking distillation process. Influences are felt in spirit rather than in melody. Hats off to Talking Heads and subsequent afro-freaks for paving the way, but they’re not trying to rewrite Once in a Lifetime.

More than anything perhaps, this album has all the semblances of a decidedly British masterpiece (think “Exile on Main Street”, “Perfect Prescription”, “Screamadelica”). Tough to crack, imitating life to the point where it almost seems ordinary, but somehow striking in all the right ways. The lyrics sketch spent landscapes and empty expanses, melding the grandeur of the natural world with the mundanity of personal struggles. But there’s always redemption. Couple all this, and some pretty consistently clever wordplay, with the guys' playful harmonies and you've got something at worst fun and at best awe-inspiring.

Herein lies a menagerie of sensory stimulants large enough to keep you browsing for a whole pleasant afternoon. This record prods you and pets you and kicks you to the ever-crackling beat, typified by the addicting "Zumm Zumm". It chimes and roars and echoes like an ancient tomb ("Firewater"). As a whole, it feels like a kind of a trippy-ish bubble bath. Some synths pop and others engulf you, but all fall into place to form something arresting. The attention to detail and obsessive embellishments come at you like the work of veterans, but these guys are just getting started. It’s less trailblazing than it is summit chasing, scrambling beautifully for the pinnacle of golden-tinged, gloriously structured psychedelia.

The most wonderful thing about this album is that Django Django clearly don’t feel that they’re better than you. This is a team effort, and they want you to come along. If acclaim like this doesn’t swell their heads, this band is gonna do things. They could be big. And when that day comes, this album will no doubt be viewed as important, even by those who pan it now.

8.5/10



Recent reviews by this author
Talking Heads Remain in LightYouth Lagoon Wondrous Bughouse
The Men New MoonParquet Courts Light Up Gold
Foxygen We Are The 21st Century Ambassadors...The Pop Group Y
user ratings (77)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Skooled (4.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
menawati
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2012



15878 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

interested, any stream ?

Digging: Nemrud - Journey of the Shaman

derho
December 5th 2012



307 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

http://prettymuchamazing.com/reviews/albumreviews/djangodjango/2

It's definitely worth your time.

InfamousGrouse
December 5th 2012



3296 Comments


i think i've seen these guys before at a festival

have no memory of their set, though

Digging: Gillian Welch - Revival

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2012



15878 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the intro annoyed the fuck out of me but it's getting quite entertaining after that

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2012



15878 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh that wasnt the intro it was the stupid website opening another page with some awful shit playing
over the top of it

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2012



7322 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good review man. One problem - they're Scottish.

The record has its moments for sure (Default in particular) but as a whole I can't help but feel it's been wildly overhyped.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2012



15878 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

listening to Default atm, really boppy and fun

derho
December 5th 2012



307 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

For me the slow moments were the rarity. I'll be enjoying this one well into 2013 or at least until they put another out.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2012



15878 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

some filler on there, Default is compulsive though and a lot of it is fun, pos review bcos got me to listen

derho
December 5th 2012



307 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Some struck me as filler as well, which drew me to the Exile on Main St. comparison when it started to suck me in more and more with subsequent listens. Thanks

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
December 5th 2012



1983 Comments


Well-written. This album ain't half bad. Kind of reminds me of Merriweather Post Pavillion with its tribal-influenced electronics.

Digging: Rx Bandits - Gemini, Her Majesty

klap
Staff Reviewer
December 5th 2012



10306 Comments


i think the singer (or some other member) is the younger brother to one of the guys from beta band

Digging: Literature - Chorus

derho
December 5th 2012



307 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah I force myself to not read reviews before I write my own and in my post-review studies pretty much every review I read mentioned the beta band family relation haha.

derho
December 5th 2012



307 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

And yeah I had animal collective in there and took em out.

sjp55555
January 1st 2013



85 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Picked this up dirt cheap on Amazon.com. I like how they use their percussion/drums/electronics.

oltnabrick
January 1st 2013



30520 Comments


Unchained Unchained

Digging: M-O-R-S-E - Empty (Extended)

Rubvo
January 2nd 2013



22 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fifth time i hear this album, it's still very entertaining.

Cygnatti
February 20th 2013



21349 Comments


I think I'd probably like this

Ziio
February 23rd 2013



55 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Probably one of the best albums I listened to last year. So many great moments. Hope to see and hear more from these guys in the future.

aKidNamedConnor41
March 18th 2013



24 Comments


"If acclaim like this doesn't swell their heads, this band is gonna do things."
Interesting because a buddy of mine ran into them in a bar in Seattle tonight. He has the worst music taste, but he had nothing but good things to say about these guys. And the best part? They put him down on the VIP guest list to their show on Tuesday and my friend got me on the list too. So their heads definitely haven't swelled enough to stop being super cool dudes.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy