Aim For The Sunrise
No Kings, No Chains


3.5
great

Review

by Flut USER (17 Reviews)
December 3rd, 2012 | 25 replies | 1,599 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist


5 of 5 thought this review was well written

Aim For The Sunrise improve the overall song writing, and try to add some different things to their sound. But not enough to make this necessarily better than their EP. But the addition of ambient piano/keyboard that makes its way under the mix here and there, the adequate improvement with musicianship and vocals work greatly.

The guitar tone is a lot sonically bigger, more crunch and a lot thicker. Though it can almost sound a bit djenty. But its not overproduced enough for that. The guitar still still does the same it did on the EP, melodic melodeath riffs with melodic chord section. But this time around the heavy as gotten more groove, and less chuggy. Making transitions between parts of the songs a lot more smoother. In "Golden" it starts off with slower melodic leads, going into a more straight forward riff with the harsh and clean going back and forth for a little. It has a great clean sung chorus that is pretty passionate, and is one of the more better written songs. But for some of the songs that come at the end the heavier parts get samey and can be boring. The song writing still needs to improve, or maybe if they tried more different things to keep it fresh it could have worked more.

The addition of ambient piano/keyboards are pretty solid. Sometimes they follow the leads when the guitar plays octaves or in a chorus soaring a long with the cleans or a few random fills here and there. They don't at all annoy or take away from the experience.

The vocalist this time around are a lot more defined. The harsh vocals are more natural sounding, less forced. Sure its not as raw as the EP but its easier to listen too. The clean vocals also found room to improve, and they don't always find them selves on every chorus. Sometimes the cleans are mixed with chanting vocals underneath the mix, and sounds good. Making them a lot less boring and better when they actually appear. The production surpasses the EP. The mix is a lot more cleans with everything being layered a lot better. The guitars and drums go right together perfectly with a loud enough bass/low end to complete and give it a heavier tone.

So for the most part Aim For The Sunrise has improved greatly, but not enough to do exceed their EP or most of the other bands in the genre. But this is still a great listen, its passionate and ambitious.



Recent reviews by this author
HammerFall Glory to the BraveMisery Signals Mirrors
Misery Signals Of Malice and the Magnum HeartMisery Signals Misery Signals
Aim For The Sunrise The Bigger Picture; HopeAblaze My Sorrow Anger Hate and Fury
user ratings (11)
Chart.
3
good
related reviews

The Bigger Picture; Hope

Comments:Add a Comment 
Fluttertrank
December 3rd 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

So yeah, a review. hope its ok.

Fluttertrank
December 3rd 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"I'd suggest singling out some specific songs to highlight as examples"

yeah i might do so for 2 of them.

and idk im not that picky so idk what you would think of it. here are 2 of my favorite songs on the album, check em out if you want to.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8fQTX3L1Ij0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5VRwPJRl5qQ

Fluttertrank
December 3rd 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

also thanks man.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
December 3rd 2012



4409 Comments


Good review, Flutter. It's a little short, but you give a good overview of what this album is about and what it sounds. So have a
POS!

Also I think you should combine those last 3 paragraphs because it looks kind of sloppy to have them spread out like that (this
is just my opinion of course.)

Anyway, good work man.

Digging: Shabazz Palaces - Lese Majesty

Fluttertrank
December 3rd 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hmm... ok and thanks man.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
December 3rd 2012



4409 Comments


It's just my advice, but it also works the way you have it. Anyway, good review, man. It's nice to see you continuing to write.

Fluttertrank
December 3rd 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah i mixed 2 of the paragraphs instead all of them idk it works. i suppose haha.

"good review, man. It's nice to see you continuing to write."

yeah? well hey thanks man, i appreciate it.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
December 3rd 2012



4409 Comments


No worries. We don't really talk much but I've always liked you as a user.

Fluttertrank
December 3rd 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah we haven't, but i like you to. Youre pretty chill it seems.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
December 3rd 2012



4409 Comments


I try to be, and thanks. I'll see you around, mate.

Fluttertrank
December 3rd 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah man, see ya.

FrozenVain
December 3rd 2012



2404 Comments


this is decent...
good review pos

Fluttertrank
December 3rd 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks frozen.

TheMoreira
December 3rd 2012



7173 Comments


Good review mate. Pos'd

I suggest you re-read it closely though, there are some grammatical errors here and there. Im sure you'll figure


Digging: Ulcerate - The Destroyers of All

Fluttertrank
December 3rd 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks man and will do.

FrozenVain
December 3rd 2012



2404 Comments


It's cool that some people (like yourself) write reviews for less well known bands so that they get some attention. Kodus for that and I hope that you will make more similar reviews.

Funeralopolis
December 3rd 2012



11213 Comments


dem sentence fragments

Digging: Banks - Goddess

TheMoreira
December 3rd 2012



7173 Comments


"It's cool that some people (like yourself) write reviews for less well known bands so that they get some attention. Kodus for that and I hope that you will make more similar reviews."

Agreed, cheers to that

J0ckstrapsFTW
December 3rd 2012



3652 Comments


I really liked their other album you reviewed Flutter. How does this one compare cuz the rating is the
same for both

AfterTheBreakdown
December 3rd 2012



7108 Comments


hate the cleans on this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy