Thee Silver Mount Zion
Horses in the Sky


5.0
classic

Review

by ShadowAmI USER (6 Reviews)
December 1st, 2012 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A precise formation of ideas.

A Silver Mount Zion is one of the few musical projects that rose out of the ashes of the paramount Godspeed You! Black Emperor, formed by their ringleader Efrim Menuck. As such, they can never escape the criticism that they are not Godspeed You! Black Emperor. And, of course, this is true. They are a completely different project, with a completely different sound, and a completely different intention. Godspeed You Black Emperor is about creating crushingly pure atmosphere; each of their albums represents some emotion that is indescribable except through their music. Their music is considered by many to be the perfect form of this. Conversely, A Silver Mt. Zion exists in the realm of emotion relatable through real human communication. Their music includes Menuck’s vocals, which are grating to most, and passionate and beautiful to some. Their music, at least on Horses in the Sky, is given as an outcry. This music is about belief and change.

The album Horses in the Sky is a political one. It is not political in any specific sense, as in it does not refer to any modern or exact political issues, but it is political in that it represents one man’s discomfort with the society in which he lives. Listening to Horses in the Sky I imagine a countercultural movement. I imagine a group of people, representative of whatever portion of society will always perpetuate change, sharing their thoughts and feelings because it is a thing that they need to do in order to feel settled. People will listen to this music and feel impassioned, just as I do. I feel the power of music itself as a function to create change.

Musically, this album is perfect. Its instrumental arrangement is unconventional. The instruments involved, I can assume, are what they are because the members of the band believed they were the right media to use, without thinking of standards or traditions. This music is not overcomplicated in any sense. In fact, it is almost minimalistic. Instruments and sounds layer in as they are necessary and filter out as they become unnecessary. Nothing presented here is senseless. This music is standalone, in that it cannot be confined by the constraints of any genre or defined with words.

I believe this transcends music itself in a lot of ways, and may in the future be regarded as a cultural artifact, although that might be a bit pretentious. I would urge anybody to listen to this, but it is important to try not to compare it to Godspeed You! Black Emperor, unless you are considering it as a progression in Efrim Menuck’s ideas. To get a real feel for this album you will have to listen to it for yourself, of course, as all I can really say about it is that it is sincere.



Recent reviews by this author
AFI Answer That and Stay FashionableVictor! Fix the Sun Retracable Claws
Cinemechanica The Martial ArtsBroken Bells Broken Bells
Touche Amore Touche Amore
user ratings (177)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
biografiend (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
ShadowAmI
December 1st 2012


1542 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

First review in a really long time.

ThunderNeutral21
December 1st 2012


3864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

born is better

ShadowAmI
December 1st 2012


1542 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

All of their albums are good IMO. I just like this one the most. It seems to be the most meaningful

ShadowAmI
December 1st 2012


1542 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

bump (lol)

klap
Staff Reviewer
December 1st 2012


10495 Comments


"Their music is harbored by many to be the perfect form of this. "

considered would be better here than harbored

Digging: Caribou - Our Love

ShadowAmI
December 1st 2012


1542 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

thanks, but i don't really see why

saris340
December 1st 2012


34 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

God Bless Our Dead Marines is a masterpiece. One of the best songs I've ever heard. Seriously brings me to tears!

klap
Staff Reviewer
December 1st 2012


10495 Comments


clearer, sounds better. i understand using harbored that way but it's a tertiary use of the word whereas considered is a
much more straightforward, primary use of the word.

i only say this because i like your writing style for mixing concise, to the point sentences with longer, more explanatory
ones. just seems to fit that style better. keep it up

ShadowAmI
December 1st 2012


1542 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

thanks, i've never really put that much thought into word choice. i guess that makes sense enough for
me to change it

edit: how do you edit a review?

ShadowAmI
December 1st 2012


1542 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

and by the way, i totally feel you saris :')

klap
Staff Reviewer
December 1st 2012


10495 Comments


its on your profile page

ShadowAmI
December 1st 2012


1542 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

any review critique?

Taxt
December 1st 2012


658 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pos'd

Efrim is such a great lyricist, it doesn't matter if he can't technically sing very well.
Dude says what's in his heart and he means every word.

BallsToTheWall
December 1st 2012


44620 Comments


Hello,everybody,the good shoping place,the new season approaching, click in.

===== famalegoods.com ====

Discount UGG Boots,

Air jordan(1-24)shoes $33,

Air max shoes (TN LTD BW 90 180) $35,

Nike/shox(R4,NZ,OZ,TL1,TL2,TL3) $33,

handbags(Coach lv fendi d&g) $35,

Tshirts (Polo ,ed hardy,lacoste) $20,

Jean(True Religion,ed hardy,coogi) $36,

Sunglasses(Oakey,coach,Gucci,Armaini) $16,

New era cap $12,

(NFL MLB NBA NHL) jerseys $25,

free shipping,

Accept credit card and (PAYPAL),

====== mineokmalls.com =====

fashion ugg boots

5991 Bailey Button Kids Chocolate UGG Boots

mineokmalls.com/views/?5991-Bailey-Button-Kids-Chocolate-UGG-Boots-2866.html


Digging: Mare Cognitum - Phobos Monolith

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
December 1st 2012


4442 Comments


Good work, man. I'll look into this album. POS'd.

klap
Staff Reviewer
December 1st 2012


10495 Comments


like i said, i liked the review. your style is distinctive and easy to read, doesn't blather on for too long. in fact, this review is almost too sparse, but i like that you were going for the base feelings under everything here rather than going into too many descriptions. I tend to shy away from statements like "The music is perfect," or the last one - you spend the whole review explaining why someone should listen to this album so it's sort of redundant for me to say at the end is "listen to it for yourself."

But solid review overall

CaptainDooRight
December 1st 2012


29891 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

really good album and review, I've owned this for quite a while now

pos

Digging: Impetuous Ritual - Unholy Congregation of Hypocritical Ambivalence

ShadowAmI
December 1st 2012


1542 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

hey thanks guys. i really want to start writing reviews so your criticism is appreciated. this community is great

Polyethylene
December 1st 2012


3159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

God Bless Our Dead Marines is a masterpiece. One of the best songs I've ever heard. Seriously brings me to tears! [2]

Digging: Lucinda Williams - Car Wheels On A Gravel Road

Polyethylene
December 2nd 2012


3159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review! Makes me want to write one. I hope I do



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy