Causa Sui
Summer Sessions Vol. 1


4.5
superb

Review

by CaptainDooRight USER (93 Reviews)
November 29th, 2012 | 43 replies | 3,417 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An exhilarating journey through the brilliant progressive-psychedelic minds of Causa Sui.

19 of 19 thought this review was well written

It’s not hard to be roused by the reminiscent qualities of 60-70’s rock and progressive-rock’s interlinear foundation; the backbone for which most rock/progressive bands derive their inherent attributes - constitutions that make up the same reasons some in our present age enjoy lengthy fusions of sound that impact the subconscious, a layering of harmonic intervals, and just plain grooves that induce feelings of euphoria and exaltation. Causa Sui, psychedelic/desert-space rock band from Denmark, effortlessly takes the prime trimmings of almost every element rock has to offer and propagates a sensation of their own.

Causa Sui’s accomplished Summer Sessions trilogy commences with Vol. 1, a near flawless stab at one of music’s most intricate genres. With a more than capable trio of past, believe it or not, hardcore metal musicians, Causa Sui set out to create progressive-psychedelic tracks that lures listeners in with accessible introductions that take various turns throughout thematic excursions. Vol. 1 begins with “Visions of Summer”, a 24 minute track that is without a doubt the highlight of this LP. Enticing the listener with a few synth-wind wave effects and spaced out percussions before a catchy bass-line, instant entrapment is almost certain. It’s almost impossible to not enjoy/appreciate the groovy jazz-rock bass lines of Jess Kahr, the endless expressive jazz styles of drummer Jakob Skott, and most importantly the extravagant lead guitar and keyboard work of Jonas Munk. My imperfect limitations of a human being are causing me to salivate as I’m writing this. From raindrop percussions, endless drum roll patterns, spontaneous well-fitted synths, Jimmy Hendrix-inspired rhythm patterns, to slow-amplifying build ups, “Vision of Summer” is stoner-space rock peregrination not worth passing up.

The three latter tracks off Vol. 1 are shorter in length but by no means are they any less impressive. “Red Sun in June” is a full on desert rock song that fits in perfectly after its preceding tracks immense-heavy build up. The mellow tendencies of this transition are inviting and soothing and act like a catching-support to the expected daze that one should have experienced up to this point. “Portixeddu” jumps back into the forward-pushing rock styles and my oh my I have never heard cowbells used so fittingly in a song before. Skott’s bell strikes would put Will Ferrell to shame any day. In fact, his ability to work the snare so effectively over all of his other responsibilities leaves one to wonder if the guy has an extra arm. The closer “Soledad” is a pure stoner-rock track drawing extreme similarities to Kyuss’ use of blues-rock integrations. Acting as a farewell to the alluring tunnel vision that you may have experienced up to this point, “Soledad” eases off the psychedelic allotments allowing the listener to rise from their comatose state.

Vol. 1 is by far the strongest of the Summer Sessions triad and arguably the best work Causa Sui has to offer; besides its counterparts being great pieces of music as well. These enduring works of art must be beheld by the likes of rock enthusiasts and/or anyone wishing to seek what psychedelic-rock has to offer. For a modern psychedelic/jazz-fusion/jam rock album, Summer Sessions Vol. 1 is as essential as it gets.



Recent reviews by this author
Dropped Flyer Electronic CigaretteAbacus Abacus
Van der Graaf Generator Pawn HeartsFinch (NL) Beyond Expression
Orwell AVOHFASIHOdyssey (USA) An Abstract Existence
user ratings (43)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
CaptainDooRight
November 28th 2012



26368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

amazing album

www.youtube.com/watch?v=VMzz6i-FwMs

^full album

Digging: Deniro Farrar - The Patriarch II

YoYoMancuso
November 28th 2012



10108 Comments


WELL IT'S ABOUT FUCKING TIME


nah just kidding but seriously review is fantastic, pos'd. definitely gonna check this later

HitlerIsPissed
November 28th 2012



411 Comments


yes, its about fuckin time someone reviewed this. band rules.

mindleviticus
November 28th 2012



7937 Comments


Back to the old ball n' chain eh captain?

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
November 28th 2012



14488 Comments


nice review capt, pose'd, and kate thread needs your brand of abstract humour

Digging: Ian Anderson - Homo Erraticus

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
November 28th 2012



4337 Comments


Fantastic work, captain. I've heard of this hand but have yet to hear them. Will definitely listen to this. POS'd!

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 28th 2012



6734 Comments


A pos given to my pirate bretheren. Good work man.

Underflow
November 28th 2012



2174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

These guys pound immeasurable amounts of vagina.

Digging: The War on Drugs - Lost in the Dream

Chortles
November 28th 2012



17509 Comments


really good review capt, pos'd hard

Digging: Chico Buarque - Construo

CaptainDooRight
November 29th 2012



26368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@ YoYo- yeah haha it's def been a while and I've been waiting for the perfect album to get me back in the reviewing groove and this def had me craving a write up, but thanks man and I hope you dig

@ Hitler - thanks man I was really surprised that this album went this long without a review

@ Mind - rootz never fail pras but yee I've been jamming every genre consistently so I had to finally pick one to rev, def got a few worthy elect. albums that could use one

@ Mena - cheers bro, thanks. I shall swoop in like a manatee-hawk in heat

@ Paper - thanks mate! yeah bro u would dig this so hard, wish we could chill and blaze to this bro, would be sick/good times, def hope u dig hard bro

@ IPod - YEE breth hard, thanks, wish I was as consistent as you are now bro, you're kicking reviewing ass as ov lately

@ Under - oh man you don't know how much I wished my cock rocked as hard as these guys, def would always nene satisfied

@ Chort - thank you hard pras I was rubbing my nipples and thinking of you when I was rev'ing it

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
November 29th 2012



4130 Comments


The Ufomammut of Stoner rock, criminally overlooked.

Digging: Echo Lane Afterschool Recreational Dept - bikes clouds cranes phones

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
November 29th 2012



18180 Comments


Great review bro, pos'd.

Album rules. Vol. 2 is great too.

Digging: Benoit Pioulard - Hymnal Remixes

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
November 29th 2012



3155 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great write-up captain, these guys really write good music. i have yet to hear the other efforts, but this one is really strong. i dig soledad a lot, but everything is really good here. excellent recommendations too. pos

Digging: Amplifier - Echo Street

seedofnothing
November 29th 2012



3425 Comments


excellent review capt pos

damn who would neg, this review is flawless

Shuyin
November 29th 2012



10404 Comments


doesnt look like my kinda album

great review anyway, have a pos. m/

Digging: All the Empires of the World - Sunscraper

CaptainDooRight
November 29th 2012



26368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@ Mister - agreed hard

@ JT - thanks bro, yeah man they're all good, I'm really digging Vol. 3 as well, there's some really solid track off it and some stoner blues rock goodness

@ Insom - muchos gracias sir! Yea their whole discog is solid but there first album before the triology had vox which makes them sound like a completely diff band, so if you dig this i'd rec you check out vol. 2 and 3, cheerz

@ Seed - no worries bro, but thanks for your kind words m/

@ Clemintine - thank you, it was hard to condense all my thoughts as I had way too much to say about this album haha

@ Shu - sup nig! yee this prolly wouldn't be ur thing, I take ur more of the bm/dm and post rock kinda guy but thanks for stopping in brother

CaptainDooRight
November 29th 2012



26368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@ Troggy - thanks bro, I looked it over about 10 times and can't see what I could change about it, any suggestions?

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
November 29th 2012



18180 Comments


Haven't given Vol. 3 a proper listen yet, need to get on that asap.

CaptainDooRight
November 29th 2012



26368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

so worth it JT

CaptainDooRight
November 29th 2012



26368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Red Valley and Santa Sangre are some of their best songs



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy