Glocca Morra
Just Married


3.5
great

Review

by Dan H. CONTRIBUTOR (54 Reviews)
November 26th, 2012 | 40 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Crack open half a beer, its celebration time.

Although the evidence seems to argue the contrary, ‘Just Married’ always manages to feel distinctly emo. A million miles away from the melancholic brilliance of Jeremy Enigk and co, and yet illogically familiar, Glocca Morra’s modern take on emo comes equipped with generous helpings of the accessibility and buoyancy normally habitual to indie rock. Following the trend popularised by the seminal American Football and the recently defunct Algernon Cadwallader, chaotic vocals are married with dominant, indie inspired riffs that differ in their deviation from the staple 4/4 time signature. On ‘Just Married’, Glocca Morra successfully pairs the sense of optimism that one would associate with becoming a newlywed, with a traditionally emo sound, in a paradoxical combination that shines predominantly but flounders occasionally.

Undoubtedly the biggest strength of Glocca Morra’s ‘Just Married’ lies in its cohesive nature. Rather than feeling like a haphazard collection of songs, it stands strongest when viewed as a body of work; constructed to be listened to in its entirety. Opener ‘Ya’ll Boots Hats? (Die Angry)’ is a declaration. Midway upon the drunken musings of a man loosely recalling past events, love is realised amid a torrent of drumming and wandering guitars. Cries of “Carolina!” and “I love you” permeate the songs end, in a show of emotion that is unashamedly jovial and blunt. ‘Irrevocable, Mother***er’ sees Glocca Morra pay homage to American Football, with a riff and trumpet combination reminiscent of ‘The Summer Ends’ on a caffeine kick. Layered vocals and energetic drumming drive the song throughout, whilst a jangling riff combines effectively with trumpets before leading to a repetitive but strong conclusion. The album’s longest track ‘Eat the ***ing Snow’ demonstrates impressive restraint from a band who so often favour a gung-ho approach. Beginning in typical fashion, the fast tempo recedes halfway and is replaced with delicate cymbal work and a gorgeous riff that saunters alongside it. The appearance of a xylophone and the removal of vocals entirely see the song end as a peaceful triumph, so far detached from its origins it’s easy to forget how it began.

As with most releases of this genre, this biggest make or break element is the vocals. Almost always energetic and strained, and occasionally off key, repeated listening is required to become accustomed to them. Deployed relentlessly throughout, they could just as easily be labelled intrinsic to Glocca Morra’s sound as they could detrimental. The weaker moments of ‘Just Married’ lie in the underdeveloped shorter tracks ‘Hot & Informed’ and ‘Theories on Relativity...’ as well as album closer ‘Me + Geniene’. Both of the former begin brightly, but both finish prematurely, gaining little momentum in their short durations before coming to abrupt ends. ‘Me + Geniene’ is a failed experiment, with excessively used samples and an outro which dithers and fails to evolve, fading to a disappointing finale.

Despite its shortcomings, ‘Just Married’ is a great, cohesive album which sees plenty of celebration, with just one eye kept on the door in case that divorce is just around the corner.



Recent reviews by this author
Basement Further SkyBen Howard I Forget Where We Were
FACT WitnessWillis Earl Beal Acousmatic Sorcery
Interpol El PintorMaybeshewill Fair Youth
user ratings (118)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
November 26th 2012


1028 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Just edited the track list, assume it needs approval or something.

XingKing
November 26th 2012


10948 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album has good vibes. Good vibes indeed.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 26th 2012


50850 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was about to review this fuuuuuuuck

Digging: Bobby Barnett - Little Wounds

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 26th 2012


10354 Comments


Awesome review. You're very skilled at writing, and write in a very engaging manner.

One thing I notice is that your writing is sometimes a bit too wordy. Check the line "Deployed relentlessly throughout,
they could just as easily be labelled intrinsic to Glocca Morra’s sound as they could detrimental." I know what you're trying
to say here, but it could be said in a much more concise way.

Very nice work, man. Keep reviewing!

toxin.
November 26th 2012


12771 Comments


Seconding everything Omaha said.

You write really nicely, but sometimes it seems a bit forced.
Still, pos'd.

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
November 26th 2012


1028 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks Omaha, appreciate the feedback!

I know what you're saying, and it is perhaps a bit flowery for its own good at times. I can see how my
point may get a little lost in trying to be too wordy. Will try and take that forward to my next
review man. Thanks again.

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
November 26th 2012


1028 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Cheers toxin, will definitely keep that in mind for next time and tone it down.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 26th 2012


10354 Comments


I definitely understand how it goes to write flowery. Haha, so many of my older reviews were like that. My latest ones are that way if I'm not really interested in the music that much, but otherwise it's easiest for me to write as if I were explaining the album for a buddy. Conversational tones are my best friend. =]

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
November 26th 2012


3776 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I just love that album cover

tommygun
November 26th 2012


25094 Comments


really nice review, mate

pos from me

Digging: Banks - Goddess

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
November 27th 2012


1028 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks buddy, appreciate it!

sportsboy
December 3rd 2012


640 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

ya'll boots hats' ending is so fucking good

XingKing
December 12th 2012


10948 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can play this album on repeat like 5 times in a row and not get bored. Goddamn I love it.

MuhNamesTyler
February 24th 2013


4382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn this is sweet

Damus
April 3rd 2013


468 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

fuck referring to everything as emo. It's such a blanket term. This is good music.

Kman418
April 3rd 2013


11077 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this is fucking sweet

Digging: Panda Bear - Mr Noah

rien333
April 11th 2013


254 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't know why, but this is really fucking good, is there other stuff worth checking? Do any of you know similar bands?

Also, is it bad if I have this in my top 10 of 2012?

Kman418
April 11th 2013


11077 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

if you want similar bands check out dads, you blew it, snowing, algernon cadwallader, cap'n jazz or really any other twinkly emo band. And yeah this is really fucking good, I'd put it in my top 10 for 2012 too

JackSparrow
April 11th 2013


1686 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is so awesome. The first time I heard it I knew it would be something I'd be coming back to

XingKing
April 11th 2013


10948 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Kman's recs are all solid. Algernon is my personal favorite of the bunch



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy