City of Caterpillar
City of Caterpillar


5.0
classic

Review

by Cameron S. USER (7 Reviews)
November 25th, 2012 | 104 replies


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist

Review Summary: City of Caterpillar is perhaps one of the most viscerally satisfying and emotionally resonant albums ever written.

City of Caterpillar is interesting in that they’re both highly influential, as well as extremely obscure. Sure, the emo community is very familiar with their work, but the average music listener would have no clue what the hell the “City of Caterpillar” is supposed to be if you brought then up in casual conversation. This could probably be attributed mainly to the fact that the band was incredibly short lived and didn't really put out that much material before disbanding. Their self-titled full length, which also happens to be their only full length, is a perfect reminder of what a shame that is.

Although far from the most important aspect of the music, the vocals are likely what will make or break this album for many listeners. They’re shrill, ugly, and hard to make out. But they also happen to be perfect for conveying the album’s powerful emotions. Could A Heart Filled Reaction to Dissatisfaction’s closing refrain of “Now I’m too scared to touch a friend like you” have the same emotional effect if it were merely sung? Probably not. The anger and pain that the vocals manage to convey goes a long way towards making the album’s lyrics so powerful.

The real star of the show, of course, is the band’s combination of post-rock and hardcore. Long, dramatic build-ups give way to sudden fits of rage as the instruments swell into aggressive noise and the screamed vocals shout out relatable frustrations. The instruments convey a strange feeling of loneliness and isolation, while the vocals and lyrics almost border on schizophrenic at times, such as on closer Maybe They’ll Gnaw Right Through.

City of Caterpillar is arguably one of the finest emo bands of all time. Despite the fact that they’ve been gone for a good ten years now, their music still remains influential and - above all - enjoyable.



Recent reviews by this author
Rend Collective Experiment Homemade Worship by Handmade PeopleSharks Selfhood
The Saddest Landscape You Will Not SurviveCity of Caterpillar Demo + Live Recording
Cage The Elephant Thank You Happy BirthdayTwo Door Cinema Club Tourist History
user ratings (650)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
GeorgeCostanza (1)
Do not bring your evil into my swamp....

ffs (5)
The soundtrack to every existential crisis you've ever felt....

Electric Ocean (4.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Tikicobra
November 24th 2012


573 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I just wanted to review this. I know it's not great but whatever.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
November 24th 2012


4442 Comments


It's a good review, man. I've heard of this band, but I've never checked them out. One thing I'd advise is to give more info on the songs of the album, you give a good overview but after reading it I feel like you should have more to say since you gave it a 5. And that rating alone needs to be backed up with extensively.

Have a POS though, you've convinced me to check this band out.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 24th 2012


50510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sweet

wacknizzle
November 24th 2012


13466 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cool album

Digging: This Gift Is A Curse - I, Gvilt Bearer

Tikicobra
November 24th 2012


573 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks. I agree that I should have gone into more detail but I just wanted to do a really short simple review.

Thane
November 24th 2012


2173 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yep

Youtellme
November 24th 2012


1351 Comments


"Sure, the emo community is very familiar with their work, but the average music listener would have no clue what the hell the “City of Caterpillar” is supposed to be if you brought then up in casual conversation."

Eh, this can be said about many, many bands.

It's kinda short but the review is good anyway, besides that line.

WashboardSuds
November 24th 2012


5020 Comments


nice work, pos'd

Tikicobra
November 24th 2012


573 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Youtellme

Yeah, you've got a point. But I have some friends who are pretty casual listeners but they've still heard of some emo bands.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 24th 2012


23909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

probably in my top three screamo albums

Digging: RATKING - So It Goes

Cygnatti
November 24th 2012


21353 Comments


cool band

emo's not really my thing anymore

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 24th 2012


23909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The Moon Is A Dead World
The Heat Death Of The Universe

pretty obvious really

ThunderNeutral21
November 24th 2012


3864 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

jane doe (if that can be included)
i.v. (loma prieta, yea seriously)
the underdark
dance tonight!
innominate

ThunderNeutral21
November 24th 2012


3864 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

and this obvs

sixdegrees
November 24th 2012


17190 Comments


dance tonight!

agreed

Digging: yasumiyasumi - Tokyo Digital Love

Tikicobra
November 24th 2012


573 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It's really hard for me to pick favorites when it comes to music but I could never make a top 10 list that didn't include this.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 24th 2012


23909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"jane doe (if that can be included)"

well no, it's not a screamo album.

i think The Underdark is crazy overrated but that seems to be just me.

MalleusMaleficarum
November 24th 2012


14350 Comments


"i think The Underdark is crazy overrated but that seems to be just me."

im with ya

ThunderNeutral21
November 24th 2012


3864 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

so lemme get this straight

funeral diner overrated

but wildlife is a masterpiece

HMMM

MalleusMaleficarum
November 24th 2012


14350 Comments


nah both are overrated tbh



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy