Goldfrapp
Felt Mountain


3.5
great

Review

by hankdee27 USER (19 Reviews)
November 23rd, 2012 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An album that succeeds the most when it chooses the option of staying inside it's own ballgame.

Resisting the lull of chamber pop's catchy melodies and strange instrumental strings, as well as many other addictive qualities was something I could not do any longer. Finding the singer Goldfrapp under this genre hunt, thank god was not painful. No, this listening experience was nowhere near painful, but I didn't find Felt Mountain the way I expected it to be. And in most ways, this is a good thing. Goldfrapp knows her chamber pop reigns well, steering them without letting them get to loose, but she crosses over some amount of trip-hop and a tiny bit of electronica. Will Gregory also helps alongside Goldfrapp as the producer and the composer of Felt Mountain, and he also contributes brass arrangements, string arrangements, and keyboards.

As a producer, Gregory does his job well for the most part, and makes the album have some variety that doesn't usually affect Goldfrapp's singing in a way that seems forced and awkward. The album triumphs mostly when the arrangements have a certain course to them. In certain moments Goldfrapp's vocals can drift off in a rather dreamy way. That isn't necessarily a terrible thing, but it can distract the album at a few points, making it more stretched out in it's overall length of time than it really seems to be, and affecting the status of enjoyment you may have had previously during this record.

"Lovely Head" and "Human" are songs with sexy, drawn-out vocals mixed in, and a couple of instrumental arrangements that give them a spy movie soundtrack feeling to them. These instances of experimentation can seem a bit strange, but I have to admit that it's nice to hear the electronic synths and eerie (and a slightly creepy and sinister) violins playing together in one song.

Other highlights of this record include the ballads "Pilot" and the piano ballad "Horse Tears", the ladder being an excellent album closer, especially one for music like this. "Oompah Radar" and "Utopia" is a couple of those aforementioned particularly awkward moments that can be a little dull, but do not set the album off its flow. This isn't an album for the people who wish for more addictive catchy chamber pop, but the greatest moments on Felt Mountain are the ones that become knights in shining armor, if you will.



Recent reviews by this author
THEESatisfaction awE naturalEKendrick Lamar good kid, m.A.A.d city
Marilyn Manson Antichrist SuperstarNirvana In Utero
A Perfect Circle Thirteenth StepKorn Korn
user ratings (120)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Dylan S. (4)
The greatest soundtrack to a horror movie that never existed....

Jeremy Fisette (4.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
hankdee27
November 23rd 2012


259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ok? It is my opinion, whether or not you agree with it, you could at least give some sort of constructive critique to back your claim up. Why is this album perfect?

hankdee27
November 23rd 2012


259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You didn't even read my review, so how could you know whether or not my points where valid in your humble opinion? Just because everyone else thinks it's a classic, does that mean that I have to think so?

hankdee27
November 23rd 2012


259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Dude, are you trolling?

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2012


16112 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

however, you should think its a classic because I think its a classic which is fact.


hehe
i heard supernature once i think and it didnt really grab me, is this better ?

Digging: H.P. Lovecraft - H.P. Lovecraft II

hankdee27
November 23rd 2012


259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ok, your highness. Feel free to have an opinion, but don't tell me I must think that.

breakingthefragile
November 23rd 2012


2962 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You really have to work on your writing dude. This reads really awkwardly, especially the second paragraph where commas aren't in the right places a lot of the time. You also have to work on finding better ways to describe things about the music:

"These instances of experimentation can seem a bit strange if your personal preferences just don't taste this type of music,"

"making it more stretched out in time-wise"

These are examples of lines that really don't make too much sense. Also, your reasons for giving this a 3/5 seem to be based around you not knowing what genre this album is. Do you know what Trip Hop is?

hankdee27
November 23rd 2012


259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yes, trip-hop is a style of Jazz, Funk, and Soul music mixed together. I listened to it, and I didn't love it exactly, because of some awkward moments of experimentation that didn't seem very successful to me.

hankdee27
November 23rd 2012


259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

sulk harder while you contemplate your shit balls wrong opinion.

I think you need some more support for your claim... I mean seriously I'm good if you think this album is perfect, but if your going to do that bullshit, just leave.

hankdee27
November 23rd 2012


259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Jesus christ, there's at least one on every page.

hankdee27
November 23rd 2012


259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sure, feel free.

hankdee27
November 23rd 2012


259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well, thanks I guess. As for my music tastes, that's a personal preference and I guess that's just your opinion, which is fine.

Havey
November 23rd 2012


9753 Comments


As for my music tastes, that's a personal preference and I guess that's just your opinion, which is fine.

oh you're one of those 'art is subjective' people lol

neg

Lakes.
November 23rd 2012


28693 Comments


lol

Digging: Laked God and Yak - Butt Pirate Bible Force

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2012


16112 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

poor hankdee, here's an 'under pressure' pos

BallsToTheWall
November 23rd 2012


44785 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Rules.

Digging: Pink Turns Blue - If Two Worlds Kiss

hankdee27
November 23rd 2012


259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ok, so people are still giving me shit about me giving the album a 3, c'mon, have some common sense. It's an opinion. Should I just say that I think this album is excellent if I didn't actually think so? No, that's dishonest criticism. All well, fuck it. I'm going to get flak everywhere no matter what, because I can't satisfy one goddamn prick, and then everybody else says, "Hey we should do what he does".

hankdee27
November 24th 2012


259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The way you wrote it, it seems like at least a 3.5...I think you should be more direct with your criticisms. You tip-toe around them as if they aren't really flaws to you.

E.g.

"In certain moments Goldfrapp's vocals can drift off in a rather dreamy way. That isn't necessarily a terrible thing, but it can distract the album at a few points, making it more stretched out in it's overall length of time than it really seems to be, and affecting the status of enjoyment you may have had previously during this record."

This is one of your main negatives, but it's a very awkward set of sentences that doesn't really make the album sound bad to me. If you're going to say something distracts from the flow of the album, OK, but you shouldn't say 'oh wait it's not really bad' in the same breath.

Hope this helps.

Thanks for the help, I really appreciate it.

KILL
November 24th 2012


72086 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

gd stufg

Digging: Steve Hackett - Out of the Tunnel's Mouth

hankdee27
November 25th 2012


259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

calm down hankypants you get trolled WAY too easily
Hey, look. Hankypants, that's like a perfect name made for the pornography business.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy