Brand New
Daisy


5.0
classic

Review

by safeandsl0w USER (1 Reviews)
November 22nd, 2012 | 28 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Those days are dead.

Evolution is a process which takes a millennia, something which obviously brought us to being the scourge we are today, a collection of wrong turns and mistakes made collectively, Daisy is a testament to this, a disgustingly beautiful album, darker, more biting and harsher than any of Brand New's previous works were.

From 'Your Favorite Weapon', we had a group of hopelessly romantic teens, looking for their place in the world, naturally moving on to the bleak 'Deja Entendu', a reckless deconstructing of music as a whole, jarring and voyeuristic, perverted at times. On came 'The Devil and God Are Raging Inside of Me', an unexpectedly beautiful album, delving deeper into the emotions and depression of Jesse Lacey and co. it was a milestone for the band, and music in general, it was one of the most revealing and distraught albums of the decade, reeking with shadow and showing for the first time, schizophrenic changes in tone throughout songs and lyrics, all before descending into anonymity again.

And along came Daisy, a year before I began listening to Brand New regularly. At first I didn’t know what to believe with this album, it showed traces of despair otherwise unheard of with this band, it wasn’t bleak, it was hateful, it was focused anger, and it was that which made me fall in love with it. Every damaged teen has heard ‘The Quiet Things That No-One Ever Knows’” chorus, and it became an anthem for the emo society, something they could finally grasp onto, something they could use to keep their feet on the ground, Deja Entendu became a symbol for these people, but as they grew, so did Brand New, and Daisy was a level of maturity that came with such swiftness and thunder which divided the fanbase in two.

As I write this, I may notice this is not a review per se, but more of a letter of appreciation to something which has changed my life, Daisy is a constant in my life, alongside the Devil and God, they are constantly being played, day in, day out, and monotony never sets in, whether it be the opening notes of Jesus Christ or the diminished notes and tortured screams of Jesse in Vices, this album has helped shape my personality, even my choices in life, it has helped me through some of the toughest times I’ve faced thus far, and will continue to do so for a while longer, so I hope.


user ratings (2672)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Captain North
November 22nd 2012


6791 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Dunno who begged but they're a dick

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 22nd 2012


31474 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I feel like this belongs in a hallmark card or something. Plus that first sentence/paragraph is really quite horrid

Digging: Hyperdub - Hyperdub 10.4

YoYoMancuso
November 22nd 2012


11187 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm the one who negged. It feels like you're reviewing their entire discog, and you yourself said this isn't exactly a review, which leads me to believe you should have posted this as a soundoff.

and thanks for the kind words

sixdegrees
November 22nd 2012


17501 Comments


yeah you talk more about their other albums than the one you're reviewing.

Digging: Ted Nugent - Shutup&jam!

Captain North
November 22nd 2012


6791 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Lol I'm not the guy who posted the review.

HitlerIsPissed
November 22nd 2012


411 Comments


well written i guess but it fails as a review, so neg.

sixdegrees
November 22nd 2012


17501 Comments


yay i'm a dick

YoYoMancuso
November 22nd 2012


11187 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

haha my mistake man

Captain North
November 22nd 2012


6791 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's the guys first review people :/ negging is a bit harsh

HitlerIsPissed
November 22nd 2012


411 Comments


doesnt matter what the excuse is, its still a bad "review".

YoYoMancuso
November 22nd 2012


11187 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

if you go read any of my reviews before the one I did for The Bends, I got twice as many negs as pos's. It happens to everybody, and if they at least tell you what you're doing wrong it can motivate you to become a better writer.

tommygun
November 22nd 2012


25094 Comments


why do people call it 'jesus christ' when its actual name is just 'jesus'?

Digging: Banks - Goddess

tommygun
November 22nd 2012


25094 Comments


hmm

johnnydeking29
November 22nd 2012


9434 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Didn't neg, but probably should have; you can write well enough, so write about the bloody album!!

Digging: Warren of Ohms - The Wolf and The Fox

chambered49
November 22nd 2012


1727 Comments


dont listen to deviant hes a robot and doesnt have feelings

MeatSalad
November 22nd 2012


14900 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

dassy

Digging: The Weakerthans - Reconstruction Site

DirEnRefused
November 22nd 2012


2233 Comments


Evolution is a process which takes a millennia

Tempted to immediately neg.

johnnydeking29
November 22nd 2012


9434 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

seriously this could have been a very intelligent and perceptive review if the reviewer wasn't retarded

I know right, he's got potential

DirEnRefused
November 22nd 2012


2233 Comments


Having read fully, I now feel qualified to neg. Reads like a shallow retrospective, a classic rating
deserves more than a paragraph of justification.

DirEnRefused
November 22nd 2012


2233 Comments


Vices/Noro is still an incredible opener/closer pairing.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy