Skrillex
Make It Bun Dem After Hours


1.0
awful

Review

by Andrew Gold CONTRIBUTOR (59 Reviews)
November 21st, 2012 | 454 replies | 15,463 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: If you want a headache within the next 20 minutes, then this EP is for you.

Skrillex – you’ve heard the name. At the very least you’ve heard ‘Scary Monsters and Nice Sprites,' well that’s assuming you’ve left your house within the last two years. He is most famous for his commercial success with dubstep, a style that differentiates itself from other electronic subgenres by focusing less on the ‘bleeps’ and more on the ‘wubs,' for lack of a better description. His breakthrough EP Scary Monsters and Nice Sprites had its fair share of track picks and his following EPs had at least one worthwhile song on each release. With his 2012 EP Make It Bun Dem After Hours, he took the ‘one worthwhile song’ idea to a whole new level by making an EP with only one song (and six remixes). Except the difference is that it’s not worthwhile in the slightest.

The original ‘Make It Bun Dem’ is a collaboration effort between Skrillex and Bob Marley’s youngest son Damian Marley – it's essentially their attempt at honoring dubstep's roots but coming across as more of a disgrace than anything. Gone are Skrillex’s catchy hooks and gut-punching drops; in their place are onerous reggae chants and repetitive, simply uninspired beats. The remixes themselves don’t do enough different to the original song to make it worth hearing again, let alone six more times with each time being more vomit inducing than the last. Thankfully there are some instrumental breaks from the awful sampling of Damian’s vocals in the French Fries and Flinch remixes, which are nothing special by themselves but when surrounded by the filth that encompasses the rest of the EP, these small breaks are somewhat of a godsend.

Honestly there really is nothing redeemable about Make It Bun Dem After Hours. If I had to say something that’s even remotely positive about this EP, it would be that it’s not entirely Skrillex’s fault in that technically he only had input on one song, but the sole fact that he would release such an abomination to the world says a lot about where he is in his career: he peaked way too soon. Now he’s left releasing EPs like this to squeeze every bit of profit he can out of his dying profession before he (hopefully) fades into obscurity. I recommend this EP to absolutely no one, unless you desperately want to get a headache within 20 minutes, in which case Make It Bun Dem After Hours may be exactly what you’re looking for.



Recent reviews by this author
Green Day DemoliciousLacuna Coil Broken Crown Halo
Neuraxis ImageryRingworm Hammer of the Witch
Creepoid CreepoidMudvayne Lost and Found
user ratings (101)
Chart.
1.4
very poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 20th 2012



19515 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

first 1 review, go easy on me.

Digging: Cult Leader - Nothing for Us Here

demigod!
November 20th 2012



40970 Comments


New Skrillex? lol. yeah, i bet this sucks hard

good review tho pos

sixdegrees
November 20th 2012



15760 Comments


wtf does that title even mean

Digging: TIMO DA LEGEND - molsom love/my life

Ire
November 21st 2012



41453 Comments


shit band

IMZA1793
November 21st 2012



843 Comments


"He is most famous for being the pioneer of dubstep, a style that differentiates itself from other electronic subgenres by focusing less on the ‘bleeps’ and more on the ‘wubs’, for lack of better terminology."

Deviant. incoming

sixdegrees
November 21st 2012



15760 Comments


dev will fuck you up

Wolfhorde
November 21st 2012



11799 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

"pioneer of dubstep"
lolwut

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 21st 2012



30297 Comments


He is most famous for being the pioneer of dubstep,


neg

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 21st 2012



48541 Comments


It translates roughly too "Taking It In The Ass Late At Night" I believe


Digging: The Hotelier - Home, Like NoPlace Is There

RosaParks
November 21st 2012



14592 Comments


"He is most famous for being the pioneer of dubstep, a style that differentiates itself from other electronic subgenres by focusing less on the ‘bleeps’ and more on the ‘wubs’, for lack of better terminology."

ugh

auberginedreams
November 21st 2012



5981 Comments


"Make It Bun Dem After Hours"

what the fuck does this shit even mean

sixdegrees
November 21st 2012



15760 Comments


trebor already explained it.

auberginedreams
November 21st 2012



5981 Comments


ah that's what i thought, just making sure.

RosaParks
November 21st 2012



14592 Comments


insurrection stop posing your shitty reviews with your alts

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 21st 2012



19515 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

neg


so one of the pioneers of dubstep? idk i always thought he was the one to give it the most notoriety.

hankdee27
November 21st 2012



259 Comments


I liked the review, I thought it was clever and I was able to read the whole way through without getting bored once, so I voted yes on if it was written well or not.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 21st 2012



30297 Comments


Is it really so hard to do even the tiniest bit of research before reviewing something?

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 21st 2012



48541 Comments


Yeah, I had the common courtesy to skim through the dubstep Wiki page before writing my Skrillex reviews

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 21st 2012



30297 Comments


Speaking of which, even wiki got it right!

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 21st 2012



19515 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

alright i fixed it. not sure why i deserve a neg for one minor mistake though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy