Aaron Lewis
The Road


1.0
awful

Review

by Alex Beebe USER (126 Reviews)
November 20th, 2012 | 79 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Aaron Lewis has created a possible cure for insomnia more than he has an enjoyable album.

It’s a wonder why Aaron Lewis, the frontman of the alternative metal band Staind, has opted to go the route of country music for his solo career as a singer-songwriter. Being a New England native, it’s not as if Lewis has any cultural ties to the south’s musical roots, but he has displayed a fondness of stripped down acoustic guitar driven music in the past, so a possible explanation could be a simple desire to try his hand at a territory he has not yet dabbled in that shares nothing in common with the metal music that is his most known work. Lewis has also been very outspoken about his “love for this country” so perhaps it’s a matter of his admiration of the proud patriotism in country music’s themes. Whatever the reason for the career choice though, whether it be putting an unexpectedly rustic spin on acoustic music or a need to show his undying love for America, Lewis is not successful at being a country artist in any way.

After an unforgiveably insufferable EP that was 2011‘s Town Line, Lewis has returned with The Road, an entire album’s worth of unbearably sluggish country music. The main flaw of The Road is that the album has a pace so unbelievably lethargic and wearisome, that its speed is comparable to that of frozen molasses. It doesn’t help that every single song is exactly the same. All of these identical songs will start out with Lewis tediously plucking away at chords that make very soft twangs, and then crooning his star-spangled heart out about the same rehashed topics of family values, guns, God, the working class, and driving on the road (which is the most frequent of them all), and this pace never quickens an ounce; even the opening track “75“ whose lyrics detail going 75 mph is anything BUT that speed.

The Road has a never wavering mundane tone, nothing remotely exciting or interesting happens even when it slightly makes an attempt to do so, and this slow crawling music is too vacant of any emotion with substance to evoke anything close to a deep reaction. These are shallow and stale lyrics about experiences that Lewis only seems to understand from a stereotypical standpoint rather than a personal one. His delivery of the lyrics is no better than the bland overcast of his dreary rhythms; the man doesn’t have a fun or enthusiastic bone in his body, so he sounds bored even when he talks about having a good time on “Endless Summer”. Lewis has always naturally had a very deep and saddened pitch, and the low key benefit of that had the potential to make him suited for acoustic country, but because there is absolutely no differentiation, Lewis ends up just sounding no less angsty than he is in his work with Staind, except he’s without tortured lyricism here, making his appeal on The Road virtually non-existent.

At least Lewis doesn’t try to adopt a fake southern accent on The Road, and at least he doesn’t try to pass himself off as being from the south when he really isn’t, but that just shows how much both him and this music are lacking the strong authentic vibes possessed by country artists that were actually born and raised in the country. All Lewis can do is only go by the conventional country playbook and try to live up to it without a natural feel for the music. This album will definitely not appeal to Staind fans, and even country purists will turn their noses up at it. It's an incredibly draining listen where it seems as if Lewis himself is about to nod off along with his listeners, making The Road an all-around grueling experience that’s like watching a mortally wounded snail attempt to cross the finish line. It’s just painfully boring to the point of tears.



Recent reviews by this author
Les Claypool's Duo de Twang Four Foot ShackPeriphery Clear
Nickelback The Best of Nickelback Volume 1Eminem The Marshall Mathers LP 2
Active Child RaporJustin Timberlake The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2
user ratings (27)
Chart.
1.9
poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
sixdegrees
November 20th 2012


17234 Comments


this sounds excruciating. pos'd

Digging: Swinging Popsicle - Fennec!

RagingNoob
November 20th 2012


134 Comments


Great review, pos'd. I've heard geriatric amateurs at open mic nights in darkest suburbia who were better than this hack.

toxin.
November 20th 2012


12684 Comments


sounds like a 1.5-2.0, I always thought a 1.0 was blatantly horrible, not generic and boring
good review though pos'd
will never listen to this

breakingthefragile
November 20th 2012


2962 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Thanks you guys. Also, thank you to the mods for accepting my album page edits so early, and for featuring this review on the home page. I have two features on the home page at once, wow, I'm very grateful for that. I noticed my first comment on this review got deleted, and there was a spelling mistake I made that came off kind of rude, it said "I'm not waiting for the mods", when I meant to write "I'm now waiting for the mods", so I'm sorry if there were any misunderstandings.

And yeah I'll say it again, worst album of the year by far. This album is also embarrassing to me on a personal level because Staind was one of my favorite bands back when I was an angst-ridden adolescent, and because of the fact that Aaron Lewis is from a city that's 15 minutes away from my hometown.

breakingthefragile
November 20th 2012


2962 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

@Necro I'm pretty convinced there's this one person who goes around and negs my
reviews as soon as I post them. I've gotten troll neg-bombed 2 or 3 times now, and I
always seem to get only 1 neg on a review a little bit after posting, so I'm sure it's
the same person every time.

@xtoxin This is more than blatantly horrible, it's really one of the most unpleasent
times I've ever had listening to an album, it redefines just how bad generic and
boring can get. You're wise to avoid this my friend.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 20th 2012


6223 Comments


thank you for accepting my album page edits

Don't mention it ;-)

Digging: Seduced (AT) - The Proclamation

breakingthefragile
November 20th 2012


2962 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I didn't know you were a mod Voivod. That's pretty cool! Or do all contributors have
that power? I'm still pretty new to how stuff works on the site lol.

Gyromania
November 20th 2012


15941 Comments


review is seriously great.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 20th 2012


6223 Comments


I'm not a mod, but for some reason, my album edits are getting approved pronto and many thanks to the mods are in order.

Zeiu
November 20th 2012


165 Comments


At first, I sorta skimmed through the summary and thought you were going to call it an amazing album. Then I went to it and was relieved.

breakingthefragile
November 20th 2012


2962 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

@Gyro Thanks buddy! I'm glad to know you think I did a good job.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
November 20th 2012


16060 Comments


I often suffer from insomnia and may try this as a remedy as advised in the summary.
Nice review, pos.

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

ReturnToRock
November 20th 2012


3448 Comments


Staind =/= metal.

Good review otherwise. This is probably still better than Steven Seagal's album.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 20th 2012


7423 Comments


It's sad to hear it sucks. I really dug the most recent Staind album.

Digging: Dope Body - Lifer

Apollo
November 20th 2012


10340 Comments


great review

freedomofspeechnoway
November 20th 2012


418 Comments


This is heavier than the new Deftones.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
November 20th 2012


16060 Comments


.......rules the seas of mediocrity

StagnantWords
November 20th 2012


318 Comments


Who decides who is a staff writer on this website, Jesus Christ, without listening to this yet, I can bet everything this is not a one (rym has no vote under 3 with 9 votes), as this review right from the get go shows either 1.) distaste for the artist in the first place 2.) resentment towards his genre choice.
I doubt this is even a 3, but this website has become so predictable with its "staff" writers, It's really getting obnoxious.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
November 20th 2012


16060 Comments


hmm I'd rather read opinionated reviews really, its so easy to go and listen for yourself anyway

freedomofspeechnoway
November 20th 2012


418 Comments


Who decides who is a staff writer on this website


The staff writers on this site are absolutely terrible. It's becoming painfully obvious these days as the featured user reviews are consistently better.

But who decides who becomes one? I'd imagine it's a lot like that episode of South Park where they rip family guy for random plots. The staff selection is probably similar to that, chosen at random by a manatee.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy