Heart To Heart
Heart To Heart


4.0
excellent

Review

by Cultclassical USER (53 Reviews)
November 16th, 2012 | 39 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I Was Trying to Describe You to Someone....but I'm Still Searching for the words.

The old nostalgia draw has always been a powerful motivator for fans, hell, death metal has long since produced a whole movement of bands recreating the “old school” sounds of yesteryear. This familiarity can serve as the butter greasing the stale, crusted tastes of listeners looking to find new music while not venturing too far into the unknown, to delivering other listeners a fresh take on a tried and true formula, all the way to providing an excellent clone of a sound seemingly abandoned in today’s music. With their self-titled debut, Heart To Heart bring little to no originality to the table but what they do do (hehe) is channel the energy and heart of the alternative/post hardcore sound from the late 90’s, early 2000’s to a T.

Combining the melodic tendencies of bands like Crime in Stereo and Brand New with the raw energy and songwriting of a band like Senses Fail, Heart To Heart have, as mentioned earlier, not broken any new ground but all the same have made a damn fine record worthy of the bands they emulate. Loud, punching drums do more than contribute its fair share of vigor to the record with punk-esque beats and tempos being utilized freely and well. The guitars will supply the main portion of nostalgia for listeners to feast upon. Simple, catchy and best of all varied riffs, instantly take one back in time, (if you listened to this kind of music of course) an experience that would be hard to relate to if you didn’t live through this particular paradigm in rock personally. All the instruments complement each other well and more than complement the best part of the record, the vocals.

The sheer power and energy contained in the singer’s voice is amazing. The lyrics themselves are standard affair and display nothing to write home about but the fashion in which they are delivered makes it hard to believe they don’t have meaning to the band. His harsh stylings are noticeably more refined than the cleans as he has the “Tom Delounge Effect”, where it sounds more like he is saying the words rather than singing them however.

This record has the ability to be quite polarizing. While some will understand and appreciate the connection between Heart To Heart and its predecessors from over a decade ago, it’s equally as easy for others to quite frankly not care one bit. One drawback for this record is due to its obvious comparisons to other bands and their lack of originality, it’s very difficult to attract those not already interested in the genre. For others like myself this record is a sonic time machine, transporting you back to simpler times where music, friends, and not failing school were the only things you had to worry about. Heart To Heart won’t make believers out of non-believers but it just may make others rekindle their faith.



Recent reviews by this author
Thrice The Alchemy Index Vol. I: FireStolas Allomaternal
Follow The White Rabbit EndorphiniaThrice The Alchemy Index Vol. II: Water
He Is Legend Heavy FruitWeird Al Yankovic Mandatory Fun
user ratings (32)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


20158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I thought about reviewing this you're the man

Digging: Johann Sebastian Bach - Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050

Calc
November 15th 2012


12370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll prolly have a lot of people who disagree here, but here's the stream.

http://anchoreightyfour.bandcamp.com/album/heart-to-heart-2



Calc
November 15th 2012


12370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I got tired of waiting for you to do it atari dammit lol but see what i did with the summary there ; )

anyway i g2g to sleep...listen to this people.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


20158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah senses fail rule another good review

Acanthus
November 16th 2012


9545 Comments


Checking this out now.

Digging: MO - No Mythologies To Follow

JackSparrow
November 16th 2012


1686 Comments


Was also gonna review this if no one else did but I just can't find them. Good work sir, it's a great album

Acanthus
November 16th 2012


9545 Comments


This was good, and I can see what you mean by nostalgia.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2012


4458 Comments


Good stuff, Calc. POS'd.

Calc
November 16th 2012


12370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks all, and atari you half got it lol the other half is a record by crime in stereo.

Calc
November 24th 2012


12370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i like whole numbers

Cygnatti
November 24th 2012


22333 Comments


NOT AS MUCH AS I DO! :3

Digging: Jerry Lee Lewis - Live at the Star Club, Hamburg

Calc
November 24th 2012


12370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

gahdammit chipmunk!!!

Cygnatti
November 24th 2012


22333 Comments


what'd I do?

also that's a really cool avatar

louie772
November 28th 2012


26 Comments


Vocalists sound a lot like that of Misser... Especially the backup vocalist. Dude sounds a whole lot like Tim Landers.

Cygnatti
December 5th 2012


22333 Comments


"Kelly,

I enjoy reading reviews on my band whether they are good or bad as long as they are well written And the writer knows what they are talking about. You got 1 of 2 of those traits right. Ill give it to you, you got potential. It sounds like you are a 16 year old from Ireland. If I'm not mistaken, you are. I know about your creditability at Absolute Punk so not too worried about this review. Can't please them all. Next time just get your facts straight and know a little more about what you are talking about. I can't wait to review your bands record. Let me know when you release that. Keep it up though. You got heart. For those few who commented and wanted to check out the record message my personal Facebook and ill email it to you for free. Then you can tell me what you think. Much love."

dick move, the most butthurt band response I've ever heard.

Calc
December 5th 2012


12370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

whats that chipmunk?

Cygnatti
December 5th 2012


22333 Comments


http://absolutepunk.net/showthread.php?t=2972312

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2012


20158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

so that's a response from a band member from heart to heart?

also why do you even bother with absolutepunk anymore lol

Cygnatti
December 5th 2012


22333 Comments


why not? I find tons of new music there?

I found the graduate there, and saves the day. okay, it gets kinda funny when they try to talk about metal and you see them posting about crappy metalcore bands but still. they might be "younger" or have "worse taste" but at least they are generally nicer and there aren't any dumb troll alts

Calc
December 5th 2012


12370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol what a cock bite....



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy