Watain
Opus Diaboli


4.0
excellent

Review

by Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (197 Reviews)
November 16th, 2012 | 32 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Winding, twisting and progressing, Watain have found their masterstroke in remembering their careers.

Over the years black metal has taken many forms, but for what they are most releases can be undeniably called black metal. From the smooth sounds of Alcest or even to the rawer sounds of Black Anvil the energy put into songs and technicality placed behind the lyricism all gives life to this sinister, dark and aggressive type of metal. Enter Watain’s Opus Diaboli and fans of the genre find a bit of everything. Aggression, up tempo passages, raspy vocals, melodic sections, whispered vocals, spoken word, themes of Satanism and war progressing into infernal stomp riff sections with themes of loss and despair and philosophy, it’s easy to say there is a lot going on here. Watain have grown since their last release Lawless Darkness and taken the atmosphere they give listeners to a new level; this time in a live setting. What’s promising is that Watain rely on thrash-y passages that really push this record along. Watain celebrate the last thirteen years of their careers with this live recording and credit must be given to its overall sound quality of the record.

What may turn some listeners off Opus Diaboli is its sheer length; Thirteen tracks finished off with a nineteen and a half minute epic does allow for some listeners attention to wain a little. Unfortunately this may be too much for some, especially if your average listener lacks an attention span that is required for this particular brand of black metal. However for listeners on the other end of the scale this sits well as the listener is enveloped into the album’s winding passages of black metal, screamed with intent to show off Watain’s natural progression between albums and reinforce their better attributes. These Scandinavian metal mongers highlight the best moments of their last releases and present them live to Stockholm. Opus Diaboli shows listeners more than a live set. Released as a DVD set with many extras (signings, photos et cetera) they also pay tribute to a Bathory classic with ‘A Fine Day To Die’ and while there is a larger focus on the previous studio release Lawless Darkness, there is a fair amount of earlier releases represented as well.

Opus Diaboli offers something for older and newer fans alike. Watain offer a live set full of energy to a passive yet appreciative crowd highlighting some of their more popular tracks (‘In Devil’s Blood’, ‘Lawless Darkness’ and ‘Reaping Death’) and maintain a consistent sound in what’s seen as a lengthy live set. Fan favourites and less known tracks all come out to play here and reinforce Waitain on the black metal scene. Where most live recordings sound like someone recorded the music in a tin can (especially in metal), Opus Diaboli release a somewhat polished set, ensuring an enjoyable listen for those not there at the concert. Few bands will be able to appease fans with a live recording, but Watain have definitely tried to make the most of it. As far as live recordings go Watain’s Opus Diaboli should at least be given a go.



Recent reviews by this author
In Flames Siren CharmsMastodon Once More 'Round the Sun
Mayhem Esoteric WarfareArchitects Lost Forever // Lost Together
Kauan PirutMiserable Failure Hope
user ratings (5)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


7046 Comments


Been sitting on this review for a while now, figured now is as good as time as any.

Tyrael
November 15th 2012


20883 Comments


I thought we all agreed that Watain's awful

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


7046 Comments


Righto nubie, settle down.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


7046 Comments


Really Tyrae, I thought they were one of those 'in the middle bands'

Eclecticist
November 15th 2012


3863 Comments


"I thought they were one of those 'in the middle bands'"

Watain has primarily been third-tier, like Baptism from Finland, having some songs that are sick but most songs being just straight-up bm with nothing significant to contribute.

Eclecticist
November 15th 2012


3863 Comments


"why would u be a fool and post two reviews in one day and bump everyones off from the front page

now i love metal as much as the next guy

BUT WHAT WERE YOU THINKING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
"

It's not Robert's fault that he was on the ball, today of all days, in writing reviews.

"I like your avi Eclecticist"

Thanks.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


7046 Comments


having some songs that are sick but most songs being just straight-up bm with nothing significant to contribute.

See I always thought they were good for some steady listens. Nothing extra special but solid enough to get you through.




NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


7046 Comments


It's not Robert's fault that he was on the ball, today of all days, in writing reviews.

Lol, i have actually got some more too....


Eclecticist
November 15th 2012


3863 Comments


"See I always thought they were good for some steady listens. Nothing extra special but solid enough to get you through."

On my old account I think the highest I ever rated one of their albums was a 3.5/5. That rating still holds and idt any of their music will ever be better than that.

"Lol, i have actually got some more too...."

Save them. It does get kind of annoying when one user decides to saturate the user review listing. KILL is notorious for that.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


7046 Comments


Save them. It does get kind of annoying when one user decides to saturate the user review listings. KILL is notorious for that.

Nah, im good for at least 12 hours, ill more-or-less stick to editing those ones lol. I don't ussually put up multiple reviews on the same day anyway.



zaruyache
November 15th 2012


6592 Comments


Didn't even know these guys had a new one coming out. Huh.

Digging: Natural Snow Buildings - The Night Country

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


7046 Comments


Didn't even know these guys had a new one coming out. Huh.

It's a live, not exactly a full length.



ShadowRemains
November 15th 2012


20844 Comments


band sucks

zaruyache
November 15th 2012


6592 Comments


I know and now I'm sad because I actually read the review. Oh well.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


7046 Comments


band sucks

Haven't seen you floating around for ages Shadow

I know and now I'm sad because I actually read the review. Oh well.

I thought i mentioned the fact this is a live a couple times : /


TortoiseShell
November 15th 2012


266 Comments


band does not suck, it actually rules face



saw them live and they kicked ass.




fuck the haters

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


7046 Comments


Wow, that looks really fanboyish : ]

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2012


18519 Comments


literally the worst band ever

Digging: Objekt - Flatland

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


7046 Comments


bmth?

zaruyache
November 16th 2012


6592 Comments


Insane Clown Posse
Emmure
Blood on the Dance Floor
Brokencyde
anything "crunk"

???????????



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy