Crown the Empire
Limitless


3.5
great

Review

by ziyaadalawie USER (2 Reviews)
November 12th, 2012 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Recent Rise Rockers has plenty of twist and turns in this released to keep you entertained.

A few hours ago I received a retweet from Rise records from Crown The Empire saying that their will be an up coming album from these lads. I never heard of them before though. So what I did was did some research on them and downloaded their album Limitless. The reason for this was that I admire Rise record bands and I thought these guys would probably be like Of Mice & Men or Miss May I etc. but turns out this band is very unique and does not fall into the trap of being regarded as generic and basic metalcore at all.

This band makes use of post-hardcore/Electronica which can be a downfall at times but in this released they have balanced it out well allowing the final product to be more crispy then ever. They are also very fond of using plenty of sound effects.
Their screaming is very aggressive which is something like Asking Alexandria.

The album kicks off with the track The Glass Elevator (Walls) which is a good intro to show what’s in store for the listener. This starts off with a crowed shouting in the background, and then the synth kicks to lead to a great post-hardcore track that’s nothing special about, but a really good track.

Breaking Point, the second track could have been much better but doesn’t lack the energy and powerful vocals as well as the screaming. The track ends with a bouncy electronic beat. They switch things up when it comes to Johnny Ringo as the intro starts off slow and so are the verses, but the chorus is catchy and powerful that makes it one of the stand out tracks on the EP.

We Reach Voices. This is extremely catchy and was a great choice by releasing it as a single. It’s a monstrous track and will definitely be the track that defines these guys. As soon as you think you have reached the best of CTE you come across the title track Limitless which is also extremely catchy, which has a little sound effect that flows perfectly into the chorus after the first verse which is mid-tempo then moving into a fast pumping chorus. We reach the final track and after you have heard all the aggressive screaming, fast tracks and electronic beats, we come across a ballad, I was surprised. The thing about Crown The Empire is that they have a knack for writing catchy ballads too. This is a piano driven song which fits perfectly with the powerful vocals of which is also very emotional and sincere.

The lyrics of this EP, is not too bad and is also not great. It’s just that common sceamo rock type of lyrics that screamo fans love.

So, if you looking for something fresh and new if you haven’t been in to post-hardcore/Electronica then this band will do the trick. But if you dislike it, then this band will never grow on to you. I just feel I had to review this because there hasn’t been a review. I will be looking forward to what these boys have planned next with Fallout which will be released this month!


user ratings (110)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
lucasjcockcroft
November 12th 2012


3707 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Uh-Oh



GiaNXGX
November 12th 2012


4867 Comments


Listened last year because a friend of mine told me was good, it's generic as fuck, but I expected
that anyways :S


It’s just that common sceamo rock type of lyrics that screamo fans love.


lol, do you know what screamo even is and what the fuck are you going with "screamo rock," this is
modern post-hardcore (not screamo) in the first place, screamo lyrics (very emotional / personal
topics / love, violence):

And it comes for us all, creeping, drawn out, or so quick you feel nothing at all. This seems to be
the only way out, the only option against aiding and abetting. This is what it has come to, how far
we have fallen. All it seems that is left for us is to fall further, into our own desires, further
still from those we once might have called friend. As the actions taken by the masses implicate us
all. We all have blood staining our hands. Lying to yourself or killing your conscience may ease the
guilt. But that's not enough, they will never wash clean.


Post-hardcore lyrics:

Hey Mister, where have you been?
I'll never get to live this life again.
I gave it all but you were never there,
I gave it all but did you really ever care.

I hope where you are is a home for you,
Because I never found mine.
While I was always looking for you.

Hey Mister, where have you been?
I'll never get to live this life again.
Hey! Live it up.



So, if you looking for something fresh and new if you haven’t been in to post-hardcore/Electronica
then this band will do the trick.


This isn't new, if you mean their sound (circus synths are nothing special) and the release date is
2011


But if you dislike it, then this band will never grow on to you


If you dislike something at first listen doesn't guarantees it will never grow on you, I understand
what you were trying to go for but something like "If you don't find much enjoyment upon first
listen, or you usually don't enjoy post-hardcore bands, then this band might not be for you"
would've been better.



I just feel I had to review this because there hasn’t been a review.


Unnecessary and unprofessional.


I will be looking forward to what these boys have planned next with Fallout which will be released
this month!

You don't need to advertise their music and once again, unprofessional.

GiaNXGX
November 12th 2012


4867 Comments


A few hours ago I received a retweet from Rise records from Crown The Empire saying that their will be an up coming album from these lads.


Awful sentence.


So what I did was did


Awful [2]


The reason for this was that I admire Rise record bands and I thought these guys would probably be like Of Mice & Men or Miss May I etc.


Cool


but turns out this band is very unique and does not fall into the trap of being regarded as generic and basic metalcore at all.


Yeah they do but I don't need to explain why, capitalize "but" you are starting a new sentence.


This band makes use of post-hardcore/Electronica which can be a downfall at times


Doesn't makes sense, I guess "This post-hardcore band uses electronic elements which can be a downfall at times." Fix it.


but in this released


*But in this release


they have balanced it out well allowing the final product to be more crispy then ever.


Why the final product is "crispy" ? *Than


This is extremely catchy and was a great choice by releasing it as a single.


*This is extremely catchy and releasing it as a single was a great choice*


As soon as you think you have reached the best of CTE you come across the title track Limitless which is also extremely catchy, which has a little sound effect that flows perfectly into the chorus after the first verse which is mid-tempo then moving into a fast pumping chorus.


Abysmal sentence.



I'm just bored so this is my constructive feedback, take it as you will. Sorry man, this review is really bad, I'm gonna have to neg. Keep practicing :]













Hep Kat
November 12th 2012


15351 Comments


lol

nononsense
November 12th 2012


3394 Comments


I know these guys. Cool dudes, but their music sucks.

ziyaadalawie
November 12th 2012


3 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I totally understand bro! Thanks for the pointers, really need them. As you can see this is only my second review and I hope to improve, on the topic of screamo isint is stand for scream emo? Which is the same thing as post-harcore..which is the same as CTEs lyrics..listen to Lead me out of the dark..you'll. See what I'm talking about

GiaNXGX
November 12th 2012


4867 Comments


No, let me explain it to you. Screamo was the term commonly used to describe the sound of early hardcore punk bands with emo influences from the latter 80's/90's. The genre was characterized by chaotic songwriting, technical drumming / guitar-work, fast bass-lines, and of course, high-pitched "screamed" vocals. Good examples of the "screamo" sound could be Funeral Diner (also incorporating post-rock), Orchid, Undone, Pg 99, In/Humanity, (new bands) Loma Prieta, Suis la Lune. That's it, people mistakenly tag modern post-hardcore bands as screamo because they are un-educated in real hardcore. Bands like We Came As Romans & Asking Alexandria are straight up post-hardcore / metalcore. You're welcome :]

GiaNXGX
November 12th 2012


4867 Comments


And btw screamo lyrics deal with emotional issues, darkness, suicide, death, personal problems, & (if punk-influenced) left-wing politics. Post-hardcore is full of random teen-angst lyrics (I would say) for the most part.

J0ckstrapsFTW
November 19th 2012


3652 Comments


Some of this is pretty catchy

TheMoreira
November 23rd 2012


7177 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Holy shit Johnny Ringo has like the best chorus of its kind.

TheMoreira
November 23rd 2012


7177 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hmm nice. Im in for a treat with the LP then!

TheMoreira
November 24th 2012


7177 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Damn, i found this better than the actual LP lol.

lucasjcockcroft
November 24th 2012


3707 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

id say the album and this EP are hand in hand
these guys have potential, they'll release a great album soon

TheMoreira
November 24th 2012


7177 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They have potential, agreed. Didnt dig it much probly because im not too big on Post hardcore either. Not the one with tons of clean singing and pop punk vibes. But seriously, i found the LP to be significantly more ridden of effort.

lucasjcockcroft
November 24th 2012


3707 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

The Fallout and Johnny's Revenge are really fucking good, better than anything on this
the rest of the album is a little weak though

tresm87
November 29th 2012


908 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

johnny ringo breakdown is just obliterating

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

ConnorTheHero
February 27th 2013


30 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Their EP has more electronic influence when compared to The Fallout. Either way i am a fan of both

lucasjcockcroft
February 28th 2013


3707 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

this band has so much fucking potential

Dancedrewdance
December 3rd 2013


708 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Does anyone know where I can buy this ?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy