Taylor Swift
Red


2.5
average

Review

by Nick Morley USER (12 Reviews)
November 11th, 2012 | 34 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: My mythology is missing, guys!

My immediate reactions to Taylor Swift's newest album, "Red", were confusion: is this Taylor Swift? This sounds like indie rock, like Foster the People in slow motion, like Coldplay, like Snow Patrol (indeed, Snow Patrol's main singer makes a shocking entrance as the opening singer on "The Last Time", weaving his voice into Swift's masterfully).

All of which gets to the heart of my problem with the album: what distinguished Taylor Swift as a singer-songwriter is pretty absent on this album. First of all, the country tropes blended into her pop tunes are eschewed in favor of more stereotypical radio-rock-ready sounds. The acoustic guitars are long gone, giving way to heavy-handed production and thunderous guitar and piano powerchords. Also missing are the fantastical, whisk-you-away lyrical narratives that made teenage life a la Swift seem so appealing and so dramatic simultaneously. The songs are now firmly entrenched in realistic melodrama, not daring to break from "real relationship problems" or, at the very least, craft depth-creating metaphors around them.

In all, what Red is is a good-enough album for the Swift fans and newbies alike: it'll get rave reviews from those that love her for her, and it'll please newcomers that hear its singles when trying to distract themselves from work with Pandora. Swift's attempts to expand from her niche have hurt what made her so interesting as an artist, though, and because of that, those of us with a broader taste in listening material are left with little worth remembering once the record stops spinning.



Recent reviews by this author
Queens of the Stone Age ...Like ClockworkFuture of the Left How To Stop Your Brain In An Accident
The Evens The OddsMetz Metz
A Place to Bury Strangers WorshipTy Segall Band Slaughterhouse
user ratings (350)
Chart.
2.7
average
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Geist
November 11th 2012


371 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Short review is short because I don't particularly like it and know why.

Tyrael
November 11th 2012


20971 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yes

MTObsidian
November 11th 2012


118 Comments


Fair enough. I accept your short review premise and give you a pos!

Geist
November 11th 2012


371 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thank you, Tyraelxy.

Geist
November 11th 2012


371 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

And Obsidian. Thankee.

I dunno, I think the short review is a nice change of pace from the essays on the nature of culture itself that usually go on when Sputnik wants to debate an album.

MTObsidian
November 11th 2012


118 Comments


True. I enjoy writing long-winded reviews myself, but length doesn't really matter as long as you get your point across (which you did). It is nice to see a more concise review that isn't a troll/joke review and actually has substance!

Wolfhorde
November 11th 2012


13688 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Well, I'd rather have a long winded discussion of background information and stuff in the album than a long winded hyperbole of emotions of someone else I couldn't care less about. But, short and to the point is also good.

Digging: Vi Som Alskade Varandra Sa Mycket - Den sorgligaste musiken i varlden

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
November 11th 2012


16131 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

really nice for a shortie

Geist
November 11th 2012


371 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Next goal: six-word review that would make Hemingway blush.

Cygnatti
November 11th 2012


22333 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

good review my friend ;p

album rules

Digging: Jerry Lee Lewis - Live at the Star Club, Hamburg

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 11th 2012


50960 Comments


I'm still aiming for my first one paragraph review

Digging: Friendzone - Collection 1

tommygun
November 11th 2012


25413 Comments


great review pos

Gazanfer
November 11th 2012


1 Comments


Tyler Swift > Kanye West.

foxblood
November 11th 2012


6797 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

well written review, wish it was longer though

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
November 11th 2012


4458 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I heard "We are never getting back together" in 7-11 the other day, I thought it was dumb as I heard it but on the way home I could not get it out of my head. Now I'm constantly looking it up on youtube to listen to it.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 11th 2012


50960 Comments


It's like a disease dude, you gotta separate completely


SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
November 11th 2012


4458 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol, yeah you're right, Treb. It's like that "Call Me Maybe" song, these pop songs nowadays are just ridiculously infectious.

Graveyard
November 11th 2012


5817 Comments


aoty 4 sputnik

tweetyps
November 11th 2012


51 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

taylor swift is like randy newman. she sings about everything she fucking sees

Cygnatti
November 11th 2012


22333 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

"Tyler Swift > Kanye West."

no



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy