Climates
What Means The Most


3.5
great

Review

by Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (82 Reviews)
November 9th, 2012 | 57 replies | 3,867 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It's all about moderate climates, you gotta be cold and be hot for sure.

The UK hardcore scene has been killing it lately. With bands like More Than Life and Departures dropping albums way better than anything from the states, (ahem Defeater) any band from the UK wanting to stick out needs to bring their A-game, which is what Climates have done with their debut EP What Means The Most. Climates is the fresh faced new kid trying to join the already crowded party that is UK hardcore, and What Means The Most serves as a great appetizer for the party they are sure to become a major player in.

Climates sound like the other bands in their scene but with a little injection of lead guitar type stuff reminiscent of Counterparts, adding a lot to the melody department. Even for a genre called melodic hardcore, Climates are too melodic for their own good.. There's not a lot of dissonance or grit to be found on this record, which is going to be a big problem for a lot of hardcore fans who want their music to be, well, hardcore. Another problem that piles on with the too much melody gripe is the over use of clean interludes. It even goes so far that the track "Chance & Courage" ends with a clean interlude, that transitions into a track called "Interlude." That's a bit overkill if you ask me. Besides these minor gripes, this is a great beginning for a band that is sure to be excellent once they find their own voice and refine their sound.

Most of the big names in melodic hardcore's debut EPs weren't even as good as this one, so Climates don't have to change a whole lot to become a leader in the scene. What Means The Most is a bit derivative, but to be fair most bands are on their debut release, and if Climates manages to scale back on the melody and find a way to not rely on interludes as much they are surely going places.



Recent reviews by this author
Age Sixteen Open Up Finders, PleaseIssues Issues
Sport Bon VoyageModern Baseball You’re Gonna Miss It All
The Lawrence Arms MetropolePixies EP1
user ratings (35)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 8th 2012



48528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Tried to be myself more in this review
Summary is Modest Mouse lyrics, come at me

Digging: The Hotelier - Home, Like NoPlace Is There

patman1001
November 8th 2012



1012 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice review, ive been jamming this a lot lately.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 8th 2012



48528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Me too
I'm looking forward to a full length from these dudes

patman1001
November 8th 2012



1012 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I totally agree with the use of melodic guitar though. It makes it feel more awesome if it isnt used quite as much as it is in this.

YoYoMancuso
November 8th 2012



10116 Comments


Modest Mouse is the shit, gotta get back to listening to them

anyway good review. It's been a nice year for hardcore music.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 8th 2012



48528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks buddy
New Departures this month OMG

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2012



9469 Comments


Really cool review, man. It's much more fluid than many of your other ones.

I'd take out this line, too - "That's a bit overkill if you ask me." I want to say the sentence is a bit overkill, but then my joke would be a bit overkill, and we can't have that.

Digging: Koan Sound - Dynasty

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 9th 2012



48528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

That's the joke

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 9th 2012



18599 Comments


you should put streams in your reviews people are lazy :P

Digging: Somos - Temple of Plenty

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 9th 2012



48528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zw9Yq8krqSw


Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 9th 2012



18599 Comments


what means the most

"http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bDwFuxjYUdo

letting go

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eeldlk7BISc

sounds pretty good nice lil review

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 9th 2012



18599 Comments


dude trebor have you heard such gold?

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 9th 2012



48528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

no

demigod!
November 9th 2012



40970 Comments


my friend is really into such gold
theyre pretty good, i mean i dont like pop punk but they are decent

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 9th 2012



18599 Comments


check this song out if you want

more pop punky like demi said but climates reminded me of them....


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gyYD1G6t6eU&feature=relmfu

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 9th 2012



48528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Will check

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 9th 2012



18599 Comments


you might hate it lol

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 9th 2012



48528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

One word ending in an S yeah

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 9th 2012



18599 Comments


this song's better and there's a music video if you liked the first one

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AvBKUrJRun0

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 9th 2012



18599 Comments


um probably a lot of people andcas lol

damn i'm digging this ep it's like a better version of such gold



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy