Lil B
Choices and Flowers


1.0
awful

Review

by ZGP1992 USER (17 Reviews)
November 5th, 2012 | 23 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Amongst all the odd career moves The BasedGod has been behind in his time as as a solo artist, this ranks as his most standoffish and poorly executed.

Of all the things I found wrong with The BasedGod's debut digital table coaster, the most laughable of faults is that he expects you to pay for it. Now, being a fan of Lil B and an avid supporter of his ridiculous career as the class clown of hip-hop, I would usually have no problem paying the 10 dollars for his ITunes Exclusive projects, seeing as how a majority of his projects are actually free... So why not give him a break? But with this particular one, I just couldnt bring myself to throw away the dough.

You see, when I first heard of the ingenius concept of the Based overlord releasing a classical album, I had understandibly low expectations, but I thought that like his other shots in the dark it would be at least entertaining on a comical level. But I was wrong. First of all, this is by no means classical in any way shape or form. It is New Age. Second of all, it has 17 tracks. But every single one consists of an incredibly boring and repetitive chord progression on a synthesizer, and they are ALL identical. Third of all, this isnt even an original work, basically its Rain In England minus the vocals. And all of this would be more plausable if it wasnt for the fact that he wants you to pay 10 dollars for it.

But overall I think I see the purpose in this... I think its a social experiment to see just how far his fans will go to support him. By purchasing a ten dollar 17 track album of the repetition of 3 synth notes, you would have to be a truely hardcore supporter of the BasedGod, or have purchased ot without listening to any of the music. Either way, it is an undeniable fact that if you indeed enjoy the audio stool that is Choices And Flowers, you are either a totally brainwashed hipster art-fag or maybe you genuinly enjoy hearing 3 notes on one instrument for 70+ minutes.



Recent reviews by this author
Blizzi Boi American Badass 2Blizzi Boi Paper Flowers
Drive-by Truckers A Blessing and a CurseGreen On Red Here Come the Snakes
Shakey Graves Roll The BonesGG Allin No Rules
user ratings (23)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
November 4th 2012


9064 Comments


So this album is a 1... because you paid for it

ZGP1992
November 4th 2012


302 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

In the review i say i didnt pay for it. And I gave it a one for it's content.

ViralOblivion
November 4th 2012


7679 Comments


You talked about the actual album for like 4 sentences

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
November 4th 2012


9064 Comments


So this album is a 1... because the artist expects you to pay for it?

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
November 4th 2012


9064 Comments


Hey guys! ZGP1992 hath spoken! All music is a 1 except the free CD's with handwritten titles on them
that local bands hand out after shows!

Ire
November 4th 2012


41820 Comments


tehe

tommygun
November 4th 2012


25099 Comments


who is this guy and why does he have so many albums?

Digging: Banks - Goddess

ZGP1992
November 4th 2012


302 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Again, its a 1 because of its content. Also, I talked about the music less then anything because of the fact that the music consists of 3-4 notes played over and over again. Price is only an issue because he has released far better things for free, and shouldve charged for something like Illusions Of Granduer or Gods Father instead of this crap.

ViralOblivion
November 4th 2012


7679 Comments


Well Im sure you can get it for free still soooooo

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 4th 2012


15068 Comments


I actually think the last song on this is sorta cool. Reminds me of Oneohtrix Point Never

Jennifer22
November 4th 2012


287 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I didn't mind this album that much, I thought it was pretty good.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 4th 2012


50850 Comments


Damn my Lil B review is way better

Digging: Bobby Barnett - Little Wounds

ViralOblivion
November 4th 2012


7679 Comments


What's the best Lil b? I've only heard a few

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 4th 2012


50850 Comments


I've only heard Based Jam but it rules

ViralOblivion
November 4th 2012


7679 Comments


Gods son is good and I like based jam

Jennifer22
November 4th 2012


287 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The summary is the worst part of this review.

Ethics
November 4th 2012


4112 Comments


lol at seriously liking anything this guy does

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 4th 2012


50850 Comments


He has some seriously good songs

ViralOblivion
November 4th 2012


7679 Comments


"The summary is the worst part of this review"

But the "review" isn't a review he explains that every beat is the same and that's it. He just bitches how you have to pay for it when really you can download it off datpiff for free

Jennifer22
November 4th 2012


287 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ya, I think he wrote it just to vent about having to pay for an album he didn't like.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy