Trans-Siberian Orchestra
Dreams of Fireflies (On a Christmas Night)


2.5
average

Review

by pizzamachine USER (211 Reviews)
November 2nd, 2012 | 19 replies | 3,359 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Trans-Siberian Orchestra try mightily hard to conjure the ghost of their Christmas spirit, but with a magical void, it is impossible.

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

Trans-Siberian Orchestra’s musical style may seem simple at times, but it carries with it a sense of mystery and excitement that is difficult to repeat. Ironically, it captures the feeling of waking up on Christmas morning, and rushing to find shiny, wrapped presents under the tree. Indeed, the band can create some stirring pieces of Christmas music, and it was expected that Dreams of Fireflies (On a Christmas Night) would be just as grand as past albums. However, to put it bluntly, this EP is boring. The first two songs are decent offerings, with the band’s classical music inspiration showing through their cheesy but fun instrumental rock, but the music only goes downhill after that.

‘I Had a Memory’ sounds like an attempt to emulate the spirit of Christmas Eve and Other Stories, but it comes across very poorly. The verses aren't sung well, and the guitarist pounds out dumb, meaty riffs in the chorus as though he’s playing a different song. Then there’s ‘Someday’, a song that should be more enjoyable than it is. When I saw Trans-Siberian Orchestra live once, they had a different vocalist sing this song (Kayla Reeves). Despite her young age she screamed the song with such intensity she had the room in absolute stitches. In comparison to what I heard live, the recorded rendition of ‘Someday’ is as enticing as blood flavoured Jello. Luckily, the band had enough sense to end the EP on a strong note, with ‘Time You Should Be Sleeping’, a simple, beautiful song. However, the damage is already done.

Dreams of Fireflies (On a Christmas Night) should be better than it is. Most of the songs lack that Christmassy, magical feel that the band have always been so good at evoking. I am not tired of the band’s trademark Christmas rock/metal, but at this point their formula seems stale from being left to dry for so long. It has been eight years since their last Christmas themed album after all, and after such a long wait, this EP is only more of a let-down. Not to mention that their last album (Night Castle) was horrible. Can the band return to their former glory? Dreams of Fireflies (On a Christmas Night) certainly doesn't inspire confidence.



Recent reviews by this author
Jeremy Soule Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion SoundtrackRa Critical Mass
Gemini Syndrome LuxSirenia Perils of the Deep Blue
Rainbow (KR) Rainbow Syndrome Part. 2Part Myth Part Legend Almagest Codex
user ratings (4)
Chart.
2
poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
pizzamachine
November 1st 2012



12568 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

A review! Hey guys.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2012



9470 Comments


Hey Pizza!

Digging: Koan Sound - Dynasty

GiaNXGX
November 1st 2012



4867 Comments


Hey! I've never heard of these guys; some people have recommended me "Beethoven's Last Night" but I never checked it. Anyway, this looks bad even though I don't like to judge books by their cover. btw nice review, Pos'd

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2012



9470 Comments


"the recorded rendition of ‘Someday’ is as enticing as blood flavoured Jello."

This is as untrue as it'll ever be, since Halloween was yesterday, man...

pizzamachine
November 1st 2012



12568 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

@ GiaNXGX: Beethoven's Last Night is really good but it personally took me a long time to get into it.

@ OmahaStylee94: True story, I'll switch "blood" out.

CaptainDooRight
November 1st 2012



26409 Comments


Koo rev bro Pos'd

Digging: Deniro Farrar - The Patriarch II

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2012



9470 Comments


Hey man, I was kidding around. I thought it worked fine, to be honest!

pizzamachine
November 1st 2012



12568 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

ty bro mang

@ Ohama: LOL in that case, back to blood

CaptainDooRight
November 1st 2012



26409 Comments


yahee yaheeee

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2012



9470 Comments


Damn skippy! ;]

pizzamachine
November 1st 2012



12568 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

haha hush you

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2012



4337 Comments


I've heard a couple songs by these guys, they're okay, but I've never been a fan. Good review though.

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
November 2nd 2012



4166 Comments


band: "CHRISTMAS IS'A COMIN. WE NEED MORE MONEY'S"

Digging: Echo Lane Afterschool Inc. - bikes clouds cranes phones

MichaelSnoxall
November 2nd 2012



12163 Comments


band: "CHRISTMAS IS'A COMIN. WE NEED MORE MONEY'S"

They've written three other christmas albums. I think it's just what they do.

Tyrael
November 2nd 2012



20394 Comments


pizzy pos

Digging: Lantlos - Melting Sun

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2012



5612 Comments


The (metal) world needs Savatage back, not another TSO release.

Digging: Mekong Delta - In A Mirror Darkly

Jennifer22
November 4th 2012



253 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Cool review, this review describes this release perfectly.

ksoflas
November 8th 2012



268 Comments


If,i say if, big Johnie has some trully Sava material,he should make an album for his dedicated fans,turn the lights off and slowly leave the stage...
If not he can continue to have fun with pain and trans bullshit.

EyesHalfClosed
November 27th 2012



50 Comments


Good review.
Enjoyed some of the stuff Night Castle, so I'm still interested to check this out.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy