The Swellers
Running Out of Places to Go


4.0
excellent

Review

by whatshisname USER (13 Reviews)
October 31st, 2012 | 28 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Thank you for letting me into your home, I was running out of places to go.

The Swellers are a band I tend not to hear about too much. Which is interesting to me, seeing as I think they're much better than most Pop-Punk bands today. The Swellers have been around for 10 years now, and have 5 albums under their belt. End Of Discussion was self-released and didn't garner much attention. My Everest was the bands next full length record, under Search and Rescue Records. Following the success of My Everest, the band released Ups and Downsizing on Fueled By Ramen, and one of my favorite records. 2 years later the band released Good For Me, an album that I thought was a misstep. The pace was slower, the music more boring, and the lyrics not quite as deep as before. Now here they are. After leaving Fueled By Ramen, The Swellers recorded an EP by the name of Running Out of Places to Go.

The EP kicks off with 'Hands'. This song represents exactly what The Swellers are about. Moderate paced Pop-Punk with deep and meaningful lyrics, and vocals that are wonderfully ranged for the genre they're in. The song is a fantastic way to start off the EP, and clocking in at just under 3 minutes, is one of the shortest songs on the EP. 'Let Me In' is another fantastic song, highly reminiscent of the Ups and Downsizing album. Nick and Johnathon Diener create a 1-2 punch in the vocal department, mixing harmonies with range. The next song 'Bad For Me', is an obvious reference to the song 'Warming Up' off of Good For Me. Again, this song reminds me of something that would be on Ups and Downsizing quite a bit, but that's by no means a bad thing. The lyrics are about a girl but still remain as deep as the other vocal themes on the EP. The "Ooh's" are a great addition to the song as well.

'Making Waves' is the shortest song on the album, but the worst in my opinion. The verses are good enough, but the chorus seems somewhat rushed and boring. Almost generic in a way. Not to say the song is bad, but just the worst on the EP. However, the title track is probably the best on the album. In the way 'Dirt' from Ups and Downsizing reflected on death and what comes after, 'Running Out of Places to Go' is a retrospect on the past few years for the band. And the final minute of this song is some of the most honest, and awesome Pop-Punk I've heard in a while.

The Swellers are back, whether you liked Good For Me or not, this EP is worth a shot to all Pop-Punk fans.



Recent reviews by this author
Brand New Fight Off Your Demons (The Demos)These Hearts Yours To Take
Never Shout Never SunflowerChelsea Grin Evolve
Never Shout Never IndigoWoe, Is Me Genesi[s]
user ratings (26)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
ConsiderPhlebas (4)
Catchy, thoughtful and endearing melodic punk...


Comments:Add a Comment 
whatshisname
October 30th 2012


179 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Constructive criticism welcome.
Couldn't decide between a 4 and 4.5, but I think a 4 is more fair and less biased based on my personal opinion.

Cygnatti
October 30th 2012


21353 Comments


this band is rarely bad

but their albums are way inconsistent, they have a few really awesome songs, and then a ton I couldn't care less about

best I ever had is like their best song and one of the best pop punk songs ever

someguest
October 30th 2012


20881 Comments


these guys are from my town

haven't heard em

Digging: Dexter Gordon - Our Man in Paris

whatshisname
October 30th 2012


179 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's what Good For Me was. REALLY inconsistent.
Best I Ever Had is probably one of my least favorites from them

Woo, hooray for Flint!

Cygnatti
October 30th 2012


21353 Comments


"Best I Ever Had is probably one of my least favorites from them" x.x

best I ever had is like the only track I listen to from these guys anymore...

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2012


19933 Comments


great band. i'm no expert in writing but here's some feedback....

first of all, you need an actual closing paragraph. your last paragraph is about two different songs you enjoyed on the album which should still be on the body. Try to come up with something else you can add onto that last sentence.

also, this feels a little too much like a track by track. i realize it's an EP so you want to mention most the songs which is fine, but you should talk a little bit more about the instruments or the guitar work too.

that's my feedback you can take it or leave it and that being said still not a bad review, i'll pos.

Digging: Coldworld - Melancholie

Cygnatti
October 30th 2012


21353 Comments


atari for replacing xenophanes 2013!


(sorry xeno, but you ain't around no moe)

Kris.
October 30th 2012


12355 Comments


xeno is infinitely better and atari is annoying so no

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2012


19933 Comments


? xenophanes isn't around anymore?

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2012


19933 Comments


.........

Cygnatti
October 30th 2012


21353 Comments


atari don't...

whatever

whatever

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2012


19933 Comments


fair enough lol just never even talked to the guy so was curious how i annoyed him

Kris.
October 30th 2012


12355 Comments


having to ask how you're annoying


holy shit thats annoying

whatshisname
October 30th 2012


179 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha, you should definitely check this EP out then.

And thanks for the input Atari! I really, REALLY tried to not make it a track by track but with only 6 songs to chose from it was kind of hard, but thanks for the pos

someguest
October 30th 2012


20881 Comments


you need to wear more deodorant

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2012


19933 Comments


no worries like i said pretty good review i'll be checking this ep out

Cygnatti
October 30th 2012


21353 Comments


"having to ask how you're annoying holy shit thats annoying"

pretty much this

don't ask. never ask.




Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2012


19933 Comments


My bad damn

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2012


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not bad whatshisname. Atari's feedback was pretty spot on. EPs can be tricky to review though.

Can't believe you didn't like 'The Best I Ever Had'. That was one of the songs of the year imo.

Basically, this EP is another solid edition to The Swellers' discography. The opener & closer are the best... I really like 'Hands'. Sound-wise, there is a little bit of all parts of their career on these 5 tracks, but (along with their previous 2 track EP) I do get the feeling they want to take things up a notch for their next album. They've really nailed their sound now, without getting too comfortable or lazy.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2013


19933 Comments


still gotta check this EP



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy