Kings to You
The Antidote


4.0
excellent

Review

by Flut USER (17 Reviews)
October 26th, 2012 | 29 replies | 1,260 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An album that deserves some attention, but pretty much got none.

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Kings to You is a band that never got much attention. If at all any. Which to me is surprising, due to the fact the band has a very catchy sound. Also Dave Arthur the vocalist sang on As I Lay Dying's "Shadows Are Security". He did all the clean vocals. But due to fact that the band is not very known and only had a 2 year span 2005-2007 not much information can be found about the band.

This band finds a great mix of Alt Rock and Indie and Pop. The guitars have a lot of fast flowing melodies, and some dissonant chords. A few big thick clean guitar parts. The songs are written greatly. The song structures stay away from the boring chorus/verse/chorus, and actually do very creative and different things. Always trying to keep it very fun and interesting to listen to. A lot of different chord progressions and melodies. The dual guitar work also works perfectly, both work to help each other do what they need. "Closer" is the best example. Starting off with a fast melody hitting right in, jumping melodies and energetic drums and vocals.

The bass has some pretty surprisingly great presence. Right under mix just enough to give it some great low end, but not to much. The drums do pretty great. Full of energy and flowing well with the rest of the song. Pretty much doing exactly what it needs. Though the tone of the drums sound a bit wide and almost like flat. Not like a boring flat. Just kind of rough. The production for a debut is surprisingly good. The recording is pretty strong, and the mix is really great. Everything sounds great together. Nothing to loud or too quiet. Not to much low end but still enough. It works great for what it is.

Dave Arthur is definitely the highlight of this album. I thought he did great on "Shadows Are Security". But he really improved over the few years when he recorded this. Much more energy and passionate. Very natural and raw. He can almost remind me of Steve Perry, its kind of easy to hear the influence. But he for the most part tries to his own thing. Dave has a bit of that higher pitched indie singer sound. But he's a bit more strong and energetic.

Kings to You really wrote a strong album. Every part at least trying to be something and not filler. This album is filled to the brim with great music. Plenty of passion and emotion. Album should have gotten a lot of more attention than it has.



Recent reviews by this author
HammerFall Glory to the BraveMisery Signals Mirrors
Misery Signals Of Malice and the Magnum HeartMisery Signals Misery Signals
Aim For The Sunrise No Kings, No ChainsAim For The Sunrise The Bigger Picture; Hope
user ratings (6)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Fluttertrank
October 26th 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

A bit of a choppy review imo, but yeah this really needs attention bruh's.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
October 26th 2012



20631 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

on the first song, really good stuff so far. props for reviewing it pos'd

Digging: Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails

Fluttertrank
October 26th 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

thanks man.

Chortles
October 26th 2012



17904 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

damn i'm totally checking this out now. nice review homeslice

Digging: Yo La Tengo - Electr-O-Pura

Fluttertrank
October 26th 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Hell yeah, and thanks bro. Can be found here. http://www.indievisionmusic.com/2011/02/25/kings-to-you-the-antidote-2/

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
October 26th 2012



20631 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

RIP dennis reynolds

Fluttertrank
October 26th 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

haha what? oh his avatar.

Chortles
October 26th 2012



17904 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

haha i actually just found that googling it, but thanks anyway hehe

dling now

and sorry insurrection, change was inevitable

Chortles
October 26th 2012



17904 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

the arrow or the hero is fucking lovely damn

Fluttertrank
October 26th 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

ah yeah dude that song is pretty sweet.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
October 26th 2012



20631 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

heh yea thats my fav song after one listen

Chortles
October 26th 2012



17904 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

kinda wish it was longer QQ

my only complaint is a lot of songs sound pretty same-y. needless to say, they all sound really good though. i'll probably listen again before i render a real verdict though

Fluttertrank
October 26th 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

yeah they can be same-y.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 26th 2012



19437 Comments


I might check this out.

By the way review wasn't bad but there are some improper sentences so u may want to edit it.

Digging: Musk Ox - Woodfall

Fluttertrank
October 26th 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

ah, yes will do man.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 26th 2012



19437 Comments


Whoah fast response lol. An example would be like the last sentence of the review. It should say this album or the album rather then just starting with the word album.

Still good review I'll pos buddy just needs some touching up

ChuckyTruant
October 26th 2012



15706 Comments


Pos. I'll make some comments on how to clean it up when I get home today.

Digging: Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails

ChuckyTruant
October 26th 2012



15706 Comments


But yeah will check this band out.

Eko
October 26th 2012



2119 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

woah this is random lol

these guys are pretty cool. I come back to Strike Back more than any other track.

MrElmo
October 26th 2012



1950 Comments


thanks for the free link, will listen lad



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy