Eluveitie
Slania


4.0
excellent

Review

by Aaron Arneson CONTRIBUTOR (108 Reviews)
October 21st, 2012 | 75 replies | 2,951 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Welcome to your new favorite metal genre.

Metal music has so many sub-genres that it’s often hard to keep track of them all. There’s thrash for those who want a relentless head banging sound. There’s also progressive metal for those who like a band that’s not afraid to try something different. This list goes on and on, but for those who are looking for something new, there’s another metal genre that’s more than worth checking out. Folk metal.

Let me start by saying folk metal is not for everybody. It’s likely to please fans of melodic metal, but others may not find it to be aggressive enough. One thing is certain though, it’s unbelievably catchy, especially when done right and few bands can mix Celtic/folk influences with melodic death metal like Eluveitie can. Although the Switzerland band didn‘t release their debut album until just over 5 years ago, they’ve been very active lately, putting out an album every year from 2008 through 2010 and releasing an album earlier this year. So far they’ve been remarkably consistent and have yet to make a bad record. Of all their albums however, their second full length “Slania” could very well be their greatest achievement.

The most impressive thing about “Slania” is the band’s ability to flawlessly mix so many musical styles and instruments. All eight band members bring something to the table and the music sounds surprisingly focused considering how many instruments are at hand. The perfect example of this focus can be found in the infectious third track, ‘Inis Mona’. The song is the perfect blend of melody and aggression and it flows incredibly smoothly because none of the instruments are overused. It’s full of Uilleann pipes (also known as Irish bag pipes) and they sound superb alongside the guitars , giving the song a feeling of epic proportions.

Thankfully, they don’t follow the exact same formula in every song so the album never seems to grow stale. ‘Slania’s Song’ starts out much slower and features some enjoyable female vocals which helps give the song a different feel than the other tracks. It might be sung in Gaelic, but like most of the songs, it’s too beautiful to ignore. Many of the tracks are also sung in Gaulish which is basically an extinct language (quite interesting if you ask me). Apart from the more melodic songs, some are considerably heavier, such as ‘Bloodstained Ground’ which has some of the most violent riffs on the album. It’s a song that relies more on the heavy guitars and drums then anything proving the band can be an aggressive beast when they want to be.

Eluveitie may incorporate Celtic folk influences into their sound, but at their core they are still a metal band. If you were to remove instruments like the mandolin or the Irish flute they would sound quite similar to other melodeath bands like In Flames or Dark Tranquility, but thankfully they are something special and unique in their own right. They’ve made quite the lasting impression with “Slania”. It's sure to please fans of folk, but it has just enough of a bite to win over the average metalhead.



Recent reviews by this author
Trvth ApproachingAgalloch The Serpent and the Sphere
The Byrds Mr. Tambourine ManSomos Temple of Plenty
Fireworks Oh, Common LifeA Slow Descent On Ganymede
user ratings (341)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Logan Nagel (4)
Eluveitie is an excellent Celtic folk group, and a pretty good melodic death group. The question is,...

Corey (4.5)
Not exactly melo-death and heavier than folk but fans of both genres will enjoy it....

Frederick Metzengerstein (4)
Dark Tranquillity mating with some Celtic women....


Comments:Add a Comment 
menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 21st 2012



15800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice album, nice review, positive

Digging: Synaesthesia (UK) - Synaesthesia

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 21st 2012



19475 Comments


Thanks glad u like them man forgot to post a link but I will when I get back home

Digging: The Who - Tommy

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 21st 2012



15800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

got this and first one, what are later ones like ?

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 21st 2012



19475 Comments


I haven't heard the later ones as much I don't remember lol

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 21st 2012



15800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ah ok man, jus wondered if they changed much and if were worth checking out

CaptainDooRight
October 21st 2012



28355 Comments


solid rev bro easy to read and yea inis has that catchy vibe

Digging: Tukaaria - Raw to the Rapine

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 21st 2012



19475 Comments


Thanks captain

CaptainDooRight
October 21st 2012



28355 Comments


np

and oh yee I forgot to tell u if u likee this band you'll love

Myrkgrav - trollskau...

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 21st 2012



19475 Comments


Sweet i'll check them out right now : )

CaptainDooRight
October 21st 2012



28355 Comments


Koo they're not as folk oriented but still in the vein of feel as musicality

XingKing
October 21st 2012



10083 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@Menawati: The other albums are exactly the same. The band refuses to progress in any form, so in a sense, it makes their later works worse in comparison to their previous ones. Evocation is acoustic only but only has two or three songs even worth listening to.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 21st 2012



19475 Comments


A special thanks to you James Franco for rec'ing this band

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
October 21st 2012



4383 Comments


I've heard a few songs from the album, it is pretty good. You've been on fire lately, man. POS'd.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 21st 2012



19475 Comments


Ha thanks as always paperback

XingKing
October 21st 2012



10083 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album always brings back memories of being in love and having sex while listening to some of these tracks (not at my pizza job). Pos'd.

climactic
October 21st 2012



18352 Comments


shits epic

RunOfTheMill
October 21st 2012



1428 Comments


This is a great album!

RunOfTheMill
October 21st 2012



1428 Comments


Oh and great review, pos!

My friend lent me this, Spirit and Everything Remains as It Never Was on CD. Which should I opt for next?

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 21st 2012



19475 Comments


thanks I actually haven't heard the new albums enough for a fair rating but from what i've heard their first 2 albums are the best.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 21st 2012



19475 Comments


actually check out evocation 1 it's pretty cool but it's more folk than metal.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy