Vision of Disorder
The Cursed Remain Cursed


4.3
superb

Review

by Greg Fisher STAFF
October 12th, 2012 | 56 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Metalcore pioneers return with a comfortably vicious album that defies expectations.

It's no secret that the music industry can be a bitch at times. New York's Vision Of Disorder started their career in the mid-nineties releasing two records that would soon become pivotal to forming the new genre. Both their debut self-titled and its more polished successor Imprint combined intense, socially aware hardcore with booming trash metal arrangements. Later on, this style was dubbed metalcore and has been copied millions of times by numerous bands ever since. Yet, Vision Of Disorder have never seemed to get enough credit for inspiring so many musicians remaining a tragically undervalued band. Even their most accessible 2001's album From Bliss To Devastation failed to improve their outsider status.

Aptly titled, The Cursed Remain Cursed marks the quintet's comeback after eleven years of hiatus. Given a large amount of time that has passed since their last record, the expectations have been really high. To put it bluntly then, Vision Of Disorder are absolutely at the top of their game delivering their most consistent album to date. The key to the band's triumph lies in a palpable sense of anger that propels every single track on the disc. In case of this outfit, the permeating frustration stems from their failure to capitalize and even the titles of tracks are filled with disgust at not pulling the credit due them. The opener “Loveless” makes it it clear from the get-go that we're dealing with expertly-distilled, ferocious metallic hardcore that's hardly obsolete. The tight intro leads into muscular riffs complemented by Tim Williams' spiteful lyrics and fierce vocals which balance scathing screams with routinely powerful clean singing.

Further on, the band merges the harshness of their early discs with Southern metal-tinged riffing and supremely dark melodies of their third album into a fully developed sound. The emphasis is often put on crunchy bass lines that provide a backbone for such hard-hitting songs as “Set To Fail” and “Annihilator.” Elsewhere, threatening “Skullz Out (Rot In Pieces)” relies on a bludgeoning, sludgy riff which gives way to a full-throttle hardcore punk onslaught in the bridge. Both “Blood Red Sun” and “The Seventh Circle” find the quintet venturing into a more progressively inclined territory with their non-linear transitions and chaotic breakdowns. Particularly these tracks signal that Vision Of Disorder haven't lost their significance evolving into a force to be reckoned with in the contemporary music scene overpopulated with bands that lack credibility.

In the end The Cursed Remain Cursed makes a really strong statement. In “Blood Red Sun” Williams proclaims: “This pain was never satisfied… but in the end I will never surrender.” The album may drip with thoroughly oppressive, grim messages, yet it also serves as a testament to the band's ongoing commitment to endure and create genuine music their long-time fans will certainly identify with.



Recent reviews by this author
Wildbirds & Peacedrums RhythmDope Body Lifer
Sparky HumanimationLo-Pan Colossus
Kimbra The Golden EchoDog Fashion Disco Sweet Nothings
user ratings (39)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2012


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

One of the best metal/hardcore albums of the year

Set To Fail:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4tFbIHhxT-Q

Annihilator:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wVHhKNd9xv8

Skullz Out:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q002nl6bzO0

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 12th 2012


16131 Comments


Like this from what I've heard. Great review, pos'd.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2012


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Thanks man. It's not prog, but it rules nonetheless.

SteelErectedb4you8er
October 12th 2012


2618 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Great review. I never really listened to VoD, or was really a big fan of the band. One of my old bandmates was huge on
Imprint. However, I listened to this album just out of curiosity, and fuck, it rules. The energy is definitely there. I may
have to re-visit the back catalog again, but this one is definitely top notch.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2012


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Thanks. I for one think it's their best. Imprint and From Bliss To Devastation are killer too, but for totally different reasons. Imprint showcases the raw power of the band, while From Bliss... delivers awesome melodies and Southern metal riffs. This is basically a combination of these two LPs.

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
October 12th 2012


1922 Comments


Read about this band in MH recently, and was curious so I thought I'd listen. They sound fucking solid indeed. Good review too.

Digging: Execration (NOR) - Morbid Dimensions

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2012


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Thanks Robert. I guess nobody has expected it to be so good.

chambered49
October 12th 2012


1727 Comments


another greg 4.5 which is prob a 3 at best

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2012


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Nobody has given it a 3 on here yet. It's not my fault that the LPs I enjoy the most are given not enough attention on here (and the other way around).

Well. I lurked at your pie chart which shows that you're not my target reader (lol).

chambered49
October 12th 2012


1727 Comments


idk man its not the attention i just think you should branch about a bit more good review tho

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 12th 2012


16131 Comments


but thats the price you pay for liking good music

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2012


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

@chambered49:
What do you mean? It's true that I don't exactly review painfully bad albums. It's only because I don't want to waste time on them tbh.


menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 12th 2012


16131 Comments


idd, not worth doing unfavourable reviews of less well known stuff better to spend time promoting the good obscure stuff

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2012


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

It's exactly my way of thinking and I still have plenty of great albums from this year that really nobody is going to cover here. I guess my taste is not in line with most Sputnik users who regularly write reviews. Well. I could listen to the new Green Day album only to give it a scathing review, but... what for?

Itwasthatwas
October 12th 2012


772 Comments


I should check this out, always dug this guys vocals in particular

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2012


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Yes. The vocals on this are ace.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2012


8391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

About time this got a review. I was thinking of writing one myself, but lacked the time to do so and then I kinda forgot about that idea. The album is ace though, glad to see VOD back.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2012


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

You can still write your review Magnus js.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2012


8391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Naah, yours is real good and I've got other stuff to cover as well =)

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2012


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

I know. This new Nonpoint album. Am I right?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy