A Tale of Two Cities
New Horizons


3.5
great

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
October 11th, 2012 | 43 replies | 8,674 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An exciting & technically proficient work-in-progress.

Little-known band A Tale of Two Cities might be named after the nineteenth century Charles Dickens novel; the opening episode of the third series of television show ‘Lost’; or a reference to the quintet’s Bristol base in the South-west of England… But one thing that is for certain is that this is an emerging young group with an abundance of potential. Playing an intense brand of music which borders alternative-rock and post-hardcore, A Tale of Two Cities will remind listeners of Welsh neighbors Funeral For a Friend one moment, and trans-Atlantic outfits Saosin and Circa Survive the next. Having released promising debut EP ‘Have Heart’ towards the tail-end of 2011, the band wisely take less than a year to add to their repertoire with four track EP ‘New Horizons’.

Likely to be the first aspect one notices about A Tale of Two Cities, the dual guitar attack of Joe Marsh and Nicholas Coombes utilizes a melodic form of wailing guitar lines that is heavy on the delayed effects. While present on their previous EP, it was more so for the sole sake of melody… Here, however, the band’s honorable want to progress sees them retain those all-important hooky melodies, while also adding a satisfying helping of mood and atmosphere. Driving opener and lead single ‘Four Words’ exemplifies this near perfectly, deftly achieving a balance which should appeal to a wide range of the genre’s fans. Ably backed by Steve Elvin’s propulsive, hard-hitting drums, explosive duo ‘Familiar Traits’ and ‘Machine’ both build on what is presented by the opener, albeit in heavier and more moody fashion. ‘Machine’ actually infuses some industrial-like electronica into the equation, while the outro of ‘Familiar Traits’ is likely to be divisive, with a metalcore breakdown coming complete with harsh screams.

While nowhere near as distinctive as Anthony Green (not many vocalists are), lead singer Karl Ficarotta owns an impressive vocal range which serves the band well. On ‘Have Heart’, Ficarotta’s voice often felt like the rough cut of an unpolished diamond; occasionally dropping in an out of key to give off a strangely compelling raw effect. His improved vocals are more technically accomplished here, but thankfully without the use of over-production, so as to retain its absorbing nature. Interestingly, the production regularly asks a lot of Ficarotta, practically forcing him to strive for attention in the busy mix, and extracting a palpable sense of passion as a result.

A cursory listen to this 16 minute EP may lead some to conclude that these four tracks are too similar in style, yet it is the fact that A Tale of Two Cities add something to each of the tunes which makes ‘New Horizons’ so impressive. Using Saosin’s much-loved debut release ‘Translating the Name’ as a reference point would be unfair to the English quintet, but one cannot help but feel that it is a strong influence. Even still, delaying the release of an LP appears to have been an astute decision, with the outfit still a little short of mastering their intended dynamics. While more than adequate, ‘Fire Burning Through Our Wings’ proves that A Tale of Two Cities are still a work-in-progress; its minutely slower tempo and addition of keys not quite embellishing the dreamier aesthetics of the band’s sound. Ultimately, however, that’s what makes this technically proficient quintet such an exciting prospect: If they continue to progress as ambitiously as they have done here, then that eventual LP will undoubtedly be one to savor.

Recommended Tracks: Four Words & Machine.



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctAbandon All Ships Malocchio
user ratings (11)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2012



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Very close to a 4.

Stream or watch the video for lead single ‘Four Words’ at: http://www.myspace.com/ataleoftwocitiesuk

Their previous EP can also be streamed on the above website.

JackSparrow
October 11th 2012



1686 Comments


Translating the Name, Welcome Home Armageddon, and Secret and Whisper in the recommends, I'm in

sixdegrees
October 11th 2012



16847 Comments


this sounds pretty cool

I hated reading that book in school though, lol.

Digging: Ted Nugent - Shutup&jam!

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2012



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just don't go in expecting this to be as good as 'Translating the Name'... Please! Maybe expect Saosin's self-titled LP & adjust your expectations from there.

Well 6D, they may be named after that 'Lost' ep, because they have had a song called 'Juliet'.



Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2012



3347 Comments


Absolutely want to check this stuff out. Nice review Davey

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2012



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Brostep.

The EP isn't out until next week, but see my 1st comment for a link to the lead single & their previous EP.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2012



3347 Comments


Sweet, I'll give it a go and tell you what I think. Is the band who's streaming a 5-song EP on spotify the same one?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2012



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sorry, but I'm unsure as I wouldn't even know what Spotify looks like. Their previous EP was called 'Have Heart'.

BUT it could well be another band by the same/similar name as I believe there is one based out of Portland in the U.S.

Ecnalzen
October 11th 2012



6398 Comments


Welcome Home Armageddon AND The Artist in the Ambulance in the rec list? Hot damn, I need to listen to this!

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2012



3347 Comments


Oh haha it's worth a look unless you already have rhapsody or something, and plus it's free. That's it though, so when I can I'll listen to both EPs

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2012



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

My recos... They always build up expectations... & sometimes lead to disappointment.

Is Spotify the one where you need to be on facebook? If so, then it's NOT free... LOL!

Ending
October 11th 2012



1889 Comments


Is that how you always have so many recs? Just by treating them as your own recs? Maybe that's the secret. I'm always worried that, "hmm, somebody else might not think this is similar" but maybe that's a bad way to go about.

DaveyBoy review, always good.

paxman
October 12th 2012



4084 Comments


A Tale of Two Cities is probably Dickens's best, but The Mystery of Edwin Drood is undoubtedly his most fascinating (as it was unfinished, leaving the denouement largely to mystery), and A Christmas Carol definitely receives the most revisits.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2012



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha. No, no, those recs are all there for a reason.

I think you're lost paxman. SputnikBooks is over that way... & they stopped me at the door.



Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2012



3347 Comments


You can sign up for spotify using Facebook but you don't have to, I didn't connect it to my Facebook for a full 6 months or so and I'm not really sure why I connected in the first place

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2012



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ooh, I'm more interested now. As you can tell, I'm anti-fb.

*Everybody likes this post.

Tyrael
October 12th 2012



20740 Comments


'An exciting & technically proficient work-in-progress.'

so um

since when do you listen to bands that are technically proficient

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2012



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh hardy har har. I've been listening to technically proficient bands since... ummm... well there was that one time... Oh no, I didn't finish that one... Ummm... I seem to recall listening to Cynic once... No, that was someone calling me a cynic... I know, I listened to a Mono album a couple of years back... Yeah, that was it. (Davey blows Thomas a raspberry)

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2012



3347 Comments


Well "Four Words" is pretty good, and it reminds me of when I was listening to Saosin that one time a while ago. I'm liking it so far!

loveisamixtape
October 12th 2012



5914 Comments


Likely to be the first aspect one notices about A Tale of Two Cities, the dual guitar attack of Joe Marsh and Nicholas Coombes utilizes a melodic form of wailing guitar lines that is heavy on the delayed effects


Am I wrong or is "that is heavy" supposed to be "that are heavy" in that sentence? Something about it just reads weird to me. Maybe I'm illiterate. Either way man, great review! I will definitely check this out

Digging: Keep - Hypnosis for Sleep



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy