All Time Low
Don't Panic


3.0
good

Review

by tmagistrelli USER (18 Reviews)
October 10th, 2012 | 20 replies | 1,780 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: While we got our genuine All Time Low back one can't help to think, that we had the result of a rushed redemption.

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

All Time Low is back.

I remember saying in my Facebook review of Dirty Work last year that if any band was more likely to return to form, it would be All Time Low. What we have here are 12 combinations of anything All Time Low ever created. Some are superb, most are good, and some are not so good.

The first of the superb songs is the lead single, and lead track "The Reckless and the Brave". The track features a very wide open beat, with Jack Barakat's finest guitar solo to date. This song will fill football highlight reels for years to come. In the same regards we have "So Long Soldier". I hear this song and my mind is blasted back to the days of The Party Scene, and So Wrong It's Right, with a fast, genuine pop punk song structure. The song also features a collaboration with Anthony Ranieri (The lead singer of the pop punk band Bayside) and it's a perfect fit. However the bands most shining moment of this CD is their hometown anthem "For Baltimore." It's a pop rock powerhouse of a song, and it's as catchy as it is genuine All Time Low.

With these batch of great songs, you get some songs that are filler tracks and that the album would be better off without. One of these is "Thanks to You" the song is nothing short of a cliche filled mess. The rhythm accompanying isn't all the great either with a generic 8 chord approach to the song. "The Irony of Choking on a Life Saver" is just... well I'll put it this way if Dirty Work would have never happened it would have been more easier to embrace this track. The approach is very similar to that of "Forget About It" off of the last album. Which was equally as annoying as it was total ***. What I do miss however is the rambunctious nature ATL used to give us. I listen to songs like "Back Seat Serenade" and while it's good, I'm like.. where did the fun go? In taking this all work no play approach they're starting to take the political route that becomes the demise of similar bands, like Green Day and Fall Out Boy. Hopefully this is only a phase.

However, us All Time Low diehards got what we wanted through this CD. A great batch of pop punk/rock songs that'll throw any song from Dirty Work to the back of setlists.



Recent reviews by this author
Breathe Carolina SavagesMy Chemical Romance May Death Never Stop You
Paramore ParamoreThe Red Jumpsuit Apparatus Et Tu, Brute?
My Chemical Romance Danger DaysCash Cash The Beat Goes On - EP
user ratings (220)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hedgehog32396
October 9th 2012



503 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Backseat serenade isn't political in the slightest man
thanks to you has the best bridge on the album, but they are the weakest tracks

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 9th 2012



19475 Comments


How is backseat serenade not catchy?

No too bad for a first review but here's some suggestions:

*Re word the first sentence in the 3rd paragraph.
*don't put both song names and album titles in "quotes".
*proofread a little.

Pos'd though, good first effort.

Digging: The Who - Tommy

Cygnatti
October 9th 2012



21349 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

back seat serenade sucks but it is waaaaaaaaaaaaaay better than reckless and brave

it's also not political whatsoever. i'm 100% sure it's about a girl

Digging: The Avalanches - Since I Left You

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 9th 2012



19475 Comments


damn chipmunk it's like you come out of nowhere anytime all time low or blink 182 are mentioned

Cygnatti
October 9th 2012



21349 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

it's trve

baddest chipmunk rawr

Cygnatti
October 9th 2012



21349 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

did you just now notice?

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 9th 2012



19475 Comments


lol he's been banned for like 3 days.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 9th 2012



19475 Comments


for talking too much smack about blink

Cygnatti
October 9th 2012



21349 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I doubt that's the case but yeah, blink bashin 4 lyfe

Cygnatti
October 9th 2012



21349 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

feeling this album or what?

pbass0
October 9th 2012



518 Comments


geeze, you seem like a better reviewer than me, tyler! hahaha i can never seem to get it right

Calc
October 9th 2012



12028 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

come on chipmunk at times like these...its obvious..

Digging: Kashiwa Daisuke - April. #02

tmagistrelli
October 10th 2012



714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

thank you guys for your feedback

@cygnatti I wasn't trying to call backseat serenade political rather the whole album a step in the political direction.

@Atari85 I had a feeling that would get confusing with the quotes. Thanks for the feedback man!

DrGonzo1937
October 10th 2012



5237 Comments


"chipmunks got a regret right now, he's feeling this.

Man I lol'd at this.

Cygnatti
October 10th 2012



21349 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

actually, I still don't follow

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 10th 2012



19475 Comments


@tmagistrelli, No problem man was good for a first review.

@chipmpunk, lol I agree with andcas and calc. I think you secretly love this album.

Calc
October 10th 2012



12028 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Andcas and I threw blink lyrics at you.

Cygnatti
October 10th 2012



21349 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

no, I not so secretly love(d) this band so you're not too far off.



@clac, I guess I wouldn't know. Ask Atari, I even got the lyrics to I miss her wrong.

Hedgehog32396
October 10th 2012



503 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

what
why is this political
it's about growing up and girls
what

pbass0
October 11th 2012



518 Comments


not acknowledging you best friend, tyler? shame on you!! hahaha



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy